Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheeseburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheeseburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2013

      I had to tweak the recipe a bit for our tastes, but once I did that, this soup was a hit! The recipe, as prepared, is quite bland. Being in the south, we're used to a lot of flavor -- I had to add a lot more seasoning - salt, garlic powder, a teaspoon of chicken bouillon granules - to suit our tastes. Additionally, I used a bit more Velveeta than called for and threw in a handful of grated cheese blend. Once it was complete, it earned a hefty five stars. I'm always sorry to see folks post that a recipe had no flavor, or lacked a particular spice. That's what we do as cooks - we improvise until it suits our tastes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      I was disappointed with this soup. I followed the ingredients and instructions exact.
      Soup was bland. I will say there is room for improvement. This did not taste like a cheeseburger at all. It wasn't bad but lacking taste. As the recipe is the soup broth is thick which is good because we like thick soups. I'm sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Awesome! I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This is a wonderful, creamy, rich, thick soup. It really hit the spot tonight. Since there's only the 2 of us and it makes so much, I'm going to freeze a couple of small containers for my 87 year old aunt and the remaining for us to have on another cold night. My package of hash browns was 30 oz. so I added more chicken broth. I did add garlic and smoked paprika to the ground beef to give it a little more flavor. The next time I make this soup, I think I will not add the flour/butter mixture. It really doesn't need any more thickening in my opinion. I also think you could add some broccoli to pump up the veggie count.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      My husband loves this soup. He's a vegetarian so I substituted ground soy for hamburger. I also used real cheddar cheese as opposed to the velveeta. Only a sprinkle of basil. Nice hearty soup with rich flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This is a very rich and creamy soup that was easy to put together. It is very hearty - true comfort food. Great with some biscuits or even just crackers. I used fat free evaporated milk as I was out of regular milk. I think this made it even creamier and next time I think I will use regular so as not to make it quite so thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I doubled all the ingredients except the hash browns when I made it so my daughter could take some home with her. It was a good thing I did, since they gobbled this up and I had enough left to send a little over a quart back with her. I gave her the recipe so she can make a full batch for herself and her roommates. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This recipe was simple to make and yummy. I did, however, make a lower fat version of it and I don't think it suffered at all. I used almost a pound and a quarter of 96% lean ground beef, only one large carrot, the skim milk that tastes like 2%, reduced fat shredded cheddar, reduced fat butter and fat free sour cream. I, too, like my things spicy so I added red pepper flakes at the end. Was a perfect lunch for another very cold Maine day. Great comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I made this during the Winter Blitz this past weekend. Amazing! It was filling and delicious. Will definitely be making again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      I should've added the carrots. You've got to add the shredded carrots or it's just all the wrong color lol. It tasted great, but the color was just plain wrong. I can't stress this enough, don't skip the carrots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      My BF who claims he doesn't like chowder or soups loved this. I made this exactly as the recipe says and it was quite good. After I added 2 more cups sharp cheddar and some crushed red pepper flakes and it was incredible. I also added garlic to the meat while it was browning, this is a definite keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      this soup was great!! Made it for five people and it got five thumbs up! Nice and Cheesy but not too rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I've made this several times now and I must say it's a regular meal in my house. I'm not much of a soup guy, but then, this isn't really soup. I'd say it's WAY to thick and rich to be called soup. Myself and the kids absolutely LOVE it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      This was really delicious. My 18 month old didn't want to try it at first. However, after his first bite, he gobbled it up and loved it! We had it for lunch the next day too. Thanks for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      very easy to make and wonderful to eat. my dh and kids loved it. will definately cook again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      Excellent, wonderfully hearty chowder. Not overally rich like other Cheeseburger soups I've made in the past. The 'perfect' cheeseburger chowder. Thank You iluvmythomas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      This was a great soup for dinner. The only problem I had with it was I used shredded hash browns and ended up using half the package as the full package would have left NO broth left, adn it was still so very rich and hearty. I almost didn't add ll the basil but I am glad I did, it gave great flavor. At the end I did throw in about 1 c. of sharp shredded Cheddar as we do like things cheesy. The whole family enjoyed it and we will be having this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Home comfort food at its best. The kids ate it up in a flash. Easy cooking directions and it was wonderful to eat with crusty bread baked with olive oil and seasonings. Loved it! Will make again! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      A great hardy soup. I used less Velveeta and a little more hash browns because I had a 32 ounce bag. Turned out great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      This was a great comfort-food soup for a cold night! I made it tonight for dinner and it 's going to become one of our regular meals. Here are my adjustments. I used celery instead of carrots and a cup of sour cream instead of 1/4 cup. Also, I only had one 2 cup can of chicken broth and diluted it with water to make the 3 cups. Instead of hash browns I used frozen Potatoes O'brien W/Onions & Peppers because I didn't have hash browns. It was grrrreat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheeseburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 724.2
     
    Calories from Fat 417
    57%
    Total Fat 46.4 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 23.0 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 114.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1139.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites