Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Kohlrabi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Kohlrabi

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2014

      An Adventurous Alaskan gardener. Always have used this veggie raw. Needed a new use. Great recipe. I did not have the cheese listed and used Mexican American. Tasty. <br/>Find that the tops are just as edible and will try those next. <br/>P.S. My dog is a lover also. Transform your table and add a new veggie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      This was the first time I have cooked kohlrabi and with the cheese sauce with them, this was really good. I did not put any allspice on it either. I will do this again. PS the kohlrabi's do not taste like they smell while cooking. Not a pleasant odor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I love kohlrabi's raw, cooked and now with this cheese sauce. This was really good! I didn't care for the allspice on it, I was glad I only put it on a small portion. Next time instead of slicing the kohlrabi's I'll dice them so I can eat them with a spoon so that I get a lot of that yummy cheese sauce with it. So glad I tried this recipe. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Yummy cheese sauce. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Wow... like some others, first time eating kohlrabi. I was getting sick of our rotation of side dishes and thought we'd try this. Really nice! I used two softball sized kohlrabi and pealed off the tough outside. For the cheese sauce I used aged gouda and added worcestershire. My DH even had seconds. Thank you DiB's. Made for Slide into Sides Photo Contest

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Yum!!! Boiling took a lot of the bitterness out of the kohlrabi. I added some black pepper and cayenne pepper for some extra flavor. Otherwise this was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      Grew kohlrabi in garden this year,having never eaten it I had no idea what to do with it. Thank goodness for zaar. Found lots of recipes for this veggie. Decided to try this one first. Got kinda nervous when it was cooking. DD said, what stinks? After I made the cheese sauce I put it in the whole thing in oven and baked for about 15 minutes. Kids thought it was a potato dish. They all loved it. Dh said it was good too. Used cheddar cheese(about 1/2 cup) and left out the allspice. added lots of ground black pepper. Great way to try a new veggie.Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Easy to do and tasty! We made it with a reduced fat cheddar blend and it was very creamy/cheesy. Next time I might cut the condensed chicken broth with a little water to keep the dish from getting too salty (just on the verge of it this time). Thanks, DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      My son now beggs for chessy kohlrabi. We have used the cheese sayse on several other things and love it. The broth gives the sauce a much richer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This was the first time I have ever eaten cooked kohlrabi. We have always eaten it raw. It was delicious & my son didn't want to eat anything else for supper except this. A very mild brocolli flavor. I will make this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      I know that I don't care for the flavor of allspice so I skipped that step. I did add some white pepper to the white sauce and a dash of mustard powder. The cheese sauce worked very well with the kohlrabi and even picky eaters were able to eat it. This recipe will definitely be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Kohlrabi

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    42%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 553.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kohlrabi

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes