Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheeseburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheeseburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2003

      I am delighted to be able to add this wonderful soup to my collection of soup recipes. In the fall and winter, I make soup about once a week. A bowl of soup, along with fresh fruit or a crisp salad is our usual lunch in our retirement years. The only change I made was using a large can of condensed milk instead of the cream, for that is what I had on hand. Thanks, Inez, for a "keeper."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      Very good! I've been looking for some *warm comfort food* recipes lately and this one is just perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Love this recipe! Will be a keeper for fall/winter months! Family loved it. I did add the can of diced tomatoes with juice, also celery, But otherwise kept it the same. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      This is true comfort food....we had a cool day & company coming....braving all I made your recipe for the first time & was glad I did..it's a fantastic soup, easy to make & the blend of flavors is perfect....can I give it 5*'s for each of the 4 of us that enjoyed it? We will have this often thru the winter...Thanks for a Great Recipe...

      Updating this for Cook-a-thon...it's still a 10star recipe & one I make on rotation thru the fall & winter months..had it again & each time it seems to taste better than I remembered. I have shared this with lots of friends over the years...wow has it been that long? LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      I fix this soup for my family & more. If I could give this a 10 star I would. What I did different though was use cornstarch to thicken the soup at the tail end. Family rant & raved over this! Thank you MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I omitted the green pepper, just because I don't like it. And added carrots and celery, and bacon. I doubled the velveeta cheese because it wasn't cheesy enough for me. Loved it! My whole family did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      10/30/05: This is wonderful! I used red pepper instead of green as that is what I had on hand. I could eat my weight in this?!! That would be a lot of soup!! LOL! This will be on my menu alot with the coming cold weather! Thanks MizzNezz! 12/13/10, just wanted to add that I made this soup quite often and it is a very "forgiving" recipe. Sometimes I don't have some of the ingredients or not enough and I just use what I have and it is wonderful everytime. We are expecting snow/rain mix in a couple of days and I have just made another pot of this soup. Delicious! (10/13/11 - just realized I forgot to add the stars! I still make this quite often)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I made this soup for our family on Christmas and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was way better than my cynical husband thought it would be - he loved it! To cut back on carbs I only used 1/2c diced potato and skipped the flour but cut back on the broth. I also added 1 1/2 t dijon mustard. Will definitely do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      mmmm very tasty soup, tasted exactly like i was expecting it to taste with the ingredients :) For my personal preference, I would generally like this type of soup a little thicker, so I did another 2tsp of the flour/butter, and used only one cup of cream, it turned out great :) In future I think I will also dice a few slices of bacon and add it in when frying the hamburger also :) Thanks for sharing another great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This was a huge hit with DH and BIL (as well as me). I was told to call BIL over for dinner if I made this again. I really liked the flavor and only thing I did different was to sprinkle maybe a teaspoon of Mrs. Dash in with the ground beef. Only problem I had was wanting more when I was done, so I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This was good but not outstanding. I thought there would be a much stronger cheese taste but I just wasn't willing to add in additional velveeta or cheddar to supplement since this already had plenty of calories. My son who is seven enjoyed it but said it didn't taste anything like a cheeseburger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I have to change my comments, because I just made this soup again with some a few modifications, and wow! I added oregano and thyme with the basil, used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup milk, added some pasta with the potatoes, and used cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. This made this soup even better!! I highly recommend the use of heavy cream and cheddar cheese. But even without them, this soup rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This is excellent! I used lean ground beef, fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and added mushrooms. I didn't have basil, so I added Penzey's sandwich sprinkle, herbs de provence and mignonette pepper. I tasted it before serving and while it was delicious, I couldn't really taste any cheese. I went ahead and added the remaining Velveeta (for a total of 16 oz.). I also like thicker soups. This did the trick! It was the perfect amount of cheese and consistency for my taste. This is easy to assemble and perfect for a cold winter night! Thanks for posting, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This was yummy!! We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and I wish I had doubled this recipe! Also, may try to thicken it a little more next time - I like thicker soups. But this will definitely go on our regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Tastes divine & super easy to prepare, too! I used evaporated milk, because had no light cream, and American slices, but I highly doubt that these slight changes altered the taste in any dramatic way. A perfect dish for a cold, cold winter night's supper! Thanks, MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This was such a great soup. There really isn't anything that I would change next time I make it! Thanks for the new recipe for my collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      My 6 YO DS wanted to make a meatball soup that he saw on 30 minute meals, but wouldn't eat many of the ingredients in it. So I asked for recommendations on recipe request, and this is the first response I got. It looked so delicious and perfect, I had to try it. So, instead of browning the beef, I got all the ingredients together and let my son make Kittencal's Low-Fat Parmesan Turkey Meatballs without breadcrumbs, and roll them into mini meatballs. Then I dropped them into the hot broth, and continued as directed. I did use Velveeta light and a 12 oz. can of skim evaporated milk. I also omitted the butter and flour step, and made a flour/water slurry to add to the soup. If it is this amazing with the low fat version I made, I can only imagine how incredible the exact recipe is!!!!! I had a family pleasing meal and a VERY happy 6 year old since he got to help make the supper he requested. Thanks so much for a perfect belly warming soup!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      We loved this soup! A nice change from the soups I usually make and very easy to make. I did add extra cheese and used whole milk since I didn't have light cream on hand. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This was great...I used hash brown potatoes to save prep time. If you like tator tot casserole you will love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheeseburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 501.1
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    63%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 20.1 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 127.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1252.3 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 22.7 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites