Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Potatoes (Poutine Precurser) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Potatoes (Poutine Precurser)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      Haven't tried this yet, but thought I'd share what I've learned about the origins of Poutine. Bill Casselman's 'Canadian Food Words' has an entry on it, and I found a link: http://www.billcasselman.com/canadian_food_words/cfw_six.htm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      OMG, us Canadians know where it's at!!!! YUM YUM YUM!!! For a real crazy poutine, I add fried bacon bits, and lots of pepper! :P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Fabulous! I had a package of Poutine gravy mix that was sent to me by the lovely Leslie from Canada and have saved it for the ZWT. I was so excited I found this recipe to use the gravy with! We LOVED it! I could not find comte cheese so had to use the gruyere option. I also used the balsamic vinegar option to deglaze the pan. Super easy to make and a crowd pleaser. We will definitely have these again! Thank you Marramamba!! Zaar World Tour 4. Whine and Cheese. UPDATE: I chose this recipe for one of my Best of Zaar World Tour 4 picks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wow, this dish is fabulous! Potatoes, bacon, cheese............it doesn't get any better than that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      More like a good potato hash with cheese, but you can see a vague outline for poutine here. I splurged and made up a packet of Swiss Chalet Gravy I had been sent, to serve over this, thus living the poutine experience more closely. ;-) It may be too hot in Greece right now to enjoy such hearty food, but it was delicious, the kids loved it, and it made me think back to the chip wagons I used to buy poutine from when I attended Ottawa U. A very good version of the 'real thing'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      We both loved this touch of Canada. We were introduced to poutine many years ago on our first trip to Toronto & miss it very much between our visits. This dish was easy to prepare & had a great taste. I didn't use the balsamic & used grated cheddar cheese, as it was all I had. Made some gluten free gravy to go with this - not quite poutine gravy, but wonderful anyway. Thanks MarraMamba for sharing this keeper. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      My husband and I love this dish! I did not peel the potatoes, I grated the cheese, and I chopped the bacon before adding it back in step 7. Otherwise, I made it as directed. Thanks, MarraMamba! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I love the bacon and kept going back for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      These are really good and so easy to make. I used my Vidalia Chop Wizard to dice the potatoes into even cubes. The bacon and cheese are a must. Thank you MarraMamba!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Very good potatoes, real comfort food with the cheese and the bacon! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      These were delicious! I doubled the potatoes, but left everything else the same and I included the balsamic vinegar. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I love fried potatoes and this is a really tasty variation. I made the potatoes nice and crispy and topped it all with shredded monterey jack cheese. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Made this last night (and mde an extra large portion) and my family STILL devoured it all. I made it as directed (all ingredients including the balsamic deglaze) and it was to die for!! We will definitely make this again!! flavorful, easy I would give it more stars if possible!! Thank you for posting this delicious recipe!!! Sorry I can't contribute a better picture, the main one I took turned out a bit blurred last night. ;(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Made for my DS, he loved this dish, I didn't have any gruyere so I used cheddar, thanks for sharing MarraMamba!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      4.5 stars! We enjoyed this but I have to say it was a little oily for me personally, and my other half said he would have prefered the potatoes to have been par-boiled prior to frying to make the insides a little softer and fluffier. I was going to do this as an appetizer but ended up running out of time and just served it up with our main course, which was fine. This was nice and easy to make and timings were pretty much spot on. It served two of us comfortably (with some leftovers) but I only had little potatoes so used 5 and that may be why. I used gruyere chese and it tasted really nice (a good change from parmesan or cheddar) and unsmoked bacon. We'll most likely have this again but next time we'll tweak it to our tastes a little. Thanks for a great recipe MarraMamba!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Potatoes (Poutine Precurser)

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1733.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1005
    57%
    Total Fat 111.6 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 46.7 g
    233%
    Cholesterol 226.4 mg
    75%
    Sodium 1431.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 125.8 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 15.7 g
    62%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 59.7 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites