96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my husband's birthday because he wanted a carrot cake and a cheesecake. He and others at the party absolutely loved it! I thought it was good but not my favorite but I think that is just a personal preference. I doubled the frosting and made half of it white and half of it turquoise and decorated the top with a pretty design (I submitted the picture!) Also, I would reduce the temperature to 300 to 325 degrees and increase the baking time to 1 hour and 20 minutes to make sure it gets cooked through all the way and the edges don't burn.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nix86 January 12, 2010

This recipe does not deserve 5 stars. It deserves 10 stars. I may be partial because carrot cake and cheesecake are my 2 most favorite desserts so putting them together put me over the edge in happiness. It was delicious. Next time I will play a little bit more with the time and temperature. I think I will go a little lower on the temperature and bake it for a little longer. The very, very middle of the cake was very soft but I couldn't leave it in any longer or the top would have developed cracks. I suggest adding a dash of salt to the cream cheese frosting. This is a winner of a recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon August 15, 2010

This recipe is absolutely AMAZING and so easy!!!!!!! I received many compliments on it, some said I should start selling the cake:) Few minor changes, I baked the cake at 325 degrees for 1 hour. Then I turned the oven off, and let it sit in the oven with the door closed for about 45 minutes. I also added nutmeg and doubled the frosting and frosted the side of the cake as well. I cannot believe a cake this good could be so easy !!! Definitely try it out!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryduarte March 29, 2013

Wow...I got rave reviews for this! I did up the carrots in the cake part but followed the other ingredients as written. I did lighten it up a bit by using one pkg regular cream cheese & one light. I also baked it for 55 minutes, shut the oven off and left it for 3 or 4 hours...perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IMSwedish April 02, 2012

This was fabulous! I made it for a dinner last night and it got rave reviews. I did not add the coconut or nuts and I made a different topping. I mixed cheese cheese, sugar, whipped cream and crushed pineapple together and used that as a topping. Thanks for a great Recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. February 12, 2011

omg! this was soooooo good. i will definitely make it again and again. to start with, i made a few changes. like others, i used half the amount of oil and half apple/mango sauce. it definitely gave it a fruity taste. i think i will leave out either the crushed pineapple or the coconut next time because it felt a bit too dense even for carrot cake or maybe i will add more carrot instead. with the icing, the cake is sweet enough to withstand more carrot. i also halved the sugar in both the carrot cake and the cheesecake. this did not seem to take away from the taste. i also think that three eggs might be too many as my cheesecake portion seemed a bit thin and i added more cream cheese. perhaps my eggs were too big. in any case, it was a dream! i made it for my birthday and i have a friend who now wants one for his. he has fond memories of his mother's carrot cakes for easter and birthdays. this is perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wannabedomesticgoddess June 04, 2010

I ate this cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory and thought it was just so unique and tasty that I had to try to make it for myself. So for our Pioneer Girls Bake-Off competition I dared to whip it up and it's actually much easier than it appears! My only problem was that after I refrigerated it for a day then tried to transfer it to a cake plate, I noticed the whole middle wasn't cooked! So I ended up making a 2nd one (oh darn, I had to eat the first myself!) and this time tweaked the recipe a bit: 1) I added only about 1 TBSP of chopped pineapple, as I thought that maybe it was too wet. 2) After baking for 60 minutes, I reduced the temperature to 300 and added approx. 20 minutes of baking time (I have an electric oven and I certainly didn't want to have a runny middle again!) 3) I made my own glaze of 3 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar, a dash of milk and just a bit of vanilla. Then I topped it with chopped walnuts. Also to note-- this cheesecake is not supposed to have a crust, as the carrot cake actually serves in that function so don't worry that it has no graham crackers. And alone the cheesecake is quite good, not too sweet and very mild; but with the glaze... whoa watch out for sweetness! Everyone at the contest was wowed by the idea of it and although I'm not an expert cook and haven't even made a cheesecake in maybe 10 years, I still won first place! The ingredients speak for themselves-- who can resist cake and cheese?!?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MJ Poppyseed October 26, 2009

I can't rave enough. This is delicious! My oven cooks fast so I baked at 300 for 1 hr. 10 min. I also added nutmeg and ginger powder, and used 1/2 oil and 1/2 apple sauce as advised by other posters. Yummy yum yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siava February 14, 2009

Awesome cake! I made this for Easter and got lots of compliments, the hostess wants the recipe too. It looks more complicated than it is...it's really one mixer bowl for the cheesecake part, and another bowl for the carrot cake part. Love that. I used 1/4 C applesauce and 1/2 C oil, and couldn't tell at all. I'd recommend baking at a slightly lower temp because for me the edges were very brown by the time the middle was just barely done so I ended up with a sunken center. For the frosting, I used 8 oz creamcheese, 1T butter, and about a cup of powdered sugar after seeing other reviews about the frosting being too sweet. I pressed chopped walnuts on the sides for a fancier presentation. Will make this for special occasions again for sure!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely March 23, 2008

I love this recipe this is the perfect combo. Now I use the method to make other cake/cheesecake combinations I'm hooked.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DACIA September 20, 2007
Cheesecake Factory Carrot Cake Cheesecake