Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchilada Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2007

      We loved this. It is easy to put together and contains ingredients that I always have. I did add some chicken, cumin and garlic. I also used a 28 oz can of tomatoes. This will be on our winter schedule. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was a huge hit at my house. It was delicious with just a bit of heat to it and was so easy to prepare. I omitted the bell peppers because we are not fans of them so I added an extra can of tomatoes w/jalapeños, I served it with cornbread instead of the tortilla chips. Other than those 2 small adaptions I followed the recipe as written. I froze the extra in single serving freezer bags, it freezes wonderfully and reheats perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe. We will making it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This was great and soooo easy! I added some shredded chicken and fresh cilantro. I only used 1 cup of cheese (I love it, but I wanted to cut the fat a bit). I topped it with a scoop of rice (Baked Cilantro Lime Rice (Low Fat), not baked, but made on stovetop) and some diced avocado. Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Fantastic!! We'll be having this often. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      This was just fantastic Di!!!! I made it as written, just adding more cheese!!!! I'm gonna make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Delicious! I used 2 14oz cans of El Paso enchilada sauce,1 mild and 1 hot, b/c I could not find a 19oz container and I wanted to create a 'medium' spicy soup for kids + adults. I chopped pickled jalepeno slices instead of fresh, and used more like 1 cup green bell pepper. It was awesome. My DH and I added dashes of Red Hot to spice it up even more. It was so rich it could go without the sour cream,guac and tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      This soup was soooo good. It had just the right amount of spice, and it was so easy to prepare. Thank You for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Yummy!Yummy!Yummy! I used 4cups Mex 4 cheese mix. I chopped up extra peppers and they are in the freezer waiting for the next time. Tortillas are a must. I will definitely make this again. Just love those Crock Pot recipes. MaryAnne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This was pretty good. I gave it 4 stars just because it needed tweeking for us. Garlic was a MUST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Well, NurseDi, you've done it again! Wow, was this ever good! I used cheddar cheese soup instead of the cream of chicken and I did not add the jalepeno. The soup had a nice "kick" to it because the enchilada sauce that I used was spicy. I also added some diced cooked chicken and I cooked it on the stove top for an hour. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I brought this to school on a staff work day and it was a HUGE hit! I did, however, leave out the bell peppers because I don't like them cooked. I also substituted frozen chopped onions and one can of diced jalapenos for the fresh ingredients. So easy to throw together with great results! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Very good! Two of my family members do not like cheese (I know..who doesn't like cheese?), so I added the cheese just to the individual bowls of the family members that like it. We will definately make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      this soup was worth 10 stars! I could not find a fresh jalapeno so I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies in it..it was plenty hot enough for us..Had the neighbors over and they had to take the recipe home...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      My Hubby loved this. He is a bit of a hearty soup guy so I added some browned ground chicken. It was so easy to make I put it together in the Morning and when we came home from work, Viola, Dinner! I will be making this again soon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Love this chowder! I used green bell pepper, jalapeno slices with seeds, healthy choice cream of chicken soup, skim milk, pepper jack cheese, multi grain tostidos and fat free sour cream. This was so easy and full of flavor. It smelled just like the cheese enchiladas at my fave mex restaurant. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This is a favorite in our house now! It's so easy and tasty! I cook some chicken breasts with salsa in separate crockpot and shred the chicken for a "topping" for the carnivores in our household. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      Delicious! Like other reviewers, I made this on the stove rather than crockpot. It is a great dish to make after a long day at work, as it can be assembled quickly with a minimum amount of cleanup. Vegetarian DH loved it. I'll be keeping this in heavy rotation! Thanks NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      This chowder came together in the crockpot very quickly. Wasn't quite as thick as I wished it would be, but still great topped with sour cream and guacamole. DH tore up some tortillas and put on bottom of his bowl(s)! Thanks NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Loved this soup. I couldn't wait for crockpot cooking so I cooked on stovetop for 45 minutes. 1 jalapeno adds just right amount of bite. Good, quick easy soup for take to work lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This soup really warmed us up so it did it's job! I added 1 1/2 pounds of chicken and shredded it at the end of cooking time. I also skipped the bell peppers and used diced tomatoes with jalapeno added to it. Great flavor! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.9
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    40%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1399.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites