110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good and easy! I added a can of chicken for more of a hearty meal. next time i think I will add another can of black bean to instead of the chicken. I also added only one cup of cheese to make it healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherYummy March 10, 2010

Wow, this was great! I subbed a veggie cream soup for the cream of chicken, but otherwise left it unchanged. Delicious and creamy, even when made with skim milk. I used mild enchilada sauce this time, but next time I might try a hotter type. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian February 27, 2010

Holy Moly, this soup is fantastic. I mean, really fantastic. I skipped the jalepeno and did a small can of green chiles instead (I prefer the flavor). I used yellow & orange pepper, and added some chicken. Served with quesadillas. This is an excellent soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven February 03, 2010

This was delicious!!! I had a bunch of odds and ends in the fridge that needed to be used up and this recipe did just that. I added shredded chicken (leftovers) to make it more hearty. My 5 yo even had seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slingmama December 16, 2009

I've made this several times now. My family loves it, especially my 11 year old. I sauteed the onions and peppers, because the 1st time they were too crunchy. I've also had to substitute creamed corn for the frozen corn. Delicious with or without cooked chicken. Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitsel8 November 08, 2009

Yum, Yum...!!! I made this vegetarian-style by using cream of mushroom soup. It is so easy to throw together in the Crock Pot and makes a lot! The boyfriend loved it and we both agreed this was going to be made again soon! I also left out the jalapeno pepper, because I like things more mild. The boyfriend added Tabasco sauce to his bowl. Thanks for such an easy, tasty, fulfilling dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel November 05, 2009

We really enjoyed this. Crock pot recipes like this, where I just have to throw in all the ingredients, then open the lid and...voila - dinner! are my favorites. I added a second can of beans, as per other reviewers suggestions, and mine was nicely thickened. I also chose to add the cheese as a topping rather than mix it into the soup. It's a great dinner on a cold night. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F October 19, 2009

We really loved this, however mine turned out a bit too runny and not enough beans and stuff to make it feel thick and hearty. I followed the recipe. This may be a family personal taste thing. Anyways, I just added in another can of beans and some cut up sausages and that did the trick. I thickened it a bit with corn starch. The troops loved this and made me promise to make it again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm October 11, 2009

When my DF Mrs. Chance came for a visit we made this dish together before we went out shopping for the day. We doubled the recipe and I froze half the ingredients for and even faster crock pot recipe for another day! We added chicken and more pepper. When we came home from shopping we were o so pleased with our dinner. This is a recipe that we will make regularly in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmomof2 September 07, 2009

I really liked this soup but DH was not so fond of it. He said it would be really good if I added some meat. For him it is just not dinner if it does not have meat! I am going to add some chicken next time I make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover August 29, 2009
Cheese Enchilada Chowder