Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchilada Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2008

      Very easy to put together -- nice on a cold winter's night. I used Aroostook's Condensed Cream Soup Mix #25653 instead of the cream of chicken soup. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      5+++ stars from my husband and I! The only things I did differently were to make my own red enchilada sauce; I used one can of corn (drained) and 1 1/2 cups of skim milk. I didn't have a jalepeno or monteray jack cheese, so I used mozzarella along with old cheddar. The end result was creamy with just a hint of zing. Served alongside Taco Stuffed Shells, also from this site. Looking forward to leftovers this week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Excellent! My husband ate 3 bowls of this and he originally seemed skeptical of the combination of ingredients! He LOVED it - he said 5 stars + more! We will definitely be making it again and again! Even my 5 year old ate it including trying the beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      We loved this soup! The flavor was wonderful and it was so easy to put together. I omitted the bell peppers and jalapeno pepper, but used diced tomatoes with green chilies instead. It was still fairly spicy. I also only used about 1/2 of the cheese. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      The best darn soup/chowder ever! I admit I cheated I used pinto beans and used some ground beef..we love our meat in our soup/chowder!!!! But the flavor was to die for!!!!! My hubby is not to big into any soups or chowder but said this was so darn good! For me to keep the recipe and make again! Thanks for a great flavored soup/chowder! Will keep as a favorite! Must try for everyone!!!!! Wink Wink!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Easy & delicious! I followed recipe exact and my whole family loved it. I served it with chicken taquitos and it was a perfect meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This is *out of the ballpark* good and ever so easy to put together! For a weekend crowd, I doubled the recipe, more or less, and added southwest seasoned precooked chicken pieces. Served with crunchy tortilla strips, no one ever guessed that canned anything was involved in making this hearty chowder. My market did not have the 19-ounce cans of enchilada sauce so I used the smaller size of 3 different brands to experiment. Hands down the Hatch brand had the richest color and was the most flavorful followed by the _will do in a pinch_ Wal-Mart house brand (Great Value I think it is) with an insipid Old El Paso coming in a dismal third. I enjoyed playing with this and the diners *really* enjoyed eating it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Very easy and has great flavor. Thanks for a great recipe! I will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I had last min. dinner guests and they really enjoyed this soup. My family (two kids, too!) enjoyed it, too. I did not add all the enchilada sauce (used Safeway Select Taqueria) so it would be on the milder side. You would not know that this has canned soup in it! I served with bowls of green onions, cheese, and cornbread. Thanks for posting! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Outstanding. So simple to make and made enough for two dinners. Thank you for sharing, the whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This was good. My husband and 2 year old really liked it. It was great to come home to dinner all ready to go with very little clean up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Yet another five star review for this soup. What I really love about it is that it's so easy...set it and forget it kind of soup. I didn't use a slow cooker, I just threw everything into a pot and cooked it on low until all of the ingredients were soft and warm. Very yummy, wonderful for the cold weather that we're getting right now. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Very good, but I made it too spicy. I left out the jalapeno but used a can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos. The enchilada sauce said 'mild' on the can, but this soup made my eyes water. Also, the broth got weird-looking in the leftovers that I froze. Maybe because there was some shredded cheese in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      DELICIOUS, easy to throw together and versatile!! I have some picky eaters in my house, so I left out the onion and the bell peppers and substituted Rotel for the chopped tomatoes and jalapeno and it still turned fantastic. There are picky eaters in my house who think they don't like tomatoes, but they didn't even realize there were tomatoes in it! Topped with sour cream and shredded cheese with flour tortillas for dipping. I will make this very often this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      EXCELLENT! I didn't have any bell peppers on hand and since I didn't feel like chopping onions anyway I just added a full cup of this stuff I have called "Meal Starters" that has chopped peppers, celery and onions in it. Other than that I didn't change anything! It was SO good! I think next time I make this I will make simple cheese enchiladas and just pour this over the top! YUMMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I added a pound of browned ground beef to this as well. Had my doubts for a bit as color was pinkish rather than red....but...as rare as it is that hubby and I both agree on taste, this was a keeper! Will defenitely be making this again, and looking forward to leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      We ate it with crushed tortilla chips and guac. I used two cups of cheddar only (by accident). I also used tomatillo enchilada sauce as that was what DH picked up. I will reduce the milk, too, next time. I used one cup of frozen onion/pepper/celery mix, which made this recipe extremely quick and easy. I thought it could have used a little more kick so I'll use Rotel next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I love slow cooker meals, and this one is no exception! Very tasty and easy! Left out the corn, as I don't like corn in soups. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      This was ok. Due to time restraints, I cooked mine for 3 hours on high. The onions and peppers still had a little crunch to them, so I might saute them a little first next time. Would be very good with some diced chicken breast, as other reviewers have mentioned. I also might cut the milk down to 1c next time, to get a thicker soup. Thanks Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.9
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    40%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1399.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes