36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OLE' Great dish! (I chose to try this dish over your Debra Jo's Favorite Cheese Enchilada because Debra Jo's already had so many rave reviews and I wanted to test your culinary abilities a little further). :-) Anyway, these were fabulous. I followed your instructions exactly except I cut back on the Jalapeno Peppers (I'm a wimp). The sauce was excellent. Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 20, 2002

WOW Mark! These enchiladas were fabulous! They were easy to prepare and I usually have all these ingredients on hand! I used cream of celery soup instead of the cream of chicken, but that was because of my own taste. I am sure it is delectable no matter what soup you use. On behalf of me and my family...we thank you for sharing a great recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug September 02, 2002

My family loved these enchiladas! I can see why some of the reviewers added chicken though because this sauce would be excellent on chicken enchiladas too. I may try it that way next time. The only change I made was that I sauted my onions a little beforehand. And I did add some chopped jalapenos to the sauce because we like it spicey. Delicious enchilada recipe, Mark, thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas October 27, 2003

Mark, I just have to add my remarks. I fixed these 3 days ago and invited a friend and last nite I made rellanos and served the last of your enchiladas. A different friend was also invited. Both friends & dh declared them the best enchiladas they'd ever eaten,,including mexican restaurants!!! I changed very little. I added fresh grated black peppercorn to the sauce and some chicken in the enchiladas. Next time (& there will be lots of them) I will use a little less sour cream. Everyone loved them, but the sour cream was a little to much for me, but I ate them piggishly anyway!! Thanks for sharing an easy to follow great recipe!! Kitty

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppermintkitty September 24, 2003

My husband enjoyed these, and they were very easy. I omitted the shortening and microwaving step. I just filled them with the cheese, and added refried beans, then rolled them up and placed them in the baking dish. We will be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melanie boyd May 29, 2003

These enchiladas were good, but they weren't as spicy as I thought they would be. I used cheddar cheese and canned chilies, but next time, I will try cheddar/jack and add some fresh chopped jalapenos.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 07, 2003

These were, by far, the best enchiladas my family has ever eaten. I only changed a couple of things. I sauteed the onions first because we like the flavor of onions, not the crunch. I also added a little bit of onion powder with the cheese and onion mix and I sprinkled the top of the enchiladas with a bit of onion powder as well. They were amazing! I will definitely be sharing this recipe with all of my friends and family. Thank you so much for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.day1021 June 06, 2010

Excellent!! Easy to make and delicious. The method of softening the tortillas in the microwave is a huge timesaver.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryTee February 02, 2004

Thanks for the recipe, Mark. I cut the quantity in half, as there are just two of us today. I also brushed the tortillas with oil, rather than shortening. It was very good, and so quick and easy to put together. It will become a regular dish at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K December 14, 2003

First off I want to say the sauce flavor was absolutely delicious and I don't like using canned soups. I was amazed how tasty it was. The only problem I had was the thickness of the sauce. I followed the recipe exactly, but found the sauce way too thick, it didn't pour and was chunky on the enchiladas. I ended up after it was cooked scraping it off and reheating in a pan with some skim milk to get a thinner more silky sauce. Thanks Mark!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Pebbles** November 03, 2003
Cheese Enchiladas W/Sour Cream Sauce