Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheesy Creamy Ham and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Creamy Ham and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2009

      This was delicious, and very rich. I made the stock from the ham bone, and just kept adding water after it had boiled down for awhile (I probably ended up using 6-8 cups overall). It made for a very rich base. Also, I took the advice of a previous review and sauteed the onion and garlic in butter beforehand, and it was fantastic! I also added black pepper and chili flakes to spice it up a bit - a wonderful recipe, will make again. Perfect for using up leftover ham on the bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Very good soup. I will make again. The ony thing I would do differently will be to saute the onion and garlic in the butter to tone down the onion flavors as I thought the onion overpowered the flavor of the ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      First time I ever made soup from left over ham bone. This recipe was EASY and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      It's a great base for a wonderful soup I added baby portobellos, scallions, and chives! So amazing I gave it four stars because personally before my additions it's lacking but that's my opinion. I added pix of my soup too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      We used chicken and tomato bouillon instead of the ham bone and there were no left overs. Best potato soup I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

    • on January 26, 2010

      This is the most delicious soup! We had a massive ham that just wouldn't finish, and since I detest throwing things out, I decided to try this soup. It is creamy and rich and wonderful! I have stuck half of it in the freezer and the rest is just being demolished! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe is really the only reason we eat Ham for Christmas and Easter...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      The whole family loved it and I added 1 head of coliflower cut up. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

    • on February 16, 2009

      We enjoyed this. I did make the stock with the ham bone and am not sure it added much taste. Also, the recipe never says when to add the ham back into the soup. I also used more than 4 cups of water because 4 cups wouldn't cover my large bone. I found the meat that was on the bone and had boiled was much too tough, so I used a bag of frozen ham (from the same ham). I also used skim milk (which is all I had in the house) and it curdled slightly, but still tasted fine. I intend to add some cooked broccoli and cauliflower to it tomorrow when I reheat it for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Great. A lot more prep then I would have liked. I grated my own cheese and made 1-1/2 the recipe. But, it was worth the extra work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This is really delicious potato soup. I used all chicken stock instead of water and ham bone. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Creamy Ham and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.1
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    50%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 101.5 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1148.3 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes