17 Reviews

For those who don't like sage......I hope it's fair for me to review this with all of my adaptations, BUT the way I made this WE LOVED!!! Omitted sage and replaced with ~1/8 - 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Lessened the butter to 1/4 cup and added some olive oil. Replaced 3/4 cup cream with light sour cream and added ~1/2 cup brown sugar. I LOVE sweet, savory dishes like that. Used pecans instead of pine nuts and toasted them with the onions. We both REALLY liked it "our" way. I hope I can intice others who do not really care for sage to try your recipe : )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs April 29, 2009

We all loved this dish! This is one of those wonderful recipes that is a snap to make and tastes super gourmet. Fresh Sage is important, i wouldn't use dried. The pumpkin-sage sauce was delicious! I served it with sun-dried tomato focaccia and a Cesar salad. Thank you for a quick, easy and super fabulous dinner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper December 07, 2008

I was looking for a sauce for the butternut squash ravioli I bought. When I saw this recipe, I thought it would be perfect. I was right! I hate pumpkin, BUT I LOVE this recipe. a definite keeper! The only thing I did different was: I used less parmesan cheese based on personal preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornsrs October 24, 2011

This sauce is simple and foolproof to prepare and amazingly tasty. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe closely, though I used homemade pumpkin puree rather than from a can (might make the flavor more mild?). The second time, I substituted half a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce because I was looking for some extra flair. Everyone loved it both times! Don't be afraid to make this because you think it will be like pumpkin pie on your pasta, because it's not. The flavor of pumpkin is mild and meshes well with the alfredo and gives it the perfect oomph into savory. I will definitely continue to make this sauce in the future!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeccalee May 24, 2011

Absolutely amazing. Have to admit I made a little customized changes too: half the butter, twice the wine, and a sprinkle of nutmeg, but in general followed the recipe. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super Wifey November 22, 2009

Simple to make and so good. Me and my son really liked it. My husband and daughter weren't crazy about it but I think it just wasn't there type of dish as it's extremely rich. I would highly recommend it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelJa October 21, 2009

Delicious. Not too sweet like pumpkin dishes often are. We used whole milk instead of cream and served it with mushroom ravioli for a fall flavor. I would cut down on the butter next time as it was too rich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast August 29, 2009

I cheated big time on this one, so I am gonna do this without stars. That being said, my version was fabulous indeed. I used 1 T butter, 2 T wine, 1/4 cup green onions, and 1.5 cups of prepared white sauce. I then stirred in 3/4 cup of pumpkin, 1/2 cup mixed Italian cheese, the sage and about 1 t all purpose seasoning. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 06, 2008

This is the best pasta dish I have ever cooked! I made it for my weekly Pasta Wednesday dinner night with friends and they all thought I had bought dinner this week because it was that good! The pumpkin taste isn't too strong so if you want it more pumpkiny I would add a little more. I had some pumpkin haters at dinner and they were very surprised when I told them what was in the sauce. I scaled the recipe up to serve 10 but I don't think that caused any problems with the ingredient amounts. Only 7 people ended up eating and there was just enough with none left for seconds. I would recommend increasing the recipe a little depending on how many people you plan to serve...especially because it is so good and everyone will want second helpings. I did make a few adjustments, I added about twice as much pepper and I also allowed my sauce to simmer for about 12 minutes after adding the cream and cheese mixture. I think this brought out the flavors in the sauce a little more. Thanks so much for a recipe I will surely be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 November 13, 2008

Oh my goodness! This was fantastic!! I made using extra pumpkin (approx. 3/4 cup) and shallots instead of green onions, and half heavy cream/half Half 'n Half. This is a very rich dish but so, so good! I served with Roasted Broccoli, Parmesan & Lemon and a nice salad. Hubby really liked it to-can't wait to have company over and serve this again. Thanks BecR for an amazing recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ November 02, 2008
Cheese Ravioli With Pumpkin Sage Sauce