111 Reviews

A delicious and satisfying chowder that's easy to make! I sauteed the onion and bell pepper in bacon fat then combined all the ingredients and simmered them awhile on my stovetop. Before adding the cheese I shook together some masa harina and water then stirred in the resulting paste to thicken our soup. We enjoyed it very much ~ Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 27, 2008

Very good and easy to prepare. Although I'm sure it would have been good as written my husband needs meat in everything so I added chicken to this soup- cooked 4 breasts in chicken broth with onions. Then diced it and added to crock pot. I also added a can of cream corn! Everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Redman October 21, 2008

Not much to this, very easy to make. It needed meat so I added some chorizo that I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pletcha October 18, 2008

Fabulous! I have made it the last 2 weekends... I am NOT a soup person, but love mexican food and needed something with little prep and flexible serving time. This was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cocoa Connoisseur October 13, 2008

Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terdinski May 16, 2008

Another 5 stars from me. This was delicious and easy to make. I used a combination of red, yellow, and green peppers (had on hand). I used 98% fat free chicken soup and 2% milk cheddar. Excellent. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auvan May 09, 2008

This doesn't probably need another rating...however...it was too good to not comment. The kids loved it! I added diced tomatoes with jalapenos for some kick...and used hot enchilada sauce...we love spicy here. I added a combination of red and yellow peppers as that is what I had on hand. Also added some green onions for color. Added some leftover shredded turkey. This is a great recipe...thanks for sharing. We will be making this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thea March 30, 2008

Very good! My son who is rather picky asked for seconds so that's a very good sign. I used onion powder instead of onions to make him happy and made my own enchilada sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus March 28, 2008

This was excellent! I actually made this for our Feb. OAMC. I combined everything and divided it amongst several freezer bags. After it thawed out in the fridge, I poured it into the crockpot so that dinner was ready when I got home. Worked perfectly! Thanks for posting another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me & Mr. Jones March 01, 2008

This was fantastic! I like that it's hearty and not watery. I made this for a midwifes luncheon and it went over really well! This is a fantastic vegetarian dish as you have a complete protein between the beans and the corn! I made it in my 22qt cooker and it freezes wonderfully! I think I may add more cheese next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot February 12, 2008
Cheese Enchilada Chowder