Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Eggplant (Aubergine) Pesto Stacks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Eggplant (Aubergine) Pesto Stacks

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2011

      I have made all kinds of variations of this recipe, and they all turn out great. I have used pesto alone, tomato sauce alone, and both. I have layered the eggplant with tomatoes and zucchini, and put parmesan or feta in the stacks before topping with tomato sauce and parmesan. I serve this atop orzo pasta as a beautiful and filling vegetarian meal. Thanks for the great idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This is a great way to "change up" the way I normally serve eggplant -- delicious! I used Classico brand pesto sauce, and the only thing I added was a sprinkling of toasted pine nuts to each layer for a bit of crunch. I baked everything at 400 degrees for a half hour. The eggplant was tender and the flavors were incredible. This will be a regular in my household, as it works beautifully for a main dish or a side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Very good. I made the recipe as directed stacking mine 2 high. They were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Great recipe. I usually don't like eggplant, but this was good. I just put the stacks on parchment paper so that I wouldn't have to use any extra oil to grease the pan and it worked out well. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Very tasty. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Great recipe! Followed it exactly. I've never found an eggplant recipe that I really loved until now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Perfect!! Everyone loved it and the cheese browned very nice. We used it as a side dish with chicken and will use it time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I had some pesto I needed to use up, plus fresh eggplant from the farm, so this recipe was perfect. I didn't have much eggplant, so I used some green and yellow squash in the stacks as well. The whole family enjoyed this and I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I changed this a lot but I think I can still rate it. I used our own garden summer squash and diced. I skipped the layering and just tossed with a fresh, homemade pesto, placed it into a pan and topped with the cheese. Every one loved it, even the picky ones who hate squash. It was a great way to use the abundance of basil and summer squash we have in our garden already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I was looking for a different way to make eggplant and this fit the bill. I did cut the skin off the eggplant and I didn't soak it. I cut the slices too thick so they took longer to cook. Next time I'll cut to 1/3" thick. I used my own pesto. I added a couple of slices of tomato to the eggplant pesto before topping it with some cheese. Great recipe. I'll be making this often for a nice light lunch this Summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe! I skipped the draining stage, since my eggplants were not bitter. The flavor was very good. The only thing I may change next time is taking the skin off of the eggplants. It was difficult to cut through. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      I have been looking for more ways to use eggplant in my cooking and this recipe was a great addition. Next time I think I will add a little more cheese, because you can't go wrong with gooey melted cheese, right? Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      These were delicious. Easy and convinent. I'll be making these again for sure... the only thing I'll go different is add some sliced tomato in there. I think the tang of the tomato would contrast nicely with the other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Very nice, i really love eggplants and this was a good one to try. I tried to make it lower in fat so used just 40g of low fat chedder instead of the mozzarella. Still very cheesey and alot less calories. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Even the eggplant haters loved this recipe. I wasn't sure if I should use basil pesto or tomato pesto. So I made half basil and half tomato. There was no clear winner, people liked 'em both. Personally I thought tomato pesto is preferred. I finely grated the cheese and using fresh parmesan is important.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Wow, this was excellent! These were gone almost instantly, and even non-eggplant people loved them. I sliced the eggplant into smaller strips and cooked them all in one layer instead of stacking them, and they turned out like eggplant pesto fries. So good! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Like another reviewer said, I hate to be negative but we hated this. I followed the instructions exactly, used our fresh homemade pesto with fresh mozzarella and it concept,it seemed like it would be great. Noone liked it. We ended up scraping off the pesto and cheese and putting it on some bread. I was really disappointed. I don't know if I did something incorrectly or if we just don't like eggplant, although I have eaten it before and loved it. So, bottom line, I would not recommend this recipe at all. It was horrible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      quick and easy way to make an Eggplant dish that everyone can enjoy. I added a couple shakes of red pepper flakes for an additional kick! These were gone in 5 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Eggplant (Aubergine) Pesto Stacks

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.8
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    53%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 27.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1436.7 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites