14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I boiled bone in skin on chicken breasts in the morning, then reserved the broth to boil the noodles. I also kept out 1/2 cup chicken broth and used it in place of the milk and butter. I used whole grain spaghetti, and reduced fat soup. My 5 and 8 year olds ate it up! This would be a great recipe to tweak by sauteeing celery, onions and peppers, or adding pretty much any vegetable you like. You could play around with the soup variaties and add different herbs to create different flavors. This is just an all around healthy, excellent base recipe that I am thrilled to have in my rotation!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom February 27, 2009

We loved this!! The only changes I made were using fresh mushrooms in place of canned (cooked them along with the chicken) and I used cheddar instead of mozzarella. The leftovers were terrific as well. Highly recommend this hearty dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal July 04, 2009

I didn't even bake it. =) I left out the mushrooms and exchanged the cream of mushroom for cream of chicken.I also added broccoli before draining the noodles to add some color. Thank you so much for the 15 minute meal. =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS January 09, 2008

This was great!Added chopped onion,which DD didn't care for, but DH & I thought it was wonderful!! Will have to double the recipe next time-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 28, 2011

My friend made this for her Christmas party a couple years ago and have been looking for the recipe since!(she lost it)..I'm soo glad I found it!Only thing different I think she did was substitute fried onions for the mushrooms.But otherwise exactly like the recipe,because I helped her make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halloweenfairy85 May 19, 2011

I guess it's ok to rate this 5 stars, since I changed it a lot, but it was such A Great inspiration!! I cooked my own chicken. Used the broth to cook the noodles in. also used the broth insyead of the milk in the recipe. In addition I use 1 can of quartered artichoke hearts, drained and 1 can of drained "Original" Rotel Tomatoes. I used g Gruyere cheese and Parmesano Reggiano. I also put a mixture of this cheese together with Panko BreadCrumbs on top. Covered with foil for 30 min. and another 10 without. It was GREAT!. Thanks for the inspiration of yoyur recipe!! L-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) December 11, 2008

This was very good. I did add olives as another reviewer had suggested. This was a nice alternative to regular spaghetti. I thank you for a great dinner Liz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z April 09, 2008

This was really good. I used a can of Cream of Chicken and Mushroom soup and left out the mushrooms. I added about a teaspoon of onion powder and garlic powder. I also topped the dish with parmesan cheese. I thought it was a quick version of Chicken Tetrazinni. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plainchicken January 27, 2008

Delicious. The perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. November 19, 2007
Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Casserole