110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy to put together -- nice on a cold winter's night. I used Aroostook's Condensed Cream Soup Mix #25653 instead of the cream of chicken soup. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy February 07, 2008

5+++ stars from my husband and I! The only things I did differently were to make my own red enchilada sauce; I used one can of corn (drained) and 1 1/2 cups of skim milk. I didn't have a jalepeno or monteray jack cheese, so I used mozzarella along with old cheddar. The end result was creamy with just a hint of zing. Served alongside Taco Stuffed Shells, also from this site. Looking forward to leftovers this week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada January 27, 2008

Excellent! My husband ate 3 bowls of this and he originally seemed skeptical of the combination of ingredients! He LOVED it - he said 5 stars + more! We will definitely be making it again and again! Even my 5 year old ate it including trying the beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose January 25, 2008

We loved this soup! The flavor was wonderful and it was so easy to put together. I omitted the bell peppers and jalapeno pepper, but used diced tomatoes with green chilies instead. It was still fairly spicy. I also only used about 1/2 of the cheese. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 16, 2008

The best darn soup/chowder ever! I admit I cheated I used pinto beans and used some ground beef..we love our meat in our soup/chowder!!!! But the flavor was to die for!!!!! My hubby is not to big into any soups or chowder but said this was so darn good! For me to keep the recipe and make again! Thanks for a great flavored soup/chowder! Will keep as a favorite! Must try for everyone!!!!! Wink Wink!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonjovi4ever January 09, 2008

Easy & delicious! I followed recipe exact and my whole family loved it. I served it with chicken taquitos and it was a perfect meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coryndawn January 04, 2008

This is *out of the ballpark* good and ever so easy to put together! For a weekend crowd, I doubled the recipe, more or less, and added southwest seasoned precooked chicken pieces. Served with crunchy tortilla strips, no one ever guessed that canned anything was involved in making this hearty chowder. My market did not have the 19-ounce cans of enchilada sauce so I used the smaller size of 3 different brands to experiment. Hands down the Hatch brand had the richest color and was the most flavorful followed by the _will do in a pinch_ Wal-Mart house brand (Great Value I think it is) with an insipid Old El Paso coming in a dismal third. I enjoyed playing with this and the diners *really* enjoyed eating it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie January 02, 2008

Very easy and has great flavor. Thanks for a great recipe! I will definately make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom December 30, 2007

I had last min. dinner guests and they really enjoyed this soup. My family (two kids, too!) enjoyed it, too. I did not add all the enchilada sauce (used Safeway Select Taqueria) so it would be on the milder side. You would not know that this has canned soup in it! I served with bowls of green onions, cheese, and cornbread. Thanks for posting! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado December 13, 2007

Outstanding. So simple to make and made enough for two dinners. Thank you for sharing, the whole family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plannermom December 12, 2007
Cheese Enchilada Chowder