Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      I thought this was a good cheese sauce for vegs. I use about 5 slices of American Cheese. I had to guess how much cheese because the recipe does not say how much to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      A simple and delicious sauce for broccolli or cauliflower, etc. I was a generous with the cheese (1/2 cup grated old cheddar). For a bit more tangy-ness, try adding 1 tablespoon of french mustard (or mustard powder).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      Its about time! My mum used to make this sauce when we were kids. My mum pass away about 5 years ago (along with alot of other recipes she used to make as well) and for the pass 2 years I have been trying to find someone that could tell me how to make it cos for the life of me, my brothers, and my dad we couldnt work it out. But we did have a slight idea. Apon reading this recipe I knew right then and there this was then one it all came back to me. Thankyou for submitting this I finally got what I wanted. Now if only someone could tell me how mum used to make lambs fry and bacon it would be a dream come true. I havent yet found any one including a few chef's that can make it the way mum used to. Tis a pity I didnt pay more attention to the way mum made alot of things b4 she pass away. then I would of know everything. Flattyre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      This is going to be a thick sauce, before adding the cheese this is rue, which is a base for gravy, or to thicken soup. I saw many say it was gritty, if you used cheddar cheese it might be the cause. I have had the same issue with my homemade mac n cheese if i use cheddar. Try using a softer cheese such as Colby, colby jack, cheddar jack might be ok too, since it's not just cheddar cheese. Hope my suggestion helps a little. I was just thinking softer cheeses melt easier so maybe it wouldn't get gritty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      - I used this recipe as a base for my homemade hamburger helper.
      - I really wasn't sure how much cheese to add. The sauce was very thick. I had to add a lot of milk. I think I will use 2 tablespoons instead of three next time.
      - If using this as a pasta sauce, I recommend adding 1/2 cup of your favorite spaghetti sauce and salt, to taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      the flavor was nice after I added some salt, but the texture was awful It was fine until I added the cheese, then it got kind of gritty looking I used real chedder cheese grated so I don't know why this would have happened.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Who wont eat any veggie smothered in this sauce. I found it to be too thick even before I added the cheese, so I had to use more than 1c milk. Maybe 1.5c approx. I used 2% milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      So good, and so simple. DH thinks I am a brilliant chef now *lol*. Thanks for a great, quick, staple sauce that is so easy I have it memorized now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      This was great...i used it as the cheese sauce for mac & cheese,i also used shredded cheese instead of the processed cheese slices & it turned out great,my stepson loved the mac & cheese.I know it was supposed to be a sauce for veggies,but it works very well on pata too. Thanks for posting a great sauce Kim.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      if it gets gritty, its because the heat is on too high

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Very good sauce. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      A nice, quick cheese sauce. I added paprika and a bit of hot sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This cheese sauce was very easy to make. I used it to make mac n cheese and everyone loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Easy, quick and tasty. I used skim milk and grated fat reduced cheddar. Update - I always add a little cayenne pepper and usually a bit of fresh ground black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I was really excited to try this recipe, it was my first homemade cheese sauce. I did not get any lumps, it was a very eye appealing sauce, and very smooth looking, just like nacho cheese. However the texture when you ate it was gritty - like you could taste the flour? I also used a little less flour so I'm not sure why it happened. I used cheddar and monterey jack cheese - is that why the gritty texture? DH said he enjoyed it but I did not. It was also very very bland and I had to add a lot of salt and pepper to it just to give it some flavor. I wish I knew what happened, it looked delicious, but lacked in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      What a great basic cheese sauce recipe! It was easily executed and so many alternate options available to try. I am from WI and love cheese, so I used sharp cheddar, montery jack and then for fun some bleu cheese! Also Franks red hot sauce! I covered my broccoli, cauliflower & carrots with the sauce and baked in oven for 15 minutes! Mmmm-Good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      We really enjoyed this cheese sauce with baked potatoes and broccoli tonight. My only complaint would be that it isn't as smooth as say processed nacho cheese (which isn't even cheese, right?). I used skim milk and shredded Cheddar cheese. Just keep adding it until it is cheese enough for you. Also, if it gets to thick just add more milk. Easy as can be. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This is a fast, simple, very versatile cheese sauce. We made it last night to serve on our loaded baked potatoes--very delicious. We made it vegan by using soy margarine, rice milk, and Vegan Gourmet cheddar substitute. Thanks for the recipe! I can think of a million uses for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

    • on September 14, 2008

      We served this on broccoli and the leftovers on tortilla chips. It was tasty and got my husband to eat his veggies! I added cracked black pepper for more taste and used sharp cheddar cheese. I'd like it even more if it had extra spice to it. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    71%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 31.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 106.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites