16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is indeed a keeper! I made it for a church cake sale. I cut into little squares and put each in a cupcake liner. I made two 13" x 9" pans of kugle half with raisins half without. Here's to you Mrs. Dorn---KUGLES ROCK!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC September 02, 2002

awesome -- just like grandma used to make! :) i used this recipe for our break fast. it got rave reviews from all who hoovered it down. thanks so much!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgie September 17, 2002

This was a very good dish. The first time I had tried a kugel, and it was very tasty.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta December 14, 2002

I made this for a potluck retirement breakfast function and must say that it was a real hit with everyone. Passed the recipe around to others who in turn made it for other retirement functions later that week. Several people were a bit fearful because they had never made a "kugel" before, but after some late night cooking counseling sessions all was well with the world again and kugel was enjoyed by all. Needless to say, this was delicious, but one would expect nothing less from Mirjam.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah K. March 02, 2003

Mirj, another winner! I've been wanting to make this for a long time, and tonight finally had a chance to educate my bf about Shavuot (or at least about kugel). This kugel would have made my savta proud if she was here to taste it. I ended up adding the raisins and also some dried apricots, because at my mom's house dessert kygels were always an opportunity to get rid of some dried fruit that's been sitting in the cabinets since Tu B'Shvat Thanks for you for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizzy May 23, 2004

YUM! I subbed blueberries for the raisins and forgot to add the second portion of butter but it turned out to be a virtually perfect kugel! Thanks so much Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender June 21, 2012

I keep forgetting to review this! I made it a few months back for an Easter breakfast and it was very popular - loved by many whom I suspect may not have ever had kugel before. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. June 18, 2012

The is a fantastic Kugel recipe! My whole kitchen had the most delicious aroma for quite some time! It tasted even better than it looked and it looked wonderful! I love kugel! Thank you for sharing!!! I added more raisins as we love them and upped the anti on the vanilla! I baked it at 350 Farenheit for 60 minutes covered with foil and for ten minutes more without the foil! I was afraid it would dry out on top. Worked out great for me. Always, Jelly :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly March 27, 2010

Very tasty. I used dried apricots (since it is what my mother in law uses when she makes hers). Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson August 13, 2009

This is so so yummy. I made four of them within 3 days. Everyone loved it and couldn't get enough. I added extra vanilla and sugar to make it a bit sweeter. The second time I made it, my boyfriend accidentally brought home all FAT free ingredients, and surprisingly it still turned out terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebtullius78 December 22, 2008
Cheesecake Kugel