Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Hamburger & Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Hamburger & Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2013

      Made this dish a number of times and always a hit! Made it last night with ground veal (had a pound in the freezer that needed to be used) and added 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. chopped basil leaves, 1/2 tsp. minced rosemary, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and 1/2 cup of fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms. What a difference and everyone raved about the taste. After browning and draining the veal, added the onions and baby bellas, covered, and simmered while I peeled and sliced the potatoes. Before assembling, I added the soup/milk directly to the meat mixture, then layered according to the directions, which simplified the process. The original recipe is great, but this modified version is excellent - give it a try!<br/><br/>P.S. Kaarin is correct, slice the potatoes as thin as possible so they cook through. I use a mandalin slicer set for the thickness of a thin potato chip - works perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This was really good! I used the recipe as is but added a few things. I cut a stalk of celery ,half a sml. onion and cooked that with my hamburger. I also chopped some carrot only because there were 2 sml. sticks left from a veggie tray.I also added some chopped garlic. To the soup I put in a spoon of sourcream. And I cranked the heat to 375 and it was done in an hr. My boyfriend LOVED it. It's a keeper Just made this for the 2nd time...stayed to the recipe with one exception..used cream of celery...and it was every bit as good as the first time. I love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I added a can of mushrooms to the sauce mix. I also baked it at 400 vs 350 to eliminate the chance of having crunchy potatoes. We will definitley be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I make this recipe all the time..The only thing I do different is I add beef base to the soup and I add garlic to the burger.My family Loves it.Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I made this using cream of celery soup, instead of the cream of mushroom because I wanted my DM to try this too, she dislikes anything mushroom. I used 3 medium potatoes, slicing them with a mandolin. Like some other reviewers, my cook time was 2 hours to get the potatoes done. Very filling comfort food. Next time I make this will use the cream of mushroom soup and cook in the crockpot. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      I have made this quick and easy dish twice for my family. They absolutely love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      This was okay. I added a little sour cream with the cream of mushroom soup. I don't think I will be making it again. It was easy to throw together though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Very nice, toasty warm comfort meal. Added garlic powder and some Penzys Northwoods seasoning to the beef while browning, some extra garlic powder went in to the soup mix also. Read the reviews and turned my oven up to 400, covered my dish for 30 minutes then uncovered last 30 minutes. Sliced my potatoes thinly on the mandolin and they were nice and tender at the end of an hour. A keeper for us, even my potato hating 5 year old ate without complaint! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      This was tasty. I used my mandolin and thought they were pretty thin, but still took longer than stated to cook. Maybe use parboiled next time to speed it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Great comfort food! I used Velveeta, that is all I had...yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This recipe is a keeper! It has the best of both worlds - it is comforting & it is (surprisingly) light. My husband went back for seconds, which means I'll definitely keep making this. Great meal idea to serve for brunch with some fresh fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was really good. I didn't have any onions so I used a can of french fried onions...it was fine. My two oldest kids didnt' like it (they don't care for cheese), but my bf and I liked it a lot. Oh and my 16 month old liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I loved this. I sliced my potatoes very thin with a mandolin and it still took 2 hours to cook. I kicked it up to 400 the last 30 minutes and that seemed to do the trick. I would agree that some herbs or pepper jack cheese would give this some zip. I will definitely make again, and continue to experiment with additions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I like the ease of this recipe. I have to begin with I absolutely HATE cream of mushroom soup. So I subsituted cream of cheddar. I have made this 3 times, and realized I had never reviewed it. My family really loves this. It makes a lot for a little work and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I sliced the potatoes extremely thin, you could almost see through them, and it still takes almost 2 hours for them to get done. This is a great go-to recipe. Thanks Kaarin. Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Really good and easy recipe but YES the potatoes just dont want to get done for some reaason. I nuked them for 8 minutes before slicing and they still took 2 hours to get done. So anyone wishing to shorten the cook time on this- nuke your potatoes until just about done- then slice and prepare casserole. Otherwise- plan on baking for 2 hours. Very tasty and homey comfort food. Would be a great way to sneak in some veggies in the sauce-- peas, carrots, etc.... My mom made a similar dish and always snuck peas in it. It is a very mild dish too so if you prefer something with stronger flavor do use Rita's suggestions of garlic, herbs, etc.... This would be great with pepper jack cheese. Thanks for a great recipe Kaarin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      This was a good dish that has many possibilites. I sliced my potatoes quite thin but they took almost two hours to get tender. I think I would boil them next time to cut the cooking time down to about 45 minutes. I took Rita's advice and added some dried herbs. I was wanting a more creamy filling than the end result but I think about a half cup of mayo added to the filling would do nicely in this dish. I struggled with the rating of this dish but-since there were no leftovers with only three people eating I will give it five stars instead of four. Dugan and Little Gary loved it and now I don't have to buy that awful crap in the box. This went together very easily and quickly and is both man and kid friendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Very easy comfort food. I did have to make 3 layers because I did slice the potatoes 1/4 inch thin. Which I think you should to help with baking on time. After 1 1/2 hours they were just done. I did use a whole large onion which was easily 1 cup. The filling is creamy. I did find my son adding ketchup to it as I followed his lead and it was good. This is a good dish for those that like mellow not to much flavor and spice going on. If you do like spicy as I do add some sliced jalapenos or jack cheese. And also go for some dry herbs like oregano, parsley, garlic. Please don`t get me wrong this is good and has many possibilities!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Hamburger & Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.3
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    50%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 104.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 667.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes