51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great soup. I made a few changes- omitted the bacon and carrots and used creamed corn instead of regular corn. The soup was quite thick so I had to add a bit more milk. This was a great way to use up some leftover ham!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC January 15, 2013

Oh this is a wonderful chowder.... it is hard to believe it was so simple to make, such a perfect combination of flavors. Thank you very much. I always have to use considerably more milk as it is very thick, just add until I get the consistency that I want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morningfeather November 14, 2011

This was delicious. I didn't have any bacon, and it still tasted wonderful. A great way to use up leftover ham.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko March 11, 2011

I have been making this chowder for several years and my whole family LOVES it! My college girls are so excited when I tell them I am making it for them when they come home! The only thing I change is the amount of bacon (I use less) and I use center cut bacon, since we are not crazy about the fat. This and homemade cornbread are a PERFECT cold-weather meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wdkkandrews@charter.net November 25, 2010

This chowder is definitely hearty. A perfect way to use up left over ham. The only deviation I made from the recipe was to add a couple cloves of garlic because my family LOVES gralic. I would also use a sharp cheddar next time. Thanks for sharing - this one is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theragsdale3 March 08, 2010

This is a fantastic recipe and my husband just LOVES it. I have made it a handful of times and the only change that I would suggest is to use medium cheddar dheese. It brings out more flavor in the chowder. Yumm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EZ Baker February 27, 2010

This really should be a 4.5 stars because I gave it 5 stars and DH gave it 4. This is really a good soup recipe!! I made it as directed except for using 2 BabyBel cheeses in addition to my sharp cheddar since I was short a bit of cheese, using frozen corn instead of canned, and adding a bit more milk when I added the ham as my soup seemed quite thick at that point. I would recommend dicing your carrot, potato and ham fairly small (at least smaller than I did!) to be done at the 20 minute mark. I had to cook mine a bit longer than that to get the potatoes done, but that was not a big deal. This was a delicious soup served with easy garlic bread for a warm and tasty supper. I think this soup will be even better the next day--I'll update my review to let you know! Made for the Winter 2010 I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC February 16, 2010

It was good, but too salty and tangy once I added the bacon and cheese. If I make it again, I'll go for just a cream based chowder and omit the cheddar. Good flavor though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vttrapperman November 05, 2008

So tasty and delicious! It was a big hit with my grandchildren! They wanted me to give their mom the recipe so she could make it for them! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe June 27, 2008

This was good but it didn't make very much so next time I'm going to double it since my husband & kids eat large portions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn May 03, 2008
Cheesy Ham Chowder