36 Reviews

I think the reason this includes lemon juice is because many vegan cheese sauce recipes call for something called Rejuvelac, which is made by soaking whole wheat grains, letting them sprout a day, grinding them with water and then letting the resulting mixture ferment a day on the counter before straining. It's kind of sour, but it's not at all like lemon juice. My advice is, if you're not making Rejuvelac, leave out lemon juice. I've made many vegan cheese recipes, and if I don't have a batch of Rejuvelac on hand I just deal with i and omit it. They all come out well. Real secret is the nutritional yeast. That's what gives it the cheesy flavor. Also, if you soak the raw cashews for at least 2 hours before making recipe, this sauce will come out much smoother, almost like melted Velveta. Also reduce the water to a 1 to 1 1/2 ratio (cashews to water). You can add additional water to thin if you need to..much easier to thin a thick sauce than to thicken up a thin sauce. You can leave out cornstarch if you follow this method, and best of all, you don't have to cook it if you prepare it this way... perfect for raw food enthusiasts. Several dashes of tumeric will make it yellow, if you're concerned about aesthetics.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetwitch March 02, 2010

Absolutely the best cheese sauce ever!!! I went vegan 8 months ago... that's when I found this recipe and have been making it ever since. I must have made it at least 20 times and most of the time they're double batches. This sauce is so amazing!!! Everyone who's tried it cannot believe that it's non-dairy. Neither of my sons are vegan yet they eat it constantly... I can hardly keep it in the fridge. I use it as a spread for my veggie burgers, with chips and pretzels as a dip and on all of my mexican food... especially my breakfast burritos. It tops off many rice and bean dishes as well. Great on a bagel with some sliced cucumber, onion and tomato and a squeeze of lemon juice with some hot sauce. I follow the recipe to the tee... sometimes I will add a bit more water just to thin it out a bit if I'm using it as a sauce. I thought that I would die without my cheese when I went vegan but, this has truly saved me... it's the best!!! Thank you PhrostyWindow for posting this recipe!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veganmama45 August 28, 2010

I made this last night with a few small changes - so amazing! I prefer red peppers to pimientos, so I sauteed 1 small-med red pepper in olive oil for a few minutes to soften it, then added it into the mix. I also used organic veg broth instead of water for a bit of extra flavor... So unbelievably good, fast & easy! I made vegan burritos with spelt tortillas, spicy veggies, refried beans & homemade guacamole, and poured this cheese sauce on top... I can't say enough about how delicious this is! THANK YOU

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefsheri May 20, 2007

Wow! So easy and yummy! I made it as stated here with a few additions. I used roasted red peppers, as that's what I had on hand instead of the pimentos. I also added a pinch of tumeric ( for color) onion powder, garlic powder, and cayenne. What put it over the top was smoked paprika sprinkled on top! Vegan crack....watch out!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenlkwong December 18, 2011

F****ing amazingly delicious!!!!!! Thank you thank you!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vusjade September 17, 2014

OMG this is awesome!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilmsbritches January 29, 2011

Holy smokes This was soo good, I never write reviews for anything (this is my first!) I didn't have any pimentos so I used fire roasted tomatoes with chiles instead. I also added a little oil as per another reviewer. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. Oh I made some pizza rolls with the sauce - they are in the oven right now. This sauce would be amazing for nachos & I am planning on making a Mexican casserole tomorrow with brown rice & beans & the rest of the can of tomatoes & this amazing sauce - I can't wait!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1003185 December 17, 2008

Wow I wish I could give this 350 stars. I recently developed a milk allergy and have been forced to become a reformed cheese addict. Every time I see cheese my mouth waters and I want to cry. And since mac and cheese is the ultimate comfort food for me I was very upset that I'd never have it again. But this sauce makes some of the BEST mac and cheese I've ever had, including with dairy. I quadrupled the recipe for a pound of pasta (except the water, only tripled that) and it came out great. I did leave the green ingredients out since I wasn't going for nacho sauce and added garlic powder. This is my total go-to cheese sauce, hands down. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU Phrosty!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy October 14, 2008

HOLY MOLY is this good! I was skeptical, as i've tried other "cheese" sauce recipes that tasted like nutritional yeast, and nothing else (and i'm not a big fan of nutritional yeast). However, this tasted amazingly close to nacho cheese sauce. I am currently eating it with a rice cake, since i have nothing else to dip in it... lol. I did make a few changes: I substituted mashed sweet potato for the pimentos (I'm allergic to peppers of all sorts) and i reduced the lemon juice by half. Coming from a vegan who misses cheese, this is outstanding! Thank you for a great recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raspberryjello October 03, 2008

This is a good recipe but will taste more like cheese sauce if you leave the lemon juice out of it. I haven't tried it with the chilies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef CindyLouWho September 21, 2008
Cheese Sauce (Vegan)