134 Reviews

To minimize cracks, put a shallow pan of water on the bottom rack. Also, this style cheesecake is assuming a large 3" deep cheesecake pan, as opposed to a normal pie pan; a pie pan will hold way less and cook way faster. Also, make sure top rack is just above bottom rack, lower from the heating element is better. This helps keep the top light and even for almost every cheesecake recipe on the market.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandyrenea December 10, 2011

I made this cheesecake a few days ago... I actually used about three different recipes. I added vanilla bean to half and cocoa to half. Ended up with a very pretty cheesecake, topped it with caramel and chocolate to make it a turtle cheesecake. It's gorgeous and so good!
About 15 minutes into baking it, I realized the sour cream was still sitting on the counter :(
But it still turned out amazing! Thanks for a great recipe. I will make a gain.
I also took a few other reviewers advice and doubled the crust.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell July 27, 2010

If you've never had Cheesecake Factory you'll love it. If you have, it won't measure up. I also recommend you double the crust ingredients since I didn't and it nearly wasn't enough crust to accommodate all the batter. It does taste better with age, so allow 1-2 days before dipping in. Fluffy and all, but lacked a certain sweetness, creaminess and smoothness Cheesecake Factory Cheesecake has. My guests nor I were really impressed. Hit or miss for me.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neener501 June 28, 2010

My neighbor made this for my father's on his birthday and it was the best cheesecake I have ever had in my entire life!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bizygrl06 July 09, 2010

I made this cheesecake for our Thanksgiving dinner and my family raved about it right down to the last bight. I doubled the crust as we are all nut lovers. I brought along caramel and chocolate to drizzle over the top with extra chopped nuts. Some choose to add the toppings and some preferred it plan. It was delicious either way. For those who had issues with their cake cracking or turning brown too early, it sounds like your oven is too hot. I used to have issues with my oven not maintaining a consistent temperature. I gave up making cheesecakes. With my new oven it was absolutely perfect!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klaupan November 24, 2012

I have had cheesecake factory cheesecake several times and I've made this recipe several times also. This recipe is every bit as good if not Better than the real thing. The first time I made it I didn't have the lemon juice so I took my chances and used orange juice concentrate....Wow, what a taste treat! It was so delicious and everyone raved about it so much that I have always made it with orange juice.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mskat531 November 20, 2012

This cake was amazing. I made it for my 4 year-olds birthday and she loved it. Actually, we all loved it. It was really fluffy. I did double the crust after reading another review because I like my crust to be almost as high as the cake. I am looking forward to the next Birthday I can make this for (mine).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mimi1161975 September 18, 2012

Cheesecake should NEVER turn brown on top, and should never crack, this is all controled by temperature, and water bath, I have been baking cheesecakes for ten (10) years never cracked one, or had one turn brown, and I remove the cake from the oven, after baking time, and cool on a rack, before putting into the fridge

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danator in Daytona Beach Florida March 18, 2012

thank you very much for your recipe, it taste so good! it was my very first time to bake a cheesecake and i'm amazed it turned out perfect and yummy! i feel great being able to make my own cheesecake just like Cheesecake Factory's :) i doubled by the way the ingredients for the crust coz my husband likes nuts :) i shared your recipe to my best friend, she and her family loved it too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnvince March 02, 2012

I made this for my husband for Valentines. It was AWESOME!! Fit in my sping pan perfectly. I did bake with a pan of water and it did crack, but once it cooled they crack closed. This is a definite keeper!! Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheleG8192 February 14, 2012
Cheesecake Factory Cheesecake