Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Croquettes from Brazil (Croquettes De Queijo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Croquettes from Brazil (Croquettes De Queijo)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      Very tasty. Had to put them back in the oven for another 5 minutes as they were a bit doughy inside. Next time I will squish them down for more even cooking. Will definitely try again, Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

    • on March 31, 2009

      Very good! So easy! I used marinara sauce to dip them in, which went great with the parm cheese. These would be great to serve at a party :) Made for PAC spring 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Very tasty! Definitely double the batch! I used wheat germ in place of breadcrumbs. I didn't have any trouble with the texture, following the recipe as written. I think this is a recipe where margarine isn't just a drop-in substitution for butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Tasty little morsels these are. Simple to make with great flavor. I made up the dough and rolled them out and after about 2 hours dipped them into the egg and baked..... perfect. Will certainly make these again before to long. Thanks Pneuma. Swap 25 AUS/NZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I read the other reviewers notes before I started, so I made twice the amount chilled the dough rolled in breadcrumbs before baking and ended up with perfect, tasty little cheese balls, that were snapped up almost before they cooled down. Very easy to prepare, and a lovely appetiser that I will be making for guests as well as family, thanks for a great recipe, Pneuma! Made for 12 days of Christmas, Aussie swap, December 08

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      These were very good. I made them for my family of 6 and should have doubled the recipe. Very straightforward recipe without weird ingredients, which is probably why all my picky kids liked them. I will make them again. Made and Reviewed for ANZ Recipe Swap #22 - Group Kangaroo Paw - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      We enjoyed these croquettes very much. I did find that wrapping the dough in plastic wrap and letting it set for 15 minutes, allowed the flour to soak up the water and egg. This made it much easier to shape into balls. I did roll the balls in Panko crumbs after dipping them in the egg white. It gave them a nice crispy texture on the outside. I served these with sweet chili sauce on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      These were so easy to make. I served these with Chili Salsa. I honestly have to say I almost all of them - they sere so good. My DH also liked these. Another keeper recipe for me. Thanks Pneuma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      These were very good! I like how quick they were to make. They had a strong parmesan flavor. We served them alongside spaghetti and dipped them in the leftover sauce. We will make these again. Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I made a half batch and was well truely left wishing I had made a full - the DM especially was looking for more than her allocated 2 (there was only 3 of us and I was serving them with the soup as part of our carb serve with the crusty bread - next time forget the bread and have the croquettes). In doing a half batch I did use the whole egg yolk and then added just a little bit too much water and had to add a little extra flour. Each ball weighed 3/4 oz and took 10 minutes at 175 degree C in a fan forced oven turned and another 5 minutes, turned the oven off left the door ajar and served when required (about 15 minutes later). Thank you Pneuma (requests are already in for a repeat), made for Recipe Swap #19 - August 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I got 10 croquettes. They were a bit dry. I used freshly grated parmesan. They were great with the salsa. Thanks Pneuma. Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      These little croquettes are very good. I prepared them as written and used 1 tbsp of water to hold them together. I also used parmesan that was pregrated. Next time I may try grating the cheese myself before preparing. THey were served with chili salsa as recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Loved the flavor of these little buggers & served most of them with a black bean & corn soup, while the rest were eaten with salsa ~ Couldn't go wrong with either way of serving! Thanks for a wonderful dining experience! [Tagged, made & reviewed for a teammate in our vegetarian group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      These were wonderful with salsa as recommended! Lots of great flavor. When it gets colder, I'm going to make these up with some tomato soup. Thanks for sharing!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I loved these either alone or with a roasted salsa side (what I used). BF said at first that these were "pretty good" then he asked for more but I couldn't give him more since I made only half a recipe. He was visibly disappointed. I used lite butter (about half calories and fat), otherwise no changes (1/2 egg was sort of iffy, I broke the yoke:D) These really were easy! I needed 4 tsps. water to hold the dough, and at a 350 Fahrenheit (180C) oven these snacks turned out great in 30 minutes! Actually, these were a starch side to a meal of substitute meat and a lettuce salad. I had a parmesan/bread crumb mixture instead of the breadcrumbs alone, plus parmesan shreds. I made 6 golf ball size balls, they turned out beautifully;) I agree, these would be good paired with a veggie soup for a hearty meal. Thanks M!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      These elegant cheese balls are quite easy to make. I used seasoned bread crumbs and got 6 balls from the recipe. The taste is similar to Cheez-Its Crackers and are a bit dry, but extremely flavorful. We didn't serve salsa, as we wanted to get the true flavor of the recipe, but next time would most likely go with some butter, or even cream cheese. We can also see where these would be great accompanied with or into a soup for a hearty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Croquettes from Brazil (Croquettes De Queijo)

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.4
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    54%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 88.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 244.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes