10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good! I love horseradish so I added some extra. I also used about a cup of milk in place of Gouda cheese because I didn't have any. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbear23 December 16, 2013

I love Cheesecake Factory mashed potatoes, but these were missing the roasted garlic which I added and I don't recall their potatoes being the least bit hot with horseradish. I used a little less than a tablespoon. Overall good, but definitely not Cheesecake Factory. I will definitely make them again though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie January 21, 2011

Deliciously creamy and flavoursome! Guided by earlier reviewers' comments and to meet our taste preferences, I halved the horseradish and added a tablespoon of sour cream. The gouda was a delicious addition to the mashed potatoes. We greatly enjoyed these with Sara 76's Parmesan Crusted Lamb Cutlets. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Cooks4_6. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 17, 2009

this is going into my of favorites file for mashed potatoes, the only change I will make next time is reduce the gouda cheese down slightly, I used russet potatoes and added fresh ground black pepper, this is one I will make again many times, thanks for sharing Cooks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 22, 2008

I reduced the horseradish to 1 tbs. Perfect. I love smoked gouda so that's what I used. And I'm glad I did. The taste was yummy with that. I'll add milk next time cause the texture was too thick. Thanks Cooks4_6. Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 14, 2008

5 Stars, great adult taste. The horseradish taste is strong, and we could not really taste the Gouda cheese. This was a good side to Varna-Style Braised Chicken (Bulgarian Dish) #297663, because you can start the potatoes just after putting the chicken in the oven. I am debating whether I will add a small amount of warm milk next time; I may prefer my potatoes a little moister. Used a ricer instead of a rotary beater; everything then mixed with a spoon. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL August 21, 2008

Outstanding is right! The horseradish mixes so well on your palate with the creaminess of the potatoes and gouda it's unbelievable! This went fast, and next time will sure to double the amount. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 11, 2008

OUTSTANDING potatoes! This is one of the few times I've used gouda (should use it more, I know!) ~ That, along with the horseradish (a favorite of my partner), made for a GREAT side dish! I especially like leaving the potato skins on! Definitely a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 27, 2008

Excellent flavor! No gravy needed here... You can taste both the horseradish and the Gouda cheese but neither is dominating the other. A wonderful side dish that I think could go with just about anything. Thanks Cooks4_6 for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 11, 2008

I made these for Thanksgiving and they were INCREDIBLE! My husband devoured them! Everyone talked about how amazing they were. Even my mother-in-law loved them and she's not a fan of mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina Marie November 25, 2007
Cheesecake Factory's Mashed Potatoes