44 Reviews

The only thing different was I didn't use a crockpot! I layered everything in a 9x13 pan and baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour. I cut up the chicken as well. I was so hoping for leftovers. lol The family polished off the entire pan - this is a huge deal at my house! Congrats on a winner! IF I could give this more stars I definitely would. Made for the October 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast November 01, 2010

I followed what most of the reviews said, because this recipe is very bland. I layer the bottom of a 9x13 casserole dish with about half a bag of tater tots, top that with diced chicken and one of those little bags of bacon sprinkled here and there and top of that with pepper and cheddar cheese. Then that's topped with the rest of the tater tots and a little more pepper and cheddar cheese. Then I get about 1 cup of milk and mix in some ranch (packet or dressing) and pour that over the top. So delicious!!! It's one of my husband's favorites.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandavincent November 21, 2012

This is awesome! So good and easy to prepare. My only change next time will be to use boneless skinless chicken thighs, and dice them up. The chicken can get a little dry using the white meat. Also, used the Oscar Meyer Bacon pieces in the pouch, yummy! Such a great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uniqleeme November 30, 2010

This is so good! It was quick and easy to throw in the crock pot and I used a liner so clean up was a snap! I used b/s chicken thighs rather than breasts that I cut into pieces. Seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. This is a definate keeper!! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #46.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 08, 2010

I have now made 3 recipes in my first slow cooker. I bad brunswick stew. bland garlic chicken. and this wonderful easy tasty dish. I was going to put my slow cooker on E-bay for a buck if this didn't come out well.. I used pregrated Colby and Monterey jack. came home at lunch and piled it in. Five hours later had a great supper. My slow cooker thanks you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hardwareman January 19, 2010

Made this for supper tonight! It is YUMMY! I did make a few additions: added garlic powder, onion and green chiles to the chicken layer. I also cut my chicken into pieces. Once it was in my bowl, I added salsa.....Delish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drmom2223 October 14, 2012

This is a delicious and comforting meal. To make it healthier, I used half the amount of tater tots and only 1 cup of cheese. I also fried up some all-natural uncured bacon instead of the bacon bits. To see all of my changes, you can visit my blog (link is on my profile page).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks August 19, 2012

One of our new favorites! I used jar bacon bits and it worked great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vzsara May 19, 2010

I've made this a few times now & each time it's gotten slightly better. The first time was a total disaster, the chicken was still raw. The 2nd time was slightly better except the tater tots were mush & the chicken was dry by the time it was cooked. My family liked it okay but we'll see if 3rd time is a charm. Making it again tonight, will cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. I also add a packet of ranch mix to the milk for some added flavor. I use fresh bacon, not bacon bits also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen O. December 19, 2013

Seriously ? Just the idea of frozen tater tots done in a crock pot with raw chicken layers and bacon bits from a jar ? Wow, maybe some picky kid would like this. I thought it was bland (until seasoned). I'm sure this is a way to save time but I did my own bacon. It was just gross, thank Gawd for the cheese

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallywithsizzle December 01, 2013
Cheesy Chicken, Bacon & Tater Tot Crock Pot Bake