110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great flavor! I added ground beef cooked with the onion. I used the suggestion by another reviewer and used mexican velveeta for the cheese. I left out the jalapeno...not my thing. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'away May 15, 2009

YUMMMMM! I added a can of chicken to it and used a can of green chiles in lieu of the jalapeno. Just before serving, I sliced tortillas into strips and put it on top w/sour cream and then served it with Fritos. It was awesome and amazing and will be made, a lot! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P February 24, 2009

I made mine a chicken and cheese chowder. This was a BIG hit with my 3 kids. They are pretty picky eaters too. My 8 year old decided that black beans were delicious because of this soup. There were only a couple of changes I made. I added 2 chicken breast (cooked and chopped), 2 serrano peppers instead of jalapeno (that's what the grocery store had), and I added mexican velveeta (8 oz) instead of the cheddar. And next time I would probably add about a teaspoon or so of salt. I loved it with some sour cream and tortilla chips in my bowl. YUMMY. Oh yeah, I used one 10 oz can of rotel tomatoes because that's what I keep in my cupboard. The kids are already asking if we can have leftovers for dinner tomorrow night.....THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance February 18, 2009

didn't add the corn and used salsa instead of diced tom and chili's (used what i had) and tossed in some left over turkey i wanted to use. Everyone LOVED it. My DS had to helpings... So it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules211 February 10, 2009

this is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncamyamy February 09, 2009

My DGS loved this chowder and insisted that we have it again over the weekend, so I made it again today and he is chowing on it now. He's humming up a storm as the eats, so I am guessing he is in chowder heaven at the moment! I have to admit, it is mighty tasty and a new favorite with both of us. DD will be happy when she digs in too, as she loves anything with a Mexican taste and this will do the trick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyt57 January 04, 2009

This was good. I used extra hot rotel so omitted the jalapeno; wow was it HOT. I totally forgot to add the cheese, so duh, guess I just had vegetable enchilada soup. Still good and since I used skim milk and reduced fat cream soup it wasn't too bad for me either :) I think an extra can of black beans would be an awesome addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT December 04, 2008

This is a good "chowder" but I felt as if it was missing something...so did my hubby. We think maybe some cumin or something like that to round out the flavor. I used pinto beans in place of the black beans as no one in my family is a big fan of black beans and I used two cans as I thought the soup needed a little more stuff. Overall, it does have a nice taste and it is very easy to put together. I think next time I will substitute Rotel tomatoes for the regular tomatoes and add a bit of cumin. Thank you for an easy weeknight dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean December 03, 2008

Very good and filling. I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken, and it still turned out great! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie_and_frank November 01, 2008

A delicious and satisfying chowder that's easy to make! I sauteed the onion and bell pepper in bacon fat then combined all the ingredients and simmered them awhile on my stovetop. Before adding the cheese I shook together some masa harina and water then stirred in the resulting paste to thicken our soup. We enjoyed it very much ~ Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 27, 2008
Cheese Enchilada Chowder