Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Garlic Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2011

      I made this on Christmas eve. My son is a very picky eater and he loved it. So did my husband. Very yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Followed the recipe exactly and it was so good. The only thing I would do different next time is use a little less butter, there was a bit too much sitting on top of the dish when I took it out of the oven; after removing excess it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Delicious. Big hit at our home. Didn't change a thing and it turned out perfectly. Thank you !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      OHHHHHHH my goodness, these potatoes are FANTASTIC!!!!!! Was looking for a scalloped potatoes recipe to go with my Pork Roast. These were over the top. My DH and I agreed that this might kill us but we would die happy :) Sometimes you just have to treat yourself. Didn't have any any heavy cream so got on the internet and found that 3/4 cup milk plus 1/3 cup melted butter equaled 1 cup heavy cream. Because of the butter in the heavy cream I left out step #4. This recipe is a real keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I made these for Fall Pick a Chef (PAC. I didn't have enough cream, so I used about 3/4 cup and the rest I substituted with plain ole milk whisked with 1 TB of cornstarch. I believe I could've used even less without sacrificing either texture or taste. One of the pictures that I will post will show that my potatoes were sliced the thickness of a nickel. Sliced that thick, they took 2 hours to cook. Had they been more the thickness of a dime they would've been tender within the expected time. I used peeled baking potatoes. 1 1/2 pounds worth were 4 medium potatoes about 4 inches in length and 2 inches wide. The liquid makes the potatoes hard to cut into any discernable shape when hot so cutting them cold before reheating resulted in a much nicer presentation on the plate! I liked the way the parmesan made a nice crispy crust on top of the potatoes, but was quite a strong flavor in the end. I would like to try this with mostly the alternate ingredient romano then a nice sprinkle of parmesan. That way, the flavor is more mellow and yet the crust will still be pleasing in texture. The garlic flavor was very pronounced in this recipe and we like that, but I would also like to use my microwave roasted garlic in this for a more mellow alternative. The provolone cheese was definately a nice touch. Thank you Sherry, for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Wonderful potato dish! Every night my husband says 'this is my favorite meal'. ...and he, also, says he never lies to the moans of DD#2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      These went so great with one of my new favorite dishes, Mama's Bar-B-Que (Barbecue) Chicken. I loved the creaminess and wonderful flavors of the cheese and garlic! I used the Parmesan cheese this time. These will be enjoyed again! Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Rich,creamy,cheesy and completely decadent...oh yes,and absolutely gorgeous!You can't go wrong with this combination of flavours and ingredients..it's fantastic. I left the skin on my potato (why waste goodness) and sliced very thinly by hand.I subbed mozzarella for Provolone,as I can't get hold of it,and used romano for the topping..I cooked mine for about 15 minutes longer than stated,and it was perfect.The crust was beautifully crisp,giving way to creamy,garlicky,soft potato. Definately not for those watching their waistlines-a real treat! Thanks Sweetslady for a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I have tried many scalloped potatoes recipes. This has been the best. I think the garlic and the parmesan cheese are the key ingredients. I only had fat free 1/2 and 1/2 on hand. I only added some chopped onions b/c I needed to use it up. I used mozzarella cheese instead of provolone only b/c I did not have that either. I would highly recommend slicing your potatoes thin. I did it by hand just to makes sure I did not have to bake longer. The hour and a 1/2 is perfect if you slice your potatoes thin. I think you could play with this recipe by cooking the garlic, adding onions, different kinds of cheese, etc....I will go back to this recipe in the future for scalloped potatoes. Try it, you will like it.Thx for the recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Love the garlic! This is how I usually make scalloped potatoes but I had never thought of putting garlic in them. YUMMY! Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Sliced my potatoes on #2 of my mandolin and 1 1/2 hours in the oven wasn't time enough. When done, they were creamy and delicious. Wanted to add onion but completely forgot so next time. TFS Made for the Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I agree: these potatoes are rich, and are definitely NOT low-cal, LOL! They get 5 stars because my husband doesn't normally like scalloped potatoes, but he gobbles these up! :) Just be sure to slice the potatoes very thinly -- I didn't slice all of them as well as I should have, and had to keep checking on them. It was torture, lol, because I just wanted to eat them already! :P **Edit: Had company over for dinner and made these alongside Easy Pleasing Meatloaf. Was a definite hit!!! I halve the recipe for 4 people, and there was just enough leftover to go with lunch the next day. Thanks, SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      So good! This is going in my permanent file, for sure! I added a small minced onion and a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg to mine. I also used Low-fat Heavy Cream Substitute in place of the heavy cream, and it came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      This made a delish side for our meatloaf supper tonight. It's very creamy and rich and I loved the combination of cheeses. I followed your recipe exact and used parmesan for the topping. My guys are cheese lovers and so this was most definitely a hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Good old fashion and VERY RICH! This was a hit. I had never used provolone in Scalloped Potatoes and I think it gave a bit something extra to the dish. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      These were very good. I followed the recipe exactly other then I used Simply Potatoes as I was a bit short on time. My family really enjoyed them. They will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      You did it again, SweetsLady. ANOTHER great dish. By slicing the potatoes as thinly as possible, allows for the rich cheesy/creamy sauce to really soak through them. I made this recipe EXACTLY as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Delicious scalloped potatoes!!! I have to admit I went the lazy route and used a bag of Simply Potatoes that are already peeled and sliced. The only other thing I did different was to add some chopped onions for more added flavor. Thanks Sweetslady for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      ALWAYS delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 649.7
     
    Calories from Fat 478
    73%
    Total Fat 53.1 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 33.3 g
    166%
    Cholesterol 178.6 mg
    59%
    Sodium 595.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites