11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good...and actually, I was a little suprised. Wasn't sure I'd like the ham and swiss cheese sauce with sweet potatoes, but had some leftover ham and a bag of sweet potatoes, so looked for a menu that used them both. It was super tasty! Loved the sauce, and like others, I did add more milk, and was glad I did. Made it much easier to spread the sauce while layering and made it really creamy. THANKS for a great new recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmac April 14, 2012

This is one of my favorites when I go car camping! You just need to pre-measure and pre-mix the dry ingredients, use canned sweet potatoes, and keep the other ingredients in a cooler until you're ready to use them. I also do all the cooking in the saucepan, rather than trying to bake it on my grill. Just keep stirring it and add a little more milk if needed.

Whether I'm camping or at home, I use turkey ham. It tastes just as good and cuts down the fat and the cost a bit.

P.S. I also got this recipe at the California State Fair but lost it. I've been looking for it for years! It's no longer available from the Sweet Potato Council.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CamperCook December 07, 2011

When I made this recipe, I took the tip from several other reviewers & added a bit of extra milk to the sauce mixture & that worked out just fine for us! Also did not peel the sweet potatoes since we like the extra nutrition we get from the skin! I'm particularly fond of sweet potatoes so this dish really hit the spot, especially since most of the sweet potato dishes that I make are the sweeter holiday kind ~ This is definitely a keeper recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 14, 2010

Really, really good! I was pleasatly suprised at how tasty this is! I loved it. The salty ham and tangy swiss cheese, with the sweetness of the sweet potato (plus a hint of the onion) resulted in a delicious Salty Sweet Combo. I did use more milk than suggested and also used light margarine (instead of regular butter). I would definitely make this again as I am a huge fan of salty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil_ms_priss86_ December 03, 2013

I'm about to make this recipe for the second time, and just realized I never rated it! Though this is a different way to eat sweet potatoes, it' s now one of my favorites! The flavors are so bold and go really well together! The basil, especially, adds flavor. I'm excited to eat this tonight :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm August 26, 2013

I loved the cheese sauce! DH and DS are just too traditional - couldn't get over the fact the potatoes were sweet and not regular. Used canned yams and frozen leftover diced ham from a spiral ham. Made for 2013 Spring Safari PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc March 17, 2013

Mmmmmm....This recipe was creamy, rich and sooo delicious! I wrapped the sweet potatoes in foil and baked them until tender to hold on to their nutrition. I also added a little nutmeg and parmesan cheese to the sauce. We loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 23, 2012

I had never seen (that I recall) a pre-cooked sauce for scalloped potatoes and thought that it sounded wonderful. The single drawback for me was the sweet potatoes, we're not big fans of them. So I made the recipe just as ask, for 4 servings, but with Yukon Golds. The dish suited us to a T and the sauce is wonderful. Like another reviewer I needed to add a little extra milk as it got quite thick before the layering part. It's homey, cozy, comforting and just yummy. This will now be my go to recipe now for perfect sauced potatoes. Thanks very much Den. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 06, 2010

I scaled this back to 2 serves as there was only the DM and I but I've ended up with just less than another serve which the DM has claimed to be reheated for breakfast - don't argue with a 84 year old scot. I only did one layer of sauce and then one layer of sweet potatoe and the the layer of sauce due to my container size and scaling back of the recipe. The only problem I had was I had to add extra milk as once I added the cheese I had a thick gluggy mix (not unusual with this type of recipe) so added extra milk a little at a time but then got a scare from the cat and too much went in and it ended up a not as thick as I would have liked. Did use a little more cheese (but we love our cheese) and also microwaved dried some fresh basil and lemon thyme to add with the dry mustard and have to say that was one of the best cheese/white sauces I have had, the herbs make such a difference. The ham was off the bone from our local butcher and had a wonderful smokey taste which just complemented the whole dish out of this world, well I could still go on but I can only say try this recipe but do use a good ham. Thank you Debbwl, made as thank you to a great host in Everyday A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 26, 2009

Very tasty, Debby. I did add a leetle garlic with the onion. The Swiss Cheese cream sauce makes this dish! Made for Every day's a Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks September 09, 2009
Cheesy Ham and Sweet Potato Casserole