Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Enchilada Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2011

      This was SOOO good! I used cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicke (to make vegetarian) and used a poblano pepper instead of bell. It was really good, but I felt like it was missing just a little something...I added just a dash of Hidden Valley Ranch Fiesta Ranch seasoning packet and that made it perfect! Not to mention it was SUPER easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Very good! My Dad said he liked it a lot. I thought it was a bit over cooked at 8 hours. I would like to try it at 4 hours. I think the veggies were over cooked at 8 hours. The onion was gone, couldn't find any left. the beans were starting to blow up. The flavor was really good. Understand my crock pot is a beast. Dad said it was a do over dish, meaning he liked it, I was iffy.. I think it is very good and will try it on a day where I won't be gone so long. <br/><br/>Look forward to mastering the veggie version, then I'll try it with some grilled chicken. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Delicious delicious delicious! What a fantastically easy and tummy warming chowder! So glad I discovered this in October...it's going to be a staple this winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Super yummy! I added some chicken and used Ro-tel tomatoes since I didn't have any jalapeno peppers. I mixed everything together the night before then turned on the crock pot the next morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

    • on October 28, 2011

      I made this chowder the other night and we all loved it! I added leftover chicken to make it more hearty. I almost left out the green peppers because I'm not a huge fan of peppers and neither are my kids, but I'm glad I added them because they added color, if nothing else. All five of us give this recipe thumbs way, way up! Thanks so much for the new family favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      My husband and I loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      We made this chowder the other night and we enjoyed it. I did add some ground beef to this but otherwise followed the directions. It is a good soup and we will make again. I think chicken will be good in this too. We served this with corn chips, shredded cheese, avacados, chopped onions and sour cream. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I had high hopes for this from all the great reviews, and I just didn't care for it. I followed the recipe, except for using a frozen pepper/onion mix, cream of mushroom soup and subbing some velveeta for the cheese. The texture was good, it smelled great, but I just couldn't eat 1 whole bowl of it. I think I'd like it better as a dip with a bowl of tortilla chips. Sorry for the iffy review - just wasn't a recipe suited for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Really good and easy! I added a can of chicken for more of a hearty meal. next time i think I will add another can of black bean to instead of the chicken. I also added only one cup of cheese to make it healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Wow, this was great! I subbed a veggie cream soup for the cream of chicken, but otherwise left it unchanged. Delicious and creamy, even when made with skim milk. I used mild enchilada sauce this time, but next time I might try a hotter type. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Holy Moly, this soup is fantastic. I mean, really fantastic. I skipped the jalepeno and did a small can of green chiles instead (I prefer the flavor). I used yellow & orange pepper, and added some chicken. Served with quesadillas. This is an excellent soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      This was delicious!!! I had a bunch of odds and ends in the fridge that needed to be used up and this recipe did just that. I added shredded chicken (leftovers) to make it more hearty. My 5 yo even had seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I've made this several times now. My family loves it, especially my 11 year old. I sauteed the onions and peppers, because the 1st time they were too crunchy. I've also had to substitute creamed corn for the frozen corn. Delicious with or without cooked chicken. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Yum, Yum...!!! I made this vegetarian-style by using cream of mushroom soup. It is so easy to throw together in the Crock Pot and makes a lot! The boyfriend loved it and we both agreed this was going to be made again soon! I also left out the jalapeno pepper, because I like things more mild. The boyfriend added Tabasco sauce to his bowl. Thanks for such an easy, tasty, fulfilling dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. Crock pot recipes like this, where I just have to throw in all the ingredients, then open the lid and...voila - dinner! are my favorites. I added a second can of beans, as per other reviewers suggestions, and mine was nicely thickened. I also chose to add the cheese as a topping rather than mix it into the soup. It's a great dinner on a cold night. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      We really loved this, however mine turned out a bit too runny and not enough beans and stuff to make it feel thick and hearty. I followed the recipe. This may be a family personal taste thing. Anyways, I just added in another can of beans and some cut up sausages and that did the trick. I thickened it a bit with corn starch. The troops loved this and made me promise to make it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      When my DF Mrs. Chance came for a visit we made this dish together before we went out shopping for the day. We doubled the recipe and I froze half the ingredients for and even faster crock pot recipe for another day! We added chicken and more pepper. When we came home from shopping we were o so pleased with our dinner. This is a recipe that we will make regularly in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I really liked this soup but DH was not so fond of it. He said it would be really good if I added some meat. For him it is just not dinner if it does not have meat! I am going to add some chicken next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Enchilada Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (459 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.9
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    40%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 51.9 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1399.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites