Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese on Toast - Cheap and Cheerful British Toasted Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese on Toast - Cheap and Cheerful British Toasted Cheese

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2010

      Yummy, yummy, and, oh yes, YUMMY! I was a slabber and ate it so fast I didn't have a chance to photo! But I'm going to have this again, and try shredded. I used the mustard and Worcestershire sauce. And I never tried it with salt & pepper before, either, but it was scrumptious! Absolutely loved the sweetness the Worcestershire gave it. This was even better than a grilled cheese sammie! Thnx for sharing, FT. Made for KcK's Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Delicious lunch for me! I wanted to be a slabber, but my cheese was frozen and fell apart. I used a good crusty homemade bread. Love the worcestershire sauce, and the info as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

    • on March 18, 2010

      Oops .... We have another slabber here F.T.! This is such a great, quick and easy recipe whcih I followed exactly. I adored this recipe and loved the added flavours of the mustard and Worcestershire sauce. These two ingredients added such a fantastic diiference to the normal everyday cheese on toast. Thanks from another slabber rhis is a winner.....thanks F.T. for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I am a slabber too - I cut all my slabs, left the room and the dog ate the cheese !!!!!! So I re cut the slabs and served DS up this fantastic recipe. He raved so thanks FT !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Oh yeah, this was good. Since I am a slabber, it is quick as can be. I was pining for a nice treat to remind me of my time in Britain. This hit the spot. Thanks for the lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I loved this snack! I enjoyed the addition of the mustard and the Worcestershire sauce- never thought of that on cheese toast! Thanks, will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was pretty good. I didn't care for the mustard, but I didn't have 'English', so used Dijon. I'm not sure how different they are from one another. I did enjoy the addition of the Worchestshire. Gave it a nice tingle. I used Extra Old Yellow Cheddar, on a thick slab of very fresh Multi-Grain. Served along side Tiny Pasta in Broth. Thanks FT. I'll be doing this again. :) Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #38

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Another good one FT. The mustard & worcester sauce kicks up a notch my usual cheese on toast :) We had this for a quick snack along with some cold ham slices & sliced fresh tomatoes....yum! Made for Aus/NZ swap January 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      If I had to choose one meal to eat for the rest of my life, it would be cheese on toast! Wonderful recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I made this for my lunch and it was just fabulously delicious. I used a 5 year old Vermont cheddar and I had to sub Dijon for the mustard. Made as a thank you in Every Day Holiday Tag for French Tart. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This is the perfect snack, with lots of Worcestershire!!! I'm a slabber. You lose too much cheese, being a grater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I used really thick slices of Crusty Cheese and Herb Pull-Apart Bread which I toasted in my pop up toasted and then spread with dijon mustard, as that is all I had and then used presliced vintage cheddar and lancanshire relish (similar to worcestershire but peppery). Thank you French Tart for an easy lunch for the DM and myself, made for Every "Day" is a Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      OK, I'm a slabber, but just out of pure hunger.....I couldn't be bothered to grate the cheese, it was much faster to slab it on :) I loved the extra kick of the Wooster, (oh how I wished I had a bit of Branston in my fridge). My DH and I enjoyed this for a delicious evening snack. We made it on some whole grain buns, but I do think you just can't beat a hunk of fresh crusty bread! Thanks Madame French Tart! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese on Toast - Cheap and Cheerful British Toasted Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 823.3
     
    Calories from Fat 381
    46%
    Total Fat 42.3 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 24.7 g
    123%
    Cholesterol 119.0 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1486.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 40.3 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites