22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to tweak the recipe a bit for our tastes, but once I did that, this soup was a hit! The recipe, as prepared, is quite bland. Being in the south, we're used to a lot of flavor -- I had to add a lot more seasoning - salt, garlic powder, a teaspoon of chicken bouillon granules - to suit our tastes. Additionally, I used a bit more Velveeta than called for and threw in a handful of grated cheese blend. Once it was complete, it earned a hefty five stars. I'm always sorry to see folks post that a recipe had no flavor, or lacked a particular spice. That's what we do as cooks - we improvise until it suits our tastes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erika S. October 17, 2013

I was disappointed with this soup. I followed the ingredients and instructions exact.
Soup was bland. I will say there is room for improvement. This did not taste like a cheeseburger at all. It wasn't bad but lacking taste. As the recipe is the soup broth is thick which is good because we like thick soups. I'm sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KGCOOK September 21, 2010

Awesome! I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ July 11, 2009

This is a wonderful, creamy, rich, thick soup. It really hit the spot tonight. Since there's only the 2 of us and it makes so much, I'm going to freeze a couple of small containers for my 87 year old aunt and the remaining for us to have on another cold night. My package of hash browns was 30 oz. so I added more chicken broth. I did add garlic and smoked paprika to the ground beef to give it a little more flavor. The next time I make this soup, I think I will not add the flour/butter mixture. It really doesn't need any more thickening in my opinion. I also think you could add some broccoli to pump up the veggie count.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes November 06, 2008

My husband loves this soup. He's a vegetarian so I substituted ground soy for hamburger. I also used real cheddar cheese as opposed to the velveeta. Only a sprinkle of basil. Nice hearty soup with rich flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L. Davenport March 17, 2008

This is a very rich and creamy soup that was easy to put together. It is very hearty - true comfort food. Great with some biscuits or even just crackers. I used fat free evaporated milk as I was out of regular milk. I think this made it even creamier and next time I think I will use regular so as not to make it quite so thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers February 17, 2008

I doubled all the ingredients except the hash browns when I made it so my daughter could take some home with her. It was a good thing I did, since they gobbled this up and I had enough left to send a little over a quart back with her. I gave her the recipe so she can make a full batch for herself and her roommates. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sklhczech October 12, 2007

This recipe was simple to make and yummy. I did, however, make a lower fat version of it and I don't think it suffered at all. I used almost a pound and a quarter of 96% lean ground beef, only one large carrot, the skim milk that tastes like 2%, reduced fat shredded cheddar, reduced fat butter and fat free sour cream. I, too, like my things spicy so I added red pepper flakes at the end. Was a perfect lunch for another very cold Maine day. Great comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dais January 27, 2007

I made this during the Winter Blitz this past weekend. Amazing! It was filling and delicious. Will definitely be making again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethShelley January 16, 2007

I should've added the carrots. You've got to add the shredded carrots or it's just all the wrong color lol. It tasted great, but the color was just plain wrong. I can't stress this enough, don't skip the carrots!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplerich February 14, 2006
Cheeseburger Soup