9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe for a quick, savory snack. My Sunday School class raved about the flavor profiles: garlic, heat from the cayenne powder, tang from the Worcestershire sauce, and the crunch from rice krispies (and some added finely chopped pecans). I will definitely make them again soon - with so much leftover rice krispies, I can't think of a better way to use them up! Addendum: I liked them much better by baking them longer than the specified time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marni Ulch August 07, 2012

Great flavor!! Only put the full teaspoon of cayenne powder if you really I like hot stuff. I do so I put the whole teaspoon. I think I mixed the butter and cheese wrong because my mix came out very dry. Next time I will use a blender and a little more butter. But this is a really great recipe, and I will try to get it right next time

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimmy_isbill February 20, 2009

I'm so glad I finally got around to making these tasty little delights. I wasn't sure how well I liked them at first, I thought the worcestershire sauce seemed a little over powering, but they really grew on me and now I can't stop eating them They would be wonderful with a glass of wine or a cocktail. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 18, 2013

I've made this same recipe for years and they are WONDERFUL!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindamcb58 December 15, 2012

I've decided to give this 3 stars even though these are very tasty. I used 3/4 tsp cayenne and there's some heat but not too much for me (the wimp). But...the instructions need adjustment. For instance, it would have been helpful to know how thick to pat out the dough before cutting. And then what size to cut the straws...the recipe says 4x6 which didn't make any sense to me. Lastly, after letting them cool, I attempted to put them on paper towels as instructed but they are so fragile, they just broke all apart. I can't even pick one up without it crumbling. So I'm not very happy about that. But thanks for sharing your recipe, which I may try again if it gets corrected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra December 20, 2011

Made these for one of my holiday appetizers. Did cheese straws - served as in your photo they really looked great on the appetizer table. Love spicy and next time will go with two batches spicy straws for us - and do wafers for those who perfer less kick. That way will know which have the hot stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry January 26, 2010

These are really good! The only thing I changed was I only put in 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper because I was afraid 1 teaspoon would be too hot for me. I also added 1/4 teaspoon paprika. They still have a little kick, which is just right for me. I mixed this up in my stand mixer and the consistency was perfect for rolling into balls for wafers. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeslieMG December 20, 2008

So excited about finding this recipe. I remember these as a child and my mother who is 86 no longer remembered the recipe or where she put it. Can't wait to try and relive some wonderful Childhood Christmas Memories..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowbear48 December 17, 2008

I made these for a potluck and got rave reviews! My husband loves spicy so I used a habanero cheddar. They were really spicy, and I missed the sharp cheddar taste, so next time I think I will use 1/2 extra sharp cheddar, and 1/2 habanero cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
move2themusic December 15, 2008
Cheese Wafers (Straws, Cookies)