Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchilada Stack Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchilada Stack

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2010

      This was SOOOO good! I'd give it five stars, but the original recipe needs some substantial tweaks... First of all, 12 corn tortillas would be too many. I would suggest going with a standard 10-pack of corn tortillas. Even that was more than necessary. 8 tortillas ought to do it if that's all you have. 12 ounces of cheese would be too much (and I'm from Wisconsin!), especially if you're topping this off with sour cream. Again, go with a standard supermarket size and just get an 8-ounce bag of your favorite shredded cheese. It will be the perfect amount. 15 ounces of enchilada sauce would be the perfect amount, but most good Mexican brands come in 12 ounces, or way more than that (I think 28.5 ounces). I made this with one 12-ounce can of enchilada sauce, and about 1/4 jar of leftover salsa. As for preparation, rather than doing layers of sauce, I would recommend dipping each of the tortilla sections in the enchilada sauce, so that they get completely "sauced;" otherwise your tortillas will be a little dry! Skip the green chiles; I can't imagine those working in this recipe. I would suggest adding a can of black beans and possibly a can of corn. I would also recommend a liberal sprinkling of a good Mexican hot sauce like Valentina, Bufalo or Cholula for added flavor... But the flavors you get from the canned goods ain't gonna do it. (Of course, you must have sour cream as garnish!) One more note... If you don't have an oven, simply put this in the microwave for 10 minutes as I did. It will turn out perfect either way! Thanks for a great base recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I made this dish twice already, and I LOVE it. Cheese enchilada's are my favorite food. My only comment is that I made it once w/o the green chilies and once w/ them, and I actually prefer it w/o. But that's just my personal choice. I used the medium heat enchilada sauce, and I found that that adds enough heat that the green chilies just end up being a little overkill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is so good. I browned lean ground beef with taco seasoning and added it in 2 layers. I used part-skim mozzarella and part-skim cheddar. I used homemade enchilada sauce. This is so easy to do. Thanks roaringthunderbabe :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Gee, what else can I possibly add? This was unbeliveably awesome! My hubby, since I taught him to cook(serious)likes to cook for himself.He goes hiking a few times a week, and I've gotten into the habit of cooking for him when he goes hiking. I made this last night for him. He never said a word all through dinner. When he was finished, he said "I loved it."!! Just to clear up something, he has loved my cooking for nearly 20 years! It must be a "man' thing!lol. I make up "taco meat" and freeze it. I took some out and added it to the recipe, and if I do say so myself, it really was fabulous. Not to say that eating it like it was, wasn't great, because I kept a corner for myself without the meat, and it is just sooo good! Thank you so much for a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Very good and very easy to make. I added some black beans and corn and it made a nice vegetarian dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This recipe was a hit at my house! I added: ground beef with taco seasoning, black beans, and corn and didn't use the green chilies. I also added some monterey jack cheese on the top, and served this casserole with light sour cream. The leftovers were yummy as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Fast, yummy, and when served with green salad, really does make a great weeknight meal! I used Easy Cheesy Red Enchilada Sauce and topped each serving with sliced olives, chopped tomato, and sour cream. HINT: Be sure and let this stand about five minutes after removing from the oven so that your layers don't slide around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Awesome base recipe, versatile enough to throw together a handful of ingredients and still taste great! I always omit the onions, mix my green or red sauce, add a can of black beans 1/2 tsp or more of cumin and then some chicken if I have it. Add some chili powder, add corn... whatever you have on hand, it'll still turn out tasty. Mix all together and dump mixture between layers with a handful of cheese. I love the tortillas to be thick between layers, so 12 suites my taste fine. I've never measured this recipe, and no matter how I make it it's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      My first words upon tasting this was "Wow, this is good!" Using the amounts given, I was able to fill a 9x13 dish: 3 layers of 4 tortillas each. I only put green chilies on half as I wasn't sure if they would make it too spicy. I thought it was good with or without. Used 2 cups of homemade enchilada sauce. It was perfect. The only thing I noticed was that it was very rich and we got full fast, which was fine because I needed the leftovers for dinner today :) Served with a big green salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I made this very close as directed. I added a handful or two of black beans and used 8 oz of cheese. Bad decision to buy a smaller bag of cheese!!! It just seemed like sauce and soggy tortillas to me. If I ever make this again, I would add ALOT more cheese, omit the green onion (just didn't like the texture this added) and add diced onion, up the beans to make this have more of a substantial bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It's so versitile! I shredded a chicken breast and mixed that with a can of rinsed black beans, the green chilis and a 1/2 cup of picante sauce. Then followed the rest of the directions as written. WOW is this good and SO easy! Thanks roaringthunderbabe! We loved it! BTW - this recipe freezes well, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      We just loved this smiple easy recipe. Great for when you do not want to cook. I also used some mexican cheese. Toped with a bit of lettuce and tomato and sour cream and taco sauce. Thank You for your wonderful recipe. Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Everyone in our family loved this (even me, and I'm not an enchilada fan). I used 6 flour tortillas instead of 12 corn tortillas and added a can of black beans. The very bottom layer of tortillas didn't get as soft as the middle layers. Next time, I'll pour a little bit of enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan before adding the first layer of tortillas. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Quick, easy, tasty. I left out the green chilies after reading another review and didn't miss them. I think I would bake them at a little lower temp. next time to allow then center of the dish to really get hot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      These were very good. I used Dry Enchilada Sauce Mix Substitute#306854 for the sauce (adding 1 cup water and 8 oz. tomato sauce...simmer), and added some shredded chicken, corn, black beans, garlic, and cilantro. So many ways of doing this and great! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Loved it!!! I used up bits and pieces of various cheeses. I added black beans and corn, green onions and olives. Left out the green chilies since I used green enchilada sauce. Served with sour cream on top! I doubled the recipe, but really just eyeballed the ingredients. Made in a 13x9 pan and just kept layering until I was out of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      This was so easy yet so good.

      Made it tonight for my family of four. Added black beans and corn, did not have green chillies so left them out but used green enchilada sauce. I did use 10 tortillas rather than 12 and that was definitely enough. I had reduced the cheese a bit, based upon other reviews, but next time will put the full amount.

      On the side had sliced olives, chopped tomato, avocado, sour cream, regular salsa, salsa verde, and sour cream so everyone could choose whatever they wanted.

      All of us loved it, everyone had seconds. Which a bit was sad because I was hoping for leftovers, but we polished off the whole thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      This recipe was a great inspiration for dinner tonight. I used 8 corn tortillas and added some black beans and a can of chicken. Baked for about 20 minutes. It was so easy and everyone loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      I made this tonight and it was very tasty! I made it just like the recipe said, but I added ground pork with it. And I seasoned the ground pork with salt & pepper & cumin. It was Very Good! I minced the green onion so I could have it in every lil bite!:) %u2665%u2665 Next time I wanna add sliced or chopped mushrooms! :) YUM! ! !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Very yummy. Turned out perfect plus very easy to make. I added a pound of ground beef for protien. I think the corn tortillas overpower the flavor though. Would make again but would try flour instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchilada Stack

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.8
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    48%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 89.4 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1490.0 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites