10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AWESOME bread that goes great with soup or stew! The amount of salt for the bread dough is not listed, so I used 1/2 teaspoon. The topping is really yummy. I tweaked the seasoning amounts and used a mix of mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. Next time DH would like me to include sliced jalapenos with the melted cheeses. Another reviewer suggests dipping the bread in pizza sauce. What a great idea! With lots of room for creativity, I can tell already that I'll be making this recipe often. Thanks so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 09, 2009

The bread turned out very nice and soft. Kids loved it. So easy to do. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 05, 2009

Loved this bread! Easy to make and a hit with the whole family. Served it with a green salad and lemon dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dagac4 June 09, 2007

We really enjoyed this bread. I used parsley, garlic and parmesan cheese for the topping. At first I was a bit concerned because the bread had not risen very much (I usually let my bread rise in the fridge), but I just carefully stretched and shaped it, continued with the topping and it came out wonderfully. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara January 21, 2006

I loved this recipe! it turned out beautiful, its going to be one of my favorite bread recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RECIPE ADDICT November 04, 2005

This is very good. We had it with lasagna and a salad. I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadflax May 25, 2005

Good bread! It reminded me of crust from a deep dish pizza. I dipped mine in pizza sauce and it was delicious. Love the flavor of the topping. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 23, 2005

This turned out so very good! I'm not a fan of oregano so replaced it with thyme and was out of cheddar so used mozzarella and it still turned out delicious. I cut one of the loaves up and took it outside to the neighborhood kids all playing out front and they loved it! Plan to try this again with cheddar as soon as I make a trip to the store. Great recipe, we really enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Oklahoma April 11, 2005

I knew the moment I saw the photo(great photo!) that I'd love this bread, and I did! The whole family enjoyed it.I served it with mushroom barley soup and a green salad. Make sure you pat the dough evenly and prick it. I forgot until it had rose about 20 minutes and it was a little uneven. The onion/butter/spice blend is fabulous tasting. You can count on me making this bread often. Thanks for posting, Sharlene. Roxygirl in Colo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado April 10, 2005
Cheese-Crusted Flat Bread