110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT December 06, 2007

This was good. My husband and 2 year old really liked it. It was great to come home to dinner all ready to go with very little clean up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingmama #3 December 03, 2007

Yet another five star review for this soup. What I really love about it is that it's so easy...set it and forget it kind of soup. I didn't use a slow cooker, I just threw everything into a pot and cooked it on low until all of the ingredients were soft and warm. Very yummy, wonderful for the cold weather that we're getting right now. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am November 27, 2007

Very good, but I made it too spicy. I left out the jalapeno but used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. The enchilada sauce said 'mild' on the can, but this soup made my eyes water. Also, the broth got weird-looking in the leftovers that I froze. Maybe because there was some shredded cheese in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 04, 2007

DELICIOUS, easy to throw together and versatile!! I have some picky eaters in my house, so I left out the onion and the bell peppers and substituted Rotel for the chopped tomatoes and jalapeno and it still turned fantastic. There are picky eaters in my house who think they don't like tomatoes, but they didn't even realize there were tomatoes in it! Topped with sour cream and shredded cheese with flour tortillas for dipping. I will make this very often this winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks November 01, 2007

EXCELLENT! I didn't have any bell peppers on hand and since I didn't feel like chopping onions anyway I just added a full cup of this stuff I have called "Meal Starters" that has chopped peppers, celery and onions in it. Other than that I didn't change anything! It was SO good! I think next time I make this I will make simple cheese enchiladas and just pour this over the top! YUMMMMMM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea October 29, 2007

I added a pound of browned ground beef to this as well. Had my doubts for a bit as color was pinkish rather than red....but...as rare as it is that hubby and I both agree on taste, this was a keeper! Will defenitely be making this again, and looking forward to leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazy gourmet October 28, 2007

We ate it with crushed tortilla chips and guac. I used two cups of cheddar only (by accident). I also used tomatillo enchilada sauce as that was what DH picked up. I will reduce the milk, too, next time. I used one cup of frozen onion/pepper/celery mix, which made this recipe extremely quick and easy. I thought it could have used a little more kick so I'll use Rotel next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodsmi October 26, 2007

I love slow cooker meals, and this one is no exception! Very tasty and easy! Left out the corn, as I don't like corn in soups. Yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC October 22, 2007

This was ok. Due to time restraints, I cooked mine for 3 hours on high. The onions and peppers still had a little crunch to them, so I might saute them a little first next time. Would be very good with some diced chicken breast, as other reviewers have mentioned. I also might cut the milk down to 1c next time, to get a thicker soup. Thanks Di!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer October 07, 2007
Cheese Enchilada Chowder