98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy and yummy. I used 2 pounds of fresh diced potatoes and increased the cooking time by about 10 minutes and it was perfect! I substituted cream of celery soup for the cream of mushroom and it was delicious. I also doubled the onions and I used margarine instead of butter. My only comment is the casserole was quite oily - maybe that was because I used margarine. I think you could sugnificantly cut back on the margarine (maybe even eliminate it altogether) because the soup and sour cream mixture provides plenty of moisture. I also topped the casserole with another small handful of cheese when there was about 10 minutes of cooking time left. Bottom line - a big time hit at my house! Rich, creamy and cheesy!

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish February 12, 2002

Yummy potatoes, in a great cheesy sauce! I used fresh diced potatoes. Added a t garlic powder. I cut the butter to 1/4 cup and raised the onions to 1/2 cup. This is a very good side for most any dinner! The cream of chicken soup gives this a very good flavor. Thanks, Tara for a keeper!!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz May 28, 2002

I thought this was a good recipe. We left out the onion because we don't like onions. We always substitute with onion powder or dried minced onions... It needed some salting at the table, but it was a crowd pleaser!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Marshall March 24, 2002

Had some for breakfast this morning, cold - right out of the frig. I had to leave out the onions because my son is here visiting this week. I used half the butter and substituted cheddar cheese soup. I couldn't resist using the rest of a 2 cup bag of cheese to sprinkle on top. A delightful any easy way to dress up ye olde potatoes!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac April 12, 2002

I lost my original recipe for this great casserole, and this is the closest to it. I do have a couple of changes to add that you might like. First, I double everything to make a bigger batch (trust me, it'll get eaten!). Second, I don't put butter IN the casserole. I melt a stick of butter and mix it with a sleeve of Ritz crackers crushed, and that goes on the top of the casserole for a delicious crunchy topping that you can't WAIT to get to! Third, I use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. Fourth, I don't thaw the potatoes. Just mix it all together and toss it in the oven. It WILL bake about 2 hours, give or take 10-15 minutes, depending on your oven. This is a WONDERFUL dish that will make your house smell INCREDIBLE as it bakes. You'll be so anxious to eat this casserole, you won't believe it!! Enjoy!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie Davis January 19, 2010

I couldn't get over how tasty this easy recipe was! I omitted the onions, and my bag of hash browns is 750g -- other than that, I followed this recipe exactly. After an hour in the oven, it was perfect: tender, tasty, and cheesy. I thought it might stick to the pan, but it didn't. It may technically serve 8, but my two guys polished off half of it! This recipe is a definite keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie August 05, 2002

This was a very rich,cheesy,creamy side dish. It was absolutely delicious and very easy to make. I will make this one again and again. Thanks Tara!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq November 02, 2002

This is one of my favorites.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Salthouse December 21, 2001

VERY good! I read through all the reviews and made the following changes: 1.) No butter, except to coat the pan, 2.) Used cheese soup and potatoes o'brien instead, 3.) Added 1/2 t seasoned salt and 1/4 t garlic powder, 4.) DOUBLED the shredded cheese, 5.) And added 1/4 t black pepper (all for a single recipe). I also doubled it, but I cooked it much longer than required. I think it was in the oven for 3.5 hours. I covered it for half that time, uncovered and stirred, then topped with more cheese and continued baking. The double batch was completely eaten at a holiday party. This is SO stinking good! I'm baking it right now again for a potluck!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbk921_11405690 December 17, 2011

I have made this several times now and love it! I use tator tots, partially defrosted and cut in half. Other than that, I follow the recipe. Delicious side to any meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Brady. October 03, 2010
Cheesy Potato Casserole