Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Ham Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Ham Chowder

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2013

      A great soup. I made a few changes- omitted the bacon and carrots and used creamed corn instead of regular corn. The soup was quite thick so I had to add a bit more milk. This was a great way to use up some leftover ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Oh this is a wonderful chowder.... it is hard to believe it was so simple to make, such a perfect combination of flavors. Thank you very much. I always have to use considerably more milk as it is very thick, just add until I get the consistency that I want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      This was delicious. I didn't have any bacon, and it still tasted wonderful. A great way to use up leftover ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I have been making this chowder for several years and my whole family LOVES it! My college girls are so excited when I tell them I am making it for them when they come home! The only thing I change is the amount of bacon (I use less) and I use center cut bacon, since we are not crazy about the fat. This and homemade cornbread are a PERFECT cold-weather meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This chowder is definitely hearty. A perfect way to use up left over ham. The only deviation I made from the recipe was to add a couple cloves of garlic because my family LOVES gralic. I would also use a sharp cheddar next time. Thanks for sharing - this one is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This is a fantastic recipe and my husband just LOVES it. I have made it a handful of times and the only change that I would suggest is to use medium cheddar dheese. It brings out more flavor in the chowder. Yumm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      This really should be a 4.5 stars because I gave it 5 stars and DH gave it 4. This is really a good soup recipe!! I made it as directed except for using 2 BabyBel cheeses in addition to my sharp cheddar since I was short a bit of cheese, using frozen corn instead of canned, and adding a bit more milk when I added the ham as my soup seemed quite thick at that point. I would recommend dicing your carrot, potato and ham fairly small (at least smaller than I did!) to be done at the 20 minute mark. I had to cook mine a bit longer than that to get the potatoes done, but that was not a big deal. This was a delicious soup served with easy garlic bread for a warm and tasty supper. I think this soup will be even better the next day--I'll update my review to let you know! Made for the Winter 2010 I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      It was good, but too salty and tangy once I added the bacon and cheese. If I make it again, I'll go for just a cream based chowder and omit the cheddar. Good flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      So tasty and delicious! It was a big hit with my grandchildren! They wanted me to give their mom the recipe so she could make it for them! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This was good but it didn't make very much so next time I'm going to double it since my husband & kids eat large portions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I also subscribe to taste of home. This is wonderful on a cold night. This works great for potucks if the theme is soup or warm items. I never have any when I am ready to come home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      We really liked this- very thick and creamy. I also added a little water at the end just for our preference but otherwise made just as written. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Fabulous and easy. DH and I loved it. Used red potatoes and cut recipe to feed 3. Excellent way to use ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Great soup on a cold night. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Had some ham I needed to use up so went searching. Found this, had all stuff so decided on it. Was very good. Only thing I used different was the corn, used frozen, that's what I had. Thanks, I'm sure I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      WOW! I made this a little lower calorie by not using the bacon, and sauting the veggies in 3 TBPS butter, and I also only used about 1 1/2 cups of cheese, but this was still awesome. I had to use frozen peas instead of corn, because it's all I had, and that cut the calories too... All in all an awesome recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

    • on November 27, 2007

      This soup was very yummy tasting. If I had to rate it on preparation, though, it would be lower b/c I like recipes that don't have a lot of prep work. I used the Oscar Mayer package of already cooked and chopped bacon. Instead of using the bacon grease to saute the onion and carrots, I used a couple tablespoons of butter. And I only used 2 cups of cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      This was just wonderful - like the description said - warm, filling, and absolutely yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Absolutely fantabulous! My husband and I LOVE it! We generally sauté a little garlic along with the onion and sometimes I add a few different types of cheese (swiss, parmesean, montery jack etc.) It is a wonderful winter's evening comfort food. Definitely my favorite chowder. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Ham Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.3
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    54%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 76.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 346.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites