10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I eat this meal all the time at the Cheesecake Factory and even though it was a good attempt, I don't think it tasted exactly like a copy cat. It actually tasted nothing like the cheesecake factory version - maybe the peanut sauce was right on target but the actual curry, no. But good try, we still ate it so that's saying a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mshunny June 21, 2011

This is my fave dish at the Cheesecake Factory and I wasn't disappointed with this recipe! It's pretty labour intensive and creates a lot of dishes, but I used store bought peanut sauce to save on a bit of the work - it's such a small part of the dish I figured it wouldn't matter, and it didn't. Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pippy December 27, 2010

My whole family LOVES this dish! This is the second time I have made this and when I announced this as dinner last night, my teenage daughter postponed her plans to go to a friend's party. It is labor intensive and is a mess to clean up, but it is well worth it. In making this twice, however, I have learned a couple of things: don't skimp on the chili oil (the bit of heat is a big part of the appeal), and I saved some effort by using store bought peanut sauce (saves a lot of time and dishes). Also decided that the zukes are not necessary unless you have them in your garden or really like them (they don't add any flavor or color). Great addition to my family's favorite meal list.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewNerdMom May 29, 2010

Cooking this dish is not for the faint of heart - I had 4 pots going at once, but it paid off! Love the meal - I couldn't get the peanut sauce to drizzle - maybe needed more water? Just like cheesecake factory!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 24, 2015

This was excellent. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the curry sauce is runny, it does not thicken as it cooks. <br/>I prepared this for Thanksgiving Dinner (11-27-2014) and it was a hit. I added corn starch to thicken the curry. Now that I know the sauce does not thicken I will either add flour and make a roux before adding the onion, garlic & ginger or add corn starch at the end of the curry prep time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Crawford November 28, 2014

I made this last night and my husband and I think it tasted EXACTLy like cheesecake factory's dish (and we eat it a lot). It was even better than Cheesecake's though because you could add more curry sauce or more coconut or whatever you like. SO GOOD! Only downside is it is messy and labor intensive, it took me about an hour to do the whole thing and left me with a very messy kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa.stringham March 05, 2009

This tasted exactly like what I had at the Cheesecake factory! It was very time consuming, but worth it. I've made it twice now and to save time, I bought the peanut sauce at the store and decided not to cover the shrimp & chicken in cornstarch. It still tasted the same as the first time, when I followed the recipe to the letter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kalamitycook October 28, 2008

The taste was superb! My curry saw was too runny; I substituted "lite" coconut milk; perhaps that was the reason. My peanut sauce was thicker than glue! I'm not a fan of "frying" in oil, but I did for this recipe. Next time I make it, I will try the chicken and shrimp simply 'cooked' to cut calories. It was very time consuming, but just delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlotte.noonan February 08, 2008

Great recipe, definitely a keeper. I did add a little more salt. My husband really enjoyed it, thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandhome8 April 30, 2007
Cheesecake Factory Bang Bang Chicken and Shrimp by Todd Wilbur