17 Reviews

Made this dish a number of times and always a hit! Made it last night with ground veal (had a pound in the freezer that needed to be used) and added 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. chopped basil leaves, 1/2 tsp. minced rosemary, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and 1/2 cup of fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms. What a difference and everyone raved about the taste. After browning and draining the veal, added the onions and baby bellas, covered, and simmered while I peeled and sliced the potatoes. Before assembling, I added the soup/milk directly to the meat mixture, then layered according to the directions, which simplified the process. The original recipe is great, but this modified version is excellent - give it a try!<br/><br/>P.S. Kaarin is correct, slice the potatoes as thin as possible so they cook through. I use a mandalin slicer set for the thickness of a thin potato chip - works perfectly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northwoodsluvr October 31, 2013

This was really good! I used the recipe as is but added a few things. I cut a stalk of celery ,half a sml. onion and cooked that with my hamburger. I also chopped some carrot only because there were 2 sml. sticks left from a veggie tray.I also added some chopped garlic. To the soup I put in a spoon of sourcream. And I cranked the heat to 375 and it was done in an hr. My boyfriend LOVED it. It's a keeper Just made this for the 2nd time...stayed to the recipe with one exception..used cream of celery...and it was every bit as good as the first time. I love this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Flossypants December 29, 2009

We really enjoyed this recipe. I added a can of mushrooms to the sauce mix. I also baked it at 400 vs 350 to eliminate the chance of having crunchy potatoes. We will definitley be making this again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louginger March 12, 2008

I make this recipe all the time..The only thing I do different is I add beef base to the soup and I add garlic to the burger.My family Loves it.Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lene2 May 01, 2007

I made this using cream of celery soup, instead of the cream of mushroom because I wanted my DM to try this too, she dislikes anything mushroom. I used 3 medium potatoes, slicing them with a mandolin. Like some other reviewers, my cook time was 2 hours to get the potatoes done. Very filling comfort food. Next time I make this will use the cream of mushroom soup and cook in the crockpot. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker March 25, 2014

I have made this quick and easy dish twice for my family. They absolutely love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scb81271 March 19, 2014

This was okay. I added a little sour cream with the cream of mushroom soup. I don't think I will be making it again. It was easy to throw together though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel November 17, 2012

Very nice, toasty warm comfort meal. Added garlic powder and some Penzys Northwoods seasoning to the beef while browning, some extra garlic powder went in to the soup mix also. Read the reviews and turned my oven up to 400, covered my dish for 30 minutes then uncovered last 30 minutes. Sliced my potatoes thinly on the mandolin and they were nice and tender at the end of an hour. A keeper for us, even my potato hating 5 year old ate without complaint! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 08, 2012

This was tasty. I used my mandolin and thought they were pretty thin, but still took longer than stated to cook. Maybe use parboiled next time to speed it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks September 23, 2012

Great comfort food! I used Velveeta, that is all I had...yum :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grammabobbie November 26, 2011
Cheesy Hamburger & Potato Casserole