Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      I made these for dinner tonight,and must say that we liked them very much. I only added a tsp. of chili powder to the sauce and a bit of cumin,and it was downright tasty! The only change I'll make the next time,is to skip the onions - they really didn't soften, and I did add chopped chiles,because we like them. But,as I said, the sauce is wonderful, and I will make these again. Have done it many times before, but the sauce pretty much bit it...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Very good recipe, next time I make I'll omit (or reduce by 2/3) the amount of olives. They added much too much saltiness, but the resulting dish was still very good. This is very authentic, similar to what one of my former (Mexican) coworkers would bring to potlucks at work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Very easy to make and pretty good. One thing I did change was to not soften the tortilla in the pan with oil; this just adds unnecessary grease. Instead we usually just put them in the microwave for a minute or 2 to soften them up. I followed the rest of the recipe after that and it came out just fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      I made these for my finicky 4 year old and he scarfed them up!! I am tempted to make them every night just so he'll eat!! :o) My favorite mexican dish is cheese enchiladas and so me and him fought over the leftovers. I added another extra 1/2 can of olives to mine, I LOVE 'em!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      INCREDIBLE!!! This was my first time ever making Cheese Enchilada and they were excellent! I made my own enchilada sauce but other wise followed your recipe as written. So very good and really, really simple! I will make these again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I used smoked sausage in mine. It was good but hard to keep lit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Yummy enchiladas! Love cheese, so these are right up my alley. Unlike others, I'm not really convinced that the sauce was any better than just using the regular canned sauce. I did saute the onions to a nice soft stage which was a nice addition. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I made 'em exactly like the recipe said and was very pleased. I agree that the tomato sauce 'toned' down the enchilada sauce and provided a more subtle flavor. We liked 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      My family really enjoyed these.I am very bad at working with corn tortillas though so it turned into more of a casserole with layers instead of individual enchiladas. Still delicous though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      I made these up, used homemade enchilada sauce. Good dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Made these tonight for supper and they were very tasty. Even dh commented and he's not much on red sauce enchiladas. I used Texas Red Enchilada Sauce enchilada sauce and it was really good. Thanks, I'm sure I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      WOW!!! This is the best. I have never been able to make homemade enchiladas that taste like the Mexican restaurants. I used enchilada sauce from #42094. Made it for my family and they all thought it was better then what you get in the restaurants

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I enjoyed these... but my husband loved them! I left out the onions and olives and ended up using 24 ounces of cheese. I also used 12, 8-inch, whole wheat tortillas. I followed you freezing directions and it worked great! Thanks for a yummy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I made this recipe the other night and it was a big hit! These tasted just like the enchiladas at a really authentic Mexican restaurant we visited! This recipe is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      These tasted pretty good. Some of my family thought they needed more of a spicy flavor. Thanks TammieV. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      This was my first time making enchiladas, and these were great! I made them recently on a mission trip for youth, so we omitted the onions and olives to avoid the whining. Also, we cheated a little and used flour tortillas instead of corn so we wouldn't have to do the oil step (we made 80 enchiladas, so that would have taken a while). The flavor was excellent, and the amount of cheese was perfect! There was enough sauce and cheese left over to sprinkle on top and make it look pretty too. Everyone really loved them. I'll be making these at home for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      I don't really know what to say. 2 people loved these enchiladas, and 2 people disliked them. We served these the other night (following the directions exactly), and our guests absolutely loved them, while my husband and I did not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Easy to make and tasty! I'll keep this recipe around for the future. I made it with one tbsp chili powder and one tbsp of cumin... half with onion and half without (for the kids). I stuffed them so full I ran out of cheese for the top! My pickiest eater loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      We have made all kinds of enchiladas, but this was by far the best. My wife really liked the tomato sauce which mellowed the enchilada sauce. We also used Vidalia onions, and that took the sharp bite off. I know that we will make this again and soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      DH said throw any other cheese enchilada recipes away! I didn't add chili powder, just a little red pepper and 2 tbs of sugar so the kids would eat it. We loved it and the technique is how I will do all enchiladas from now on. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 800.2
     
    Calories from Fat 442
    55%
    Total Fat 49.1 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 29.7 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 141.5 mg
    47%
    Sodium 2034.6 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites