Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Ham and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Ham and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    130 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 130

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      My kids aren't done eating this and I must rate it. I have the most picky 5 and 9 year old children in existence. My 5 year old had a second helping and my 9 year old is finishing his. They both like it. It was super easy. I made with homemade chicken stock as I had some I needed to use up. I also added some carrots as I had some already diced. It is very good. I think it will replace my usual potato soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      I made this for dinner tonight. It was wonderful! I doubled the recipe as I have hungry people in my house. I'm also using this for my soupswap on Thursday! I too did not peel the potatoes, used 2 Cups onion and celery, and did not thicken it with anything. I mashed the soup with a potato masher about 5 times to break some potatoes up before adding the ham, which I added after the potatoes were soft. Instead of milk I used nonfat half and half. As I write this I am craving more...that's how good it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      I have used the same potato soup recipe for years but now I have a NEW one! This soup is delicious. I add diced carrots and followed another reviewers suggestion and added a little bacon. Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      WOWOWOW Love this soup. I made a couple of slight changes....Started with 1/2 lb pepper cracked amish bacon and the 1 1/2 cups left over ham cooking in pot with a bit of olive oil. After the bacon sweated a bit - I took the ham / bacon mixture out. I then added all of the veggies (plus lots of extra of each) and got the brown bits off the bottom of the pan. Added the water and followed the recipe....except used whole milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and used 2 C light cheese. I ended up needing about 3/4 C more milk b/c of all of the veggies. The soup was still quite thick and excellent. YUM. Thanks UPDATE: just made this again - added a ham hock to the broth as the potatoes cooked - and the flavor is great. Added a couple carrots to the veg too! Used the immersion blender to puree a bit as well. Sooooo goood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Loved it. Very good. ( I didn't have celery -but followed all other directions)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      The kids love this. It is delicious. We have no leftovers for a family of 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Had a lot of potatoes on hand and a ham bone in the freezer. Made a ham stock with the ham bone. Made for a delicious soup. Didn't add any salt. An absolute must make again recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      I took this to a teen for Christ event and went so well. One kid wouldn't let me leave unless I gave him another bowl. I will keep this one on hand always!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Amazing!!! Used American cheese and it's super creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This recipe is amazing! It is going to replace my old potato soup recipe that was such a staple in our home before. It was very easy to make and made quite a bit of soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      A really good comfort soup, served with toasted ciabatta or some nice floury Portuguese rolls, excellent! Easily prepared as is, I did use garlic vegetable stock and no extra salt.
      Very much enjoyed, thank you, made for I Recommend recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      OMG! This soup is delicious. I too left out the celery and used country ham instead of sugar cured or smoked ham and it was great. Used this for a recent "soup swap" and the fourteen other ladies were scrambling for my soup. Definetly a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Delicious. Omit the salt though. The ham, salted butter and cheese provide plenty of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I love this recipe so much! I add 4 slices of crumbled up bacon and also use the bacon grease when melting the butter and adding in the flour. Honestly this is the best potato soup ive ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I put my own little "spin" on this soup. I lightly sauteed the onions & celery, before simmering in a box of chicken broth-which I used instead of the water and granules. I only used 1 cup of cheese. This will be one of my "go-to" recipes for leftover ham (or, I might even buy a ham steak...)Made for I recommend Tag-Feb '10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      Amazingly good and I will make this again and again! I doubled the recipe, left the peel on 3/4 of my potatoes, used 6 cups chicken broth plus 1/2 cup water, added NO salt (easier to add to taste after it's done than fix an oversalted dish), 2 cups milk & 2 cups FF 1/2 & 1/2. I had to improvise because I didn't have any shredded cheese on hand so I added about 6 oz. velveeta and this soup was a hit with the entire family. It's going in my keeper file! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      NUMMMMM! Great and super easy! I used extra veggies and added a little extra broth. Came out great!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Absolutely fabulous recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly and also chose to not peel my potatoes. I used water and bullion granules because that was what I had on hand. I did not add any extra salt as a result since I figured between the bullion and the ham, there would be enough salt. The soup had amazing flavor and was devoured by all. I need to make more because I hardly had any leftover for leftovers! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      This soup is indeed comfort food at it's finest. I have made it 2 times now since Christmas. The 1st batch was eaten on the spot without stopping. Thanks for the super simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I used low sodium broth and was worried it would need salt. It didn't. The ham and cheese seasoned it enough. It would have been too salty if I had used regular broth and/or added salt. I also used half and half. It came out fantastic. This was the first time I have made potatoe soup from scratch and I will make it again; my family absolutely loved it. Mom made home made bread to go with it... yum!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Ham and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.1
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    55%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 66.5 mg
    22%
    Sodium 912.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites