Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2008

      This recipe has been part of my family since I can remember. WAY back when we all called it "Dreisbach's Potatoes" because a steakhouse by that name near our homes served them. It is an excellent side dish for holiday meals as well as routine family get-togethers. My husband LOVES them. One difference; his mother made them with SHREDDED hash browns, while my family has always done the cubed. So if it's my family we have cubed, and if it's his coming for dinner I do the shredded. These make up quickly and in advance so you just have to pop them into the oven. This recipe is the EXACT same one I have had written on the back of an envelope for nearly 15 years. One note: yes, they do tend to be oily and I do use butter instead of margarine. The oil comes from the natural cheddar cheese; I think if they were made with Velveeta or another processed cheese food they wouldn't be as oily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This went over pretty well at my house. I will be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I used the 24oz. bag of frozen hash browns with the onions and bell peppers added. Still used the 1/4 cup diced onions and used about 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper on top with more cheddar cheese. Also used about 2 tsp. of garlic powder. Easy!Try using pepper jack cheese. It gives it a lot more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Pretty good, all thought I thought it could have used more soup or liquid of some sort. I used twice the amount of cheese, with 1/2 of it on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was an average potato dish for me. I used fresh red potatoes from a road side farm stand here & it was hard to judge what 2 lbs. would be. I think I may have had too many potatoes because the cheesey sauce didn't seem to be enough, even though I used almost 2 lbs. of cheese. I cubed them & it also took much longer to cook them then an hour. I think I will give this recipe another shot with a bag of frozen hash browns as recommended & update my review then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I love this recipe. I have made it many times before and lost the recipe. I am so glad to find it here as I am making it for our family reunion tomorrow. Thank you dancing cook for posting it! This is such and easy yummy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I had a hard time looking this recipe up. I have made these before but didn't know what they were called. We always call them funeral potatoes because they are so often served at luncheons after a funeral. These are the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I made this tonight using fresh potatoes, and I added some fresh chives and thyme from the garden. I added extra cheese on top for the last 10 minutes to make a nice yummy cheesy layer. This was really great, and I will make it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Everyone loved this recipe. I did cut the butter to 1/4 cup, added just a tad more cheese and let it cook about 15 mins. longer than recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Delish! I used half a bag of Alexia Oven Fries (Olive Oil, Parmesan, Rosemary and Garlic edition), 2 small-medium red potatoes, half a bunch of leeks (instead of onions) and no butter at all. I used sea salt, pepper, Hungarian paprika (extra spicy), garlic powder as well. And I mixed shredded monterey jack and chedder cheese (about 1 cup) with the sour cream and cream of chicken soup. Wonderful. Will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      don't know what it was but not a hit at easter ...not sure if should have cooked longer to get potatoes crispy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      We have made this for all family dinners for years but we top ours with buttered cornflake crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      We Love this recipe. It's a keeper. I make it for all Holiday dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      This is a recipe that I've had around for a very long time with just a few modifications. The adjustments that you can make to this recipe is all but endless. I've made this with ham or sausage and mixed cheeses. Don't usually use onions, but that's just my tastes. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Very good. I made this with the Smoky Mountain chicken - oh so good. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I've been making this for years~ it's part of our annual Christmas brunch (and only then, good grief this is sinful!). Having tinkered with it over the years (couldn't stand the pooled oil, yuck) I completely eliminate the butter and spray the casserole dish well with cooking spray. You could just butter the bottom and sides also. I use a pound of cheese, usually colby and cheddar and 3/4 soup can of milk stirred into the sour cream-to replace the moisture from the butter. I bake mine covered for 45 min. uncovered for 30 min. Everyone fights over the crispies (you know, the part that touches the pan ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      This was a HUGE hit with my family and, honestly, easier than baked potatos. I left out the onions just to please my youngest son who can find an onion in anything. My older son sprinkled bacon pieces on his and loved that. This is a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Oh yummmmmmm!!! I used cream of mushroom soup, italian seasoning with garlic, a little less margaraine than called for, and we loved it! I ate mine with sour cream, hubby ate it just how it was, and we both agreed that for an easy throw together dish (provided you're not worried about fat content), it's worth 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      I liked this, but it required a good sprinkle of salt and pepper on the finished product. It made quite a bit and is an excellent substitute for mashed potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 497.0
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    67%
    Total Fat 37.0 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 63.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 512.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes