36 Reviews

This was Sunday night dinner for us and it was wonderful! Dh was VERY happy. I made ten tortillas filled with cheese and black beans (no onions for this family!) I used probably about a quarter of the sour cream and did half green chilies, half jalapenos. It was the perfect amount of "spice." Thanks for posting this great recipe, Mark!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid October 27, 2003

These are very very good. I added 2 chopped whole habaneros to the sauce and that was perfect for us. Reheated made a great breakfast too. LOVE IT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff October 05, 2003

We enjoyed these Mark. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsEl September 27, 2003

Fantastic, my enchilada friend! The whole family raved about these. I did do a few things differently - I used a light butter on the tortillas because I was out of oil. It didn't seem to be a problem. I sauteed some chicken breasts in Fajita seasoning and rolled them up in the enchiladas for my meat lovers. Absolutely delicious, and this recipe has been requested to be placed on the "rotation". Thanks for another keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! September 25, 2003

Add mine to your list of rave reviews. After a tough day at the office :0) I was able to prepare a wonderfully flavored dish in a short amount of time. My family loves spicy so I used some hatch chili and followed your recipe to the T. Extremely easy and very satisfying. Will be making often! Thanks Mark

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher September 19, 2003

I was a little hesitant about the sauce at first. I thought that much sour cream would be overpowering, boy was I wrong. I made these for our Mexican fiesta party along with my Chicken Enchiladas and your guacamole. What a wonderful combination. I have not heard so many compliments on food in such a long time. My guests all left with full stomachs and a plate for later. The flavors all blended so perfectly. Great recipe Mark!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ August 18, 2003

O.M.G! These are so easy, and ever so good! I have been looking for a foolproof cheese enchilada recipe for some time. I used Tillamook Extra Sharp Cheddar cheese (White), and Oooo man, these are the best enchiladas I have ever had. Better was how easy they were to put together.

The part of microwaving the tortillas solved my problem of the tortillas coming apart as I rolled them. Thanks!!!!

Awesome recipe for the sauce! Forget going to the local restaurant anymore, mine are better.

I cannot wait to try this with chicken filling.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Make sure you put some sauce on the bottom so tortillas don't become too tough on the bottom. Sauce was a little thick, will thin with milk next time as another reviewer suggests.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steak&Taters January 04, 2013

DH won't stop talking about your Enchiladas. I don't know whether to thank you or send out a hit! I did not have the soup so I made a super thick chicken gravy. I also made your Red Enchilada sauce and dipped the corn tortillas in it before filling with cheese. Super Good Mark! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 23, 2011

Very good! I did add one clove of fresh garlic to the onion and saute them before adding them to the cheese as one other person did. Also, for personal preference, I used half the amount of green chilies. Thanks so much for a new mexican recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid August 12, 2010
Cheese Enchiladas W/Sour Cream Sauce