Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Orzo

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2011

      We liked this a lot. I halved the recipe but used the whole amount of cheese, added about a tablespoon of light cream cheese and a splash of fresh lemon juice. I used vegetable broth, making it a vegetarian dish (for a guest.) The cream cheese made it creamy, the lemon juice made it bright! I had the leftover for lunch today with a little butter. YUM! ZWT 7 - Shady Ladies

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I didn't have problem with the liquid. But we found that it needed more cheese flavor. So next time I'll add more parmesan. Thanks Muffin goddess :) Made for Count Dracula and His Hot Bites for ZWT7

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Very easy and tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Made for Fall PAC 2012 and I am so glad I did. What an easy and delicious side. I cut the recipe in half and used homemade chicken broth but followed the rest of the recipe. Served with Pan Fried Tilapia With White Wine and Capers#332328 and fresh sauteed spinach for a wonderful meal. Thank you for posting and I know this will be a regular in our home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      made i portion of this again just now, using vegetarian broth and Gruyeres cheese. added a splash of lemon and half a tsp of dill. i always have problems with it sticking to the bottom but otherwise this is fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      My son loved this recipe. It was "fun" for him to eat, he said. We all did. This is a bit different then the pasta or rice dish. I will make again. THank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I used less orzo and cooked for about 5 minutes less and my orzo turned out just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This was a east side dish to prepare! I did add extra broth about half way through the cooking since it was all absorbed but the orzo was not cooked completely. I doubled the amount of cheese. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I quartered the recipe and didn't have a problem. I did add just a little cream cheese to the Parm. Nice! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      After reading reviews, I adjusted mine a bit. Used FF chicken broth, extra parm cheese, garlic and onion powder. Did have to add some extra liquid and shortened cooking time by a few minutes for al dente. OTHERWISE...it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was ok. I made half the recipe and had no issues with too little liquid as I've seen some state - in fact I had to let some boil off because it was too "wet" after the orzo was cooked. I did add more cheese because I too thought it needed more flavor than just the stated amount provided. My 3 year old wouldn't touch this but my 1 year old gobbled it up like candy. I'll keep this around for a simple orzo recipe but I'm not sure I'll make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Really liked this recipe! It was easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This turned out well, my only problem was lack of cheese. I ended up doing 1 and 1/2 cup of cheese instead of just 1/2 cup, otherwise it tasted too much like chicken rice a roni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Perfect side dish...simple, cheesy, a little different b/c of the orzo. Great alongside our mustard salmon and a beet salad. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This is very good! I used some very flavorful homemade chicken broth so I didn't have any issue with it being too bland. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Rach has great recipes. This one is no exception. Very easy to make. I used cheddar and some parmesan because that's what I had. I will make this again for sure because I love orzo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      I also found this to be very bland. The consistency was fine, but I had to quadruple the cheese and it still didn't have enough flavor. I can't say it was bad at all, just not really great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I really wanted to like this recipe but there were a couple of problems I had with it. One was that it came out pretty bland, and two the liquid was way too little for the amount or orzo so I had to keep adding more and more water. I will mak a dish similar to this again, but will add some more flavor and possible cheddar cheese. It does make a lot, definitely more than four servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I love this recipe! I usually cut the recipe in half and it makes plenty. I also like to add a thawed 10 oz. box of spinach when I add the orzo and let it all cook together. If I had a little lemon I'd probably add some juice or zest but I'm all out. This dish goes with everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I make this often, its so quick and easy. My husband really doesn't like mac n cheese much, so I sub this in its place, he hasn't complained yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    20%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 659.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parmigiano

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes