85 Reviews

I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It's so versitile! I shredded a chicken breast and mixed that with a can of rinsed black beans, the green chilis and a 1/2 cup of picante sauce. Then followed the rest of the directions as written. WOW is this good and SO easy! Thanks roaringthunderbabe! We loved it! BTW - this recipe freezes well, too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne January 09, 2009

We just loved this smiple easy recipe. Great for when you do not want to cook. I also used some mexican cheese. Toped with a bit of lettuce and tomato and sour cream and taco sauce. Thank You for your wonderful recipe. Hugs

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 27, 2010

Everyone in our family loved this (even me, and I'm not an enchilada fan). I used 6 flour tortillas instead of 12 corn tortillas and added a can of black beans. The very bottom layer of tortillas didn't get as soft as the middle layers. Next time, I'll pour a little bit of enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan before adding the first layer of tortillas. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynteri December 29, 2009

Quick, easy, tasty. I left out the green chilies after reading another review and didn't miss them. I think I would bake them at a little lower temp. next time to allow then center of the dish to really get hot. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 07, 2013

These were very good. I used Dry Enchilada Sauce Mix Substitute#306854 for the sauce (adding 1 cup water and 8 oz. tomato sauce...simmer), and added some shredded chicken, corn, black beans, garlic, and cilantro. So many ways of doing this and great! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf May 16, 2013

Loved it!!! I used up bits and pieces of various cheeses. I added black beans and corn, green onions and olives. Left out the green chilies since I used green enchilada sauce. Served with sour cream on top! I doubled the recipe, but really just eyeballed the ingredients. Made in a 13x9 pan and just kept layering until I was out of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 March 19, 2013

This was so easy yet so good.

Made it tonight for my family of four. Added black beans and corn, did not have green chillies so left them out but used green enchilada sauce. I did use 10 tortillas rather than 12 and that was definitely enough. I had reduced the cheese a bit, based upon other reviews, but next time will put the full amount.

On the side had sliced olives, chopped tomato, avocado, sour cream, regular salsa, salsa verde, and sour cream so everyone could choose whatever they wanted.

All of us loved it, everyone had seconds. Which a bit was sad because I was hoping for leftovers, but we polished off the whole thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crowland January 26, 2013

This recipe was a great inspiration for dinner tonight. I used 8 corn tortillas and added some black beans and a can of chicken. Baked for about 20 minutes. It was so easy and everyone loved it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 20, 2012

I made this tonight and it was very tasty! I made it just like the recipe said, but I added ground pork with it. And I seasoned the ground pork with salt & pepper & cumin. It was Very Good! I minced the green onion so I could have it in every lil bite!:) %u2665%u2665 Next time I wanna add sliced or chopped mushrooms! :) YUM! ! !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
distant_halo78 July 10, 2012

Very yummy. Turned out perfect plus very easy to make. I added a pound of ground beef for protien. I think the corn tortillas overpower the flavor though. Would make again but would try flour instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILoveLucy12 October 27, 2011
Cheese Enchilada Stack