85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for the first time for the Veg SIL and her two daughters - everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JHope July 26, 2011

I made this tonight for dinner and it was really good. I did add some ground beef to the layers but otherwise followed your directions. I served with with some mexican rice, refried beans and tortilla chips. So good. I think it would be good with flour tortillas too. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 25, 2011

Tasty dish, made it according to directions minus two tortillas per some previous reviews. Served refried beans on the side. Next time I'll make it with cooked chicken or ground beef. Family liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AvonladyNH May 25, 2011

I usually stick pretty close to a recipe the first go, but I did learn some things after making it the first time and the input here. The 8 oz. bag of cheese is not enough, unless you like your stuff with cheese as a garnish rather than an ooey-gooey delight. It is a little blah, I added some cumin and red pepper flakes to the 20 oz. can of mild enchilada sauce, but I wish I would have added more spice and used more of the sauce, as I had about 1/2 a can left, but I was afraid to make it soupy, so I used some restraint.

I added a 15 oz. can of red beans, the green chiles, and used the green onions. I ended up cutting a bunch of the tortillas in quarters, put the pointy ends into the corners of the pan, then putting the fan sides along the edges between, then one whole tort to cover the middle. I guess it would depend on the size of the tortilla you end up with how the layering would work out.

This is fast, easy and adaptable, I can see making this dish with many variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Humphreys May 24, 2011

I made this with a fifteen ounce can of black beans and my own enchilada sauce (one pint of it) made from ground red chilies instead of canned sauce. When I served it to my husband topped with an egg over easy, he asked for seconds! He couldn't get enough, and didn't even miss the meat. It reheats well, too, it's a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frogfun May 21, 2011

This was excellent. Not a single bite leftover! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel September 05, 2010

My husband loved this recipe. It was a bit too much cheese and tortilla for me, but he will definitely eat it again. It did have some nice flavor to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CyndiCB March 29, 2010

Yum! Yum! Yum! This is one of my favorite super fast recipes. I added a can of black beans and also used some salsa verde in place of the diced green chiles. It was fabulous and took no time at all. I did have to heat mine longer than 10 - 15 minutes, but nobody complained about waiting a few extra minutes for such a terrific dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F February 14, 2010

This is a fabulous "starter" recipe. To explain, I've never served it exactly as written. Sometimes I add refried beans to the stack, but lately, I've been serving it on the side, as I think it's more hassle than it's worth to spread the beans out in the layers. I'm the only vegetarian in the house so this is a great recipe in that I can add fajita chicken pieces to one side of the dish and leave part of it vegetarian. On the side, I usually have fresh cilantro, diced tomatoes, sour cream, extra green onions, salsa, and our favorite, sliced avocados. A quick note, I've experienced some "soupy-ness" when I do not add meat or refried beans to the recipe and I realized that the enchilada sauce I've been buying is actually 19 ounces (not 15). If you experience a "soupy" recipe, just grab some tortilla chips and eat it like a dip. It's really, really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twodaysinfebggd February 03, 2010
Cheese Enchilada Stack