Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Sauce (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Sauce (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      I think the reason this includes lemon juice is because many vegan cheese sauce recipes call for something called Rejuvelac, which is made by soaking whole wheat grains, letting them sprout a day, grinding them with water and then letting the resulting mixture ferment a day on the counter before straining. It's kind of sour, but it's not at all like lemon juice. My advice is, if you're not making Rejuvelac, leave out lemon juice. I've made many vegan cheese recipes, and if I don't have a batch of Rejuvelac on hand I just deal with i and omit it. They all come out well. Real secret is the nutritional yeast. That's what gives it the cheesy flavor. Also, if you soak the raw cashews for at least 2 hours before making recipe, this sauce will come out much smoother, almost like melted Velveta. Also reduce the water to a 1 to 1 1/2 ratio (cashews to water). You can add additional water to thin if you need to..much easier to thin a thick sauce than to thicken up a thin sauce. You can leave out cornstarch if you follow this method, and best of all, you don't have to cook it if you prepare it this way... perfect for raw food enthusiasts. Several dashes of tumeric will make it yellow, if you're concerned about aesthetics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Absolutely the best cheese sauce ever!!! I went vegan 8 months ago... that's when I found this recipe and have been making it ever since. I must have made it at least 20 times and most of the time they're double batches. This sauce is so amazing!!! Everyone who's tried it cannot believe that it's non-dairy. Neither of my sons are vegan yet they eat it constantly... I can hardly keep it in the fridge. I use it as a spread for my veggie burgers, with chips and pretzels as a dip and on all of my mexican food... especially my breakfast burritos. It tops off many rice and bean dishes as well. Great on a bagel with some sliced cucumber, onion and tomato and a squeeze of lemon juice with some hot sauce. I follow the recipe to the tee... sometimes I will add a bit more water just to thin it out a bit if I'm using it as a sauce. I thought that I would die without my cheese when I went vegan but, this has truly saved me... it's the best!!! Thank you PhrostyWindow for posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I made this last night with a few small changes - so amazing! I prefer red peppers to pimientos, so I sauteed 1 small-med red pepper in olive oil for a few minutes to soften it, then added it into the mix. I also used organic veg broth instead of water for a bit of extra flavor... So unbelievably good, fast & easy! I made vegan burritos with spelt tortillas, spicy veggies, refried beans & homemade guacamole, and poured this cheese sauce on top... I can't say enough about how delicious this is! THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Wow! So easy and yummy! I made it as stated here with a few additions. I used roasted red peppers, as that's what I had on hand instead of the pimentos. I also added a pinch of tumeric ( for color) onion powder, garlic powder, and cayenne. What put it over the top was smoked paprika sprinkled on top! Vegan crack....watch out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I enjoyed this sauce; although I made a few changes. As some other readers, I did not have pimentos on hand so I used roasted red pepper instead. Also, I didn't want the added starch of the cornstarch, so I simply cut the water amount in half in order to make a thicker sauce. I did think the lemon was a little too strong, but that might be because my sauce was more concentrated due to the reduced water. I will definitely make again, but with less lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Delicious. The reviews were very helpful. <br/><br/>With a DOUBLED batch I used 3/4 cup cashews; 1/2 and 1/2 cold cashew water and vegetable broth (in lieu of the plain cold water); 1 1/2 T fresh squeezed lemon juice; 1 1/2 t salt; and about 1/8 t. each of tumeric, garlic and onion. I left out the chilies. It's really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Added in a few squirts of Sriracha and jalapenos in place of green chiles and it was fabulous <3. I served it over tortilla chips and it has definitely curbed my craving for nachos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      Easy, adaptable and delicious. I used veggie broth rather than water, and reduced the amount a bit. Also added mustard and omitted lemon juice (because I didn't have any). We served this over steamed cauliflower, and also dipped our homemade vegan corn dogs. We'll definitely be using this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Excellent recipe for those of us who can't have the real thing, and for once, something not made of soy! I followed the advice of the reviewers and let my cashews soak for an hour, but the sauce still came out a little grainy for me. I was using a stick blender, so I don't know if using a real one would be better. Next time, I'll soak longer. I also left out the lemon juice, based on other reviewers. The sauce is about as close to cheese as Velveeta is, so close enough for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Yes, it's that good! We made "super nachos" with beans, corn, olives, tomatoes and this cheese. I scraped the bottom of the pot to eat the last little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      OMG this is awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This is a really nice gravy. I call it a gravy because I do not find it cheesy what-so-ever. It does look like cheese, but definitely does not taste like cheese. It does taste very good on a variety of things, just don't expect it to be cheese. Also, I like to use carrots for coloring instead of piment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Turned out fabulous with the tweaks from the other reviewers! Soaked the cashews, used less lemon juice, and added the water at the end so I could get it to the perfect consistency. I added a bit of garlic powder & used the chilis for a tasty nacho dip - THANKS!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This turned out well with the green chilies. The DH felt it was a bit too runny & didn't like the lemon juice in it. I will definitley cut back the water next time & soak the cashews as Gourmetwitch recommended. He had this with tortilla chips and then later we put some into refried beans to give them a cheesy flavor. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This cheese sauce is sooo good. I am not a vegan (and have no desire to be) however, my child can not have cheese. This is so close to the real thing, who needs real cheese. Tonight, I am using it on philly cheese steaks. I do omit the lemon juice and add a little salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This unfortunately didn't work out for me- was very watery and tasted icky. It seemed like there were too many "wet" ingredients so the cornstarch didn't firm it up well. HOWEVER! I refuse to believe it's a bad recipe because it sounds so good so I will be trying it again in the future and will post any update/change my rating if needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This sauce is amazing! I use it when ever I make nachos. If you want it a bit richer, use vegetable broth instead of the water. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Amazing is right! I have been hunting for this recipe all over the place, and found it here. I followed this exactly, and it came out beautifully. Color, texture, aroma, all of it is so close to real cheese. I don't care for the "faux" vegan cheeses, and certainly would do without, but this brings the zing back into the mac and cheese! Next time I will add the optional diced green chilies. Yum! Thank you! February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Holy smokes This was soo good, I never write reviews for anything (this is my first!) I didn't have any pimentos so I used fire roasted tomatoes with chiles instead. I also added a little oil as per another reviewer. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. Oh I made some pizza rolls with the sauce - they are in the oven right now. This sauce would be amazing for nachos & I am planning on making a Mexican casserole tomorrow with brown rice & beans & the rest of the can of tomatoes & this amazing sauce - I can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This is a very good sauce - it succeeds on its own merits, not just as a "fake cheese sauce". I would never mistake it for actual cheese, but it has a lot of the same qualities you want in a cheese sauce - it is savory, rich, and has the same sort of umami taste quality which cheese has. I'm not sure what the one reviewer did who said it was "too sweet"? Perhaps they used honey-roasted cashews? Make sure you use RAW cashews, not roasted, and certainly not any sort of flavored cashew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Sauce (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.0
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    45%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 300.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites