Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchilada Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2006

      I was going to make another soup but didn' have on of the items needed, so I came to my favorite site, Recipezaar and found your recipe. This is sooooo good. Lots of flavor. My husband couldn't stop raving about it. I love your recipes NurseDi and like you I love cheese:) Thanks for another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This is a nice change from the usual soups I make. I think it would be better with shredded chicken or beef added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      This recipe was so wonderful that I had to email it to my dad the next day because I knew he would love it. He made it two days later and also had rave reviews about it. The changes I made was to add boiled and shredded taco seasoned chicken. I ommitted the jalopeno pepper and I used half canned enchilada sauce and half "Mexican Enchilada Sauce" (recipe on zaar). I found out too late that my can of sauce was too small for the recipe so zaar saved me the trouble of going to the store. We also added the cheese to our individual bowls instead of the whole chowder. This was sooo good. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Ok this soup really dosen't need another 5 star review but I can't help myself! This was great! I left out the cheese and just sprinkled it on the top to cut down on fat an calories. It was soooo tasty! I used a homemade enchilada sauce (Zaar #12877)I had leftover from enchiladas this week b/c another reviewer suggested that canned sauce made it salty. I love soup and this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      This was soo yummy! I made up a pot today, and even my picky eater daughter wolfed down a bowl. It was super easy to make, and came out wonderful, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      I loved this soup, which is pretty impressive since I tend to shy away from non-clear soups. I used reduced fat velveeta because I find it easier to deal with in soups than shredded cheese. I used some leftover homemade mole-based enchilada sauce instead of the canned stuff (in fact, I had just enough left for this recipe -- I tend to use soups as a way to clean out the fridge lol). I also added some leftover seasoned shredded chicken (I try to keep shredded chicken in the fridge for miscellaneous quick meals). I left off the tortilla chips and guacamole, but did use dollops of Mexican crema and a bit of the shredded cheese on top. DH didn't enjoy it as much as I did, but he's just weird and picky about soups for some reason lol. It may have been the black beans, because he doesn't care for those, but I love 'em. It's okay, I enjoyed this too much to let his thumbs-down affect my five stars! Maybe next time I'll just make a half-batch for myself and let him fend for himself that night. :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      Made this last night and it was great. I didn't stir in the cheese, but just added it to the individual bowls and topped with sour cream. I did add another can of beans and corn as we like thicker chowders. Served with sweet cornbread...what a treat for a cold night!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      Didn't read the directions till dinner time, so instead of using the crockpot, I made it on the stovetop and sauteed the onions first. This soup has excellent flavor and was quick & easy! We left out the bell and jalapeno peppers because of the kids, but added about 2 oz. of diced green chilies. I cut back on the cheese to make it a touch healthier and so used just one cup of shredded mexican cheese. We all loved it including our 2 year old and picky 6 year old! We'll definitely make it again!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Added ground beef and we loved it! This will be a regular this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      This was another great recipe of Nurse Di's. I didn't have jalapeno's so I chopped up some cayenne. My DH insisted I double it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I didn't take the time to review this recipe before. It was an absolute hit with all the family from the first time I made it (about 6 months ago). Even my mother who can't cook and can't follow a recipe found this one to be easy and absolutely delicious. What I really love about it is there are no potatoes in the recipe 'cause I hate them. So 5 stars or more for this recipe that both me and my mom have it at least once a month. It's a big hit with everybody!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      This will be a new regular at my house! So yummy! My 5yo ate 2 bowls, and never even noticed the onions!! My 3yo also loved it. I did tone it down by omitting the jalapenos. I also didn't have peppers, and I had to substitute romano beans for the black beans. It was so easy and so very, very good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      This dish was very tasty. I did add 1lb. of ground round to it as I thought DH would like it better that way. I even forgot to add the cheese and it was still very good. Will add the cheese tonight when I warm up the leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Very yummy! I cooked it on the stove and just used a bag of mixed veggies in place of veggies. Yummy! I think we will freeze some of it also

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Hubby and I both give this a big thumbs up!! My husband isn't a huge corn fan, so I was worried he wouldn't like it... he devoured 2 big bowls! I did it in the crockpot as directed but mine didn't take 6-8 hours. I started it at 10am and it was done by 1 (I taste tested- couldn't help it!).. everything was totally cooked through and hot. I know the newer crock pots cook hotter in a shoter amount of time so I'm guessing that was it :) So I turned it to the warm setting for a few hours and it was perfect. I did change 2 things - instead of adding the can of diced tomatoes, I ran it through my food chopped... so it kinda made crushed tomatoes :) My hubs doesn't like tomato chunks. I didnt have monterey jack on hand so I just used 2 cups of sharp cheddar. I topped my bowl with sour cream and crushed tortilla chips... I'll be freezing the leftovers!! Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      My entire family loved this! I made it just as the recipe is listed and it was a big hit. Next time I am going to experiment and add some cooked chicken or cooked ground beef. It is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      I am going back and reviewing recipes I have made on and off for the last year. This soup was very hearty, and has really nice flavors. My favorite was biting into corn pieces. I think next time I might double the corn and cut back on the enchilida sauce (a tad salty). Otherwise it has become a real favorite for me. It also freezes so well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Yum! Very easy to make and even the kids liked it. Didn't have Monterey Jack, so I substituted mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This soup was so easy to make and it had the best flavor. It tasted like I had spent hours slaving over the stove. 5 Hours in the crockpot and it was perfect. I used one jalapeno just as the recipe called for and it had just the right bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      Very good and easy soup. I did this on the stovetop, so I started by sauteing the onion & bell pepper a bit before adding everything else. For stovetop, just cook until heated through then add cheese. I had to add some salt (used low sodium cream of mushroom) and also added a dash of cumin. I used pickled jalapeno (as the fresh ones in the stores around here are tasteless) which gave it a nice kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.9
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    40%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1399.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites