Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Penne Pasta and Smoked Sausage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Penne Pasta and Smoked Sausage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2010

      This was just a HIT at my house. One of those rare recipes that was loved by all! I made 1 1/2 times the recipe, used lower sodium soup (one cream of mushroom, one cream of chicken) because the sausage and cheese are already salty. I sauteed a large sweet onion prior to throwing the sausage in the skillet, and the touch of sweetness was a really nice contrast. It's like a great mac and cheese, with that yummy sausage, and crispy onion topping, but the sauce doesn't break down when re-heated! This one is really a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This was very good. I did add more cheese as we like our macaroni and cheese, cheesier. I used dreamfields rotini pasta. My son said he would eat this everyday! Great comfort food and it came together fast, for a good quick evening meal. Served with a side salad. I was thinking of adding in some spinach, but thought I would try the real recipe first and add things later. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This recipe is great with the peas added, like the original recipe! The original recipe calls for 1 pound smoked sausage or polska kielbasa. I didn't find it salty at all, like some reviewers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I tweak this recipe by using condensed milk or half and half instead or regular milk and cream of mushroom soup. This is a very easy and budget friendly dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Followed this recipe to the T and then added a couple of my favorite ingredients, fresh ground black pepper, lemon pepper, and a sprinkle of celery seed. We thought this was very good and DH had seconds. I did brown the smoked sausage and it held up well after being baked. Also cooked the penne until just about tender so it wouldnt become mushy after being baked for 30 minutes. I will make this again! Made for the Cooking Photos Forums One Dish Wonders - Casseroles

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This was a hit in our house - 5 for 5! Even my picky eater, 8yob, ate it up - a 2nd bowl nonetheless! THINGS I CHANGED: I used rotini pasta, instead of the penne. I also used regular French Fried Onions, as I didn't have any cheddar on hand. Both changes didn't seem to make a difference. The only CON I can think of is the saltiness factor. With the sausage, plus the french fried onions, plus the condensed soup....well, it was a bit salty (and I love me some salt). Not sure how to combat this, just so you are aware. Maybe a sodium-reduced soup?? All in all ~ excellent! Thank you~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Very good casserole!! Had everything we love. I used mini penne noodles and put a little extra french fried onions on top. Will make this again, but will try with cream of chicken soup and put a lot more onions on top. Made for Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      This was good, easy, cheap, and used things already in the pantry. I added about 1/2 cup sour cream to the milk/soup mixture. Next time I may add peas like others suggested. This makes a lot, and we enjoy the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Very Good! My kids and MIL loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Penne Pasta and Smoked Sausage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.0
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    56%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 990.6 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes