16 Reviews

My WFT absolutely LOVES these! I used chicken broth instead of water but my dough was a little hard too, so I added more and it worked out just fine! She knows when I'm making these because of the garlic smell and begs for the dough! Silly dawg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelvin July 07, 2010

My DGSs got a new puppy and wanted to make something special for him so we found this and decided to give it a try. It was so much fun and turned out great. As another reviewer I did add a beef boullion cube to the water. Found I had to add quite a bit more water (1/2 cup) to get it to a dough stage that I could roll out to make the cookies, but after doing that they rolled out nicely. Couldn't find my bone cookie cutter (wonder how it can vanish in the little house) so used animal cracker cutouts and that worked fine. Wish I'd thought to add some flax seed to it also but didn't think of that until I'd already had them in the oven. I thank you for posting, my DGSs thank you and most important Zeus thanks you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 23, 2009

Canine kudos! The two Cairn Terrors (correct spelling) give this as many stars as they are allowed to give. Sine my dogs are not affected by garlic or onion, I did add a bit; I added almost a teaspoon of garlic powder, a half teaspoon of onion powder, and a bit of bouillon flavoring in with the water. Oh, and I used whole wheat flour. They are very excited and happy!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique November 22, 2008

Some ageing flaxseed oil in the fridge, the suggestion of a previous reviewer & a cold wet autumn day saw me decide to make these for my puppies. These were lovely & simple to make, quick to cook & Jack & ben seemed to really enjoy them. My only problem was that my dough was a little hard to work with and I couldn't really cut shapes, I just made them into little balls, possibly due to the different oil used??? In any case the puppies enjoyed so thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 02, 2008

Taz & Sam say FIVE STARS! Sam was so excited he was doing a happy dance. I added 1 pkg of Bovril's beef flavour granules and cut them out with a doggie shaped cookie cutter so the humans would know these were for the boys. **for a healthy addition use flax seed oil instead of vegetable oil

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC April 24, 2008

Thanks & friendly woofs from me & my dog, Valentino ~ Usually he sniffs around anything new that I try to give him, but he went for these right away, so that says something 'falvorable!' Another GREAT TREAT for my wonderful canine buddy, & they're easy to make, too! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 20, 2008

I made these this morning and got a lot of cookies out of the recipe. I made them in 2 1/2 inch scalloped circles because I don't like giving my dog a lot of treats...she's spoiled enough as it is. I got about 27 round cookies out of this recipe and cut them in half to make 54. I tasted one and they are great, that garlic is tasty. I also made them with soy cheese instead of dairy. Ginger had a piece this morning and she gobbled it it. Great recipe, and Ginger says WOOF!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. March 05, 2008

Popcorn loves it and gives it 5 stars. I didn't have bone shaped cookie cutters so I made it in dinosaur shapes. Popcorn didn't seem to mind.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 02, 2008

My dog scoffed these right up. Had to slow her down. I tasted them, and i can see why the kids liked them. My girlfriend wants the recipe as well Easy to make as well. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MISSIB May 13, 2007

Made these up today for my Sweet EddieBear's dog Jimmy Dean (he is the little Dachsund in the picture) but could not get a picture of him with his cookies since he would snap them up and run. But did get the pic of Baby, our Stratfordshire Terrier who is alot calmer about treats. I made these exactly as your recipe, but added a tablespoon of beef granuals to add flavor. The dogs really enjoyed them, and thankfully I doubled the recipe so they will have more for later. I Thank You and the Puppies Thank You for the wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 October 26, 2006
Cheesy Bone Cookies for Your Favorite Pooch!