14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious, and very rich. I made the stock from the ham bone, and just kept adding water after it had boiled down for awhile (I probably ended up using 6-8 cups overall). It made for a very rich base. Also, I took the advice of a previous review and sauteed the onion and garlic in butter beforehand, and it was fantastic! I also added black pepper and chili flakes to spice it up a bit - a wonderful recipe, will make again. Perfect for using up leftover ham on the bone.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmelinda May 04, 2009

Very good soup. I will make again. The ony thing I would do differently will be to saute the onion and garlic in the butter to tone down the onion flavors as I thought the onion overpowered the flavor of the ham.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking CF November 08, 2008

Would have probably been a good soup IF the recipe had told you that you would probably boil off all your water with the ham bone in the first step if the pot wasn't covered. Also, the recipe didn't state exactly when to add the diced ham. Had to add 4+ cups of more water before boiling the potato halves so that there would be enough liquid to cook them in. Grrrr....(posted corrections to the recipe for others)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larisa L. December 27, 2014

First time I ever made soup from left over ham bone. This recipe was EASY and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chapita1950 April 12, 2013

It's a great base for a wonderful soup I added baby portobellos, scallions, and chives! So amazing I gave it four stars because personally before my additions it's lacking but that's my opinion. I added pix of my soup too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyssBliss January 31, 2013

We used chicken and tomato bouillon instead of the ham bone and there were no left overs. Best potato soup I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6cat September 21, 2012

This is the most delicious soup! We had a massive ham that just wouldn't finish, and since I detest throwing things out, I decided to try this soup. It is creamy and rich and wonderful! I have stuck half of it in the freezer and the rest is just being demolished! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezagerm January 26, 2010

This recipe is really the only reason we eat Ham for Christmas and Easter...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
synaudi December 26, 2009

The whole family loved it and I added 1 head of coliflower cut up. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chili Dan October 31, 2009
Cheesy Creamy Ham and Potato Soup