Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchiladas W/Sour Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchiladas W/Sour Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2002

      OLE' Great dish! (I chose to try this dish over your Debra Jo's Favorite Cheese Enchilada because Debra Jo's already had so many rave reviews and I wanted to test your culinary abilities a little further). :-) Anyway, these were fabulous. I followed your instructions exactly except I cut back on the Jalapeno Peppers (I'm a wimp). The sauce was excellent. Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      WOW Mark! These enchiladas were fabulous! They were easy to prepare and I usually have all these ingredients on hand! I used cream of celery soup instead of the cream of chicken, but that was because of my own taste. I am sure it is delectable no matter what soup you use. On behalf of me and my family...we thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      My family loved these enchiladas! I can see why some of the reviewers added chicken though because this sauce would be excellent on chicken enchiladas too. I may try it that way next time. The only change I made was that I sauted my onions a little beforehand. And I did add some chopped jalapenos to the sauce because we like it spicey. Delicious enchilada recipe, Mark, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      Mark, I just have to add my remarks. I fixed these 3 days ago and invited a friend and last nite I made rellanos and served the last of your enchiladas. A different friend was also invited. Both friends & dh declared them the best enchiladas they'd ever eaten,,including mexican restaurants!!! I changed very little. I added fresh grated black peppercorn to the sauce and some chicken in the enchiladas. Next time (& there will be lots of them) I will use a little less sour cream. Everyone loved them, but the sour cream was a little to much for me, but I ate them piggishly anyway!! Thanks for sharing an easy to follow great recipe!! Kitty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      My husband enjoyed these, and they were very easy. I omitted the shortening and microwaving step. I just filled them with the cheese, and added refried beans, then rolled them up and placed them in the baking dish. We will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      These enchiladas were good, but they weren't as spicy as I thought they would be. I used cheddar cheese and canned chilies, but next time, I will try cheddar/jack and add some fresh chopped jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      These were, by far, the best enchiladas my family has ever eaten. I only changed a couple of things. I sauteed the onions first because we like the flavor of onions, not the crunch. I also added a little bit of onion powder with the cheese and onion mix and I sprinkled the top of the enchiladas with a bit of onion powder as well. They were amazing! I will definitely be sharing this recipe with all of my friends and family. Thank you so much for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      Excellent!! Easy to make and delicious. The method of softening the tortillas in the microwave is a huge timesaver.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      Thanks for the recipe, Mark. I cut the quantity in half, as there are just two of us today. I also brushed the tortillas with oil, rather than shortening. It was very good, and so quick and easy to put together. It will become a regular dish at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      First off I want to say the sauce flavor was absolutely delicious and I don't like using canned soups. I was amazed how tasty it was. The only problem I had was the thickness of the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, but found the sauce way too thick, it didn't pour and was chunky on the enchiladas. I ended up after it was cooked scraping it off and reheating in a pan with some skim milk to get a thinner more silky sauce. Thanks Mark!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      This was Sunday night dinner for us and it was wonderful! Dh was VERY happy. I made ten tortillas filled with cheese and black beans (no onions for this family!) I used probably about a quarter of the sour cream and did half green chilies, half jalapenos. It was the perfect amount of "spice." Thanks for posting this great recipe, Mark!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      These are very very good. I added 2 chopped whole habaneros to the sauce and that was perfect for us. Reheated made a great breakfast too. LOVE IT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2003

      We enjoyed these Mark. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Fantastic, my enchilada friend! The whole family raved about these. I did do a few things differently - I used a light butter on the tortillas because I was out of oil. It didn't seem to be a problem. I sauteed some chicken breasts in Fajita seasoning and rolled them up in the enchiladas for my meat lovers. Absolutely delicious, and this recipe has been requested to be placed on the "rotation". Thanks for another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Add mine to your list of rave reviews. After a tough day at the office :0) I was able to prepare a wonderfully flavored dish in a short amount of time. My family loves spicy so I used some hatch chili and followed your recipe to the T. Extremely easy and very satisfying. Will be making often! Thanks Mark

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      I was a little hesitant about the sauce at first. I thought that much sour cream would be overpowering, boy was I wrong. I made these for our Mexican fiesta party along with my Chicken Enchiladas and your guacamole. What a wonderful combination. I have not heard so many compliments on food in such a long time. My guests all left with full stomachs and a plate for later. The flavors all blended so perfectly. Great recipe Mark!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      O.M.G! These are so easy, and ever so good! I have been looking for a foolproof cheese enchilada recipe for some time. I used Tillamook Extra Sharp Cheddar cheese (White), and Oooo man, these are the best enchiladas I have ever had. Better was how easy they were to put together.

      The part of microwaving the tortillas solved my problem of the tortillas coming apart as I rolled them. Thanks!!!!

      Awesome recipe for the sauce! Forget going to the local restaurant anymore, mine are better.

      I cannot wait to try this with chicken filling.

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Make sure you put some sauce on the bottom so tortillas don't become too tough on the bottom. Sauce was a little thick, will thin with milk next time as another reviewer suggests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      DH won't stop talking about your Enchiladas. I don't know whether to thank you or send out a hit! I did not have the soup so I made a super thick chicken gravy. I also made your Red Enchilada sauce and dipped the corn tortillas in it before filling with cheese. Super Good Mark! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Very good! I did add one clove of fresh garlic to the onion and saute them before adding them to the cheese as one other person did. Also, for personal preference, I used half the amount of green chilies. Thanks so much for a new mexican recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchiladas W/Sour Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 524.7
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    51%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 78.8 mg
    26%
    Sodium 917.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites