85 Reviews

This is fabulous! It's like a mexican lasagna with tortillas rather than pasta. Will definitely be making this often. I did make a number of changes based on other reviews. I used 2 8 x 8 pans lined with foil (one to bake, one to freeze) as this wouldn't fit in a single small pan with the additions. I browned a pound of beef with fajita seasoning, added a large onion, a can (15 oz) refried beans, 4 oz can of green chilies, roughly 2 cups frozen corn and approximately 2 tsps garlic powder. I layered that with cheese (a mix of Mexican blend and Colby/Cheddar as that's what I had) and corn tortillas per the directions but dividing between my two pans. Served with tomatoes and sour cream on the side. We loved it this way and would happily eat it every time but I could easily see leaving out the meat for a can of black beans (I'd still use taco or fajita seasoning though as I like the flavor) and we may try that for a vegetarian meal. The filling really lends itself to experimentation, a can of Rotel would be pretty tasty in there too I think!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
persi January 06, 2010

With so many high ratings I was expecting this to be better. It was decent as a quick cheap meal for myself, but it's not something I would ever serve to guests. I didn't like it enough to make again unless I have all the ingredients in the house already. Even with the black beans and sour cream that I added it wasn't very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG January 05, 2010

I make this about once a week now. It's delicious, easy to make, and incredibly fast! Everyone in my house loves it. I add a can of corn and a can of black beans to fill it out a bit, and it's an entire meal by itself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor R. October 14, 2009

This was really good! I replaced the green onions with 1/2 of a yellow onion sauteed in a little olive oil, used a 19 oz can of black beans, and subbed half of the cheddar cheese for some cubed monterey jack, because that's what I had in the house. My husband was complaining about the lack of meat, but we butt heads about that a lot since I'm vegetarian. I thought it was just fine without it, but the non-veggies might like it better with meat. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah40460 September 30, 2009

This was fabulous! I did use one pound of ground beef that had been seasoned with taco seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover August 16, 2009

OH MY!! WERE THESE GREAT!! If I could give 10 stars for taste, I would. I used whole wheat flour tortillas, reduced fat cheese, added pinto beans, a can of mexicorn and cumin. These were so, so tasty. Definitely the enchilada sauce makes this dish. We had it with brown rice and I made it in a 8x8 square dish and froze the remainder for future meals. I'll definitely make this one over and over. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty July 07, 2009

AWESOME! I followed the recipe exactly and added to the splendidness: 1 diced chicken breast; 1 can black beans; one can pinto beans; 1/2 green pepper; 1/4c sliced olives; 1 packet of chicken taco seasoning. My husband, 2yr old daughter and I ate the entire 9x7 dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SOMERTIME247 May 29, 2009

My family and I enjoyed this nice dish for dinner. I added black beans. My husband said it was a keeper. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genevieve H. May 11, 2009

Awesome! and Simple. I added black beans to it and it was a great and filling meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy Sue April 10, 2009

I skipped the green chilis but put in some black beans canned with some diced jalapenos. It went over very well with some sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amsross March 18, 2009
Cheese Enchilada Stack