Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe. I used 1/4 white & 3/4 whole wheat flour. I omitted the caraway seeds and onion. I split the dough into 3 and braided the strips, let it rise again, brushed it with the egg white wash & topped it with more grated cheese. It turned out really really nice. I uploaded a picture of the finished loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I made the dough in my automatic bread maker, punched it down, put it in a 9" loaf pan and let it rise again. Before baking it, I coated the top with Kittencal's suggestion of an egg white and water wash and sesame seeds. After baking it, the bread looked like it came from a specialty bread shop! The taste was really good. I could live without the caraway seeds but my husband liked the flavor the seeds gave the bread. This is a great bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      it was light and fluffy. very subtle tastes and flavors. it was a huge hit. twisted it this time, but next time i think i will just make it as a loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Excellent, tender and tasty. Will definately make again. Very simple to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Kitten, This bread is really good. After going through all the cheese bread recipes (yeast recipes) I really liked your recipe. However, I wanted to stick with the cheese flavor and omitted the onion flavor as one loaf of this bread is going to a friend. I used your warm oven idea (turn oven on to 200 F then turn off) and the bread rose beautifully. Thank you for this recipe. Again, I have found another one of your recipes to be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Good texture, but I thought it needed to be "cheesier;" I could hardly taste the cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Beautiful and excellent...not surprising at all! I left out the caraway seeds as a preference and used medium cheddar because it was what I had. Absolutely wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Excellent breat but next time I'll leave out the caraway seeds (personal preferency thingy) The dough was easy to work with and it make for one beautiful twist loaf. thanks Kitz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Lovely, light bread. I did it the old-fashioned way and kneaded by hand and let it have 3 risings. Love the flavour and texture. Can't wait to make garlic bread with this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      This was an excellent bread!! I used my Kitchen Aid and this was wonderful. I did like you suggested and did add in the crisco and it did make the bread nice and soft. I will be making this bread often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Add another 5 stars! This was delicious. I also used my Kitchenaid, as I don't do bread by hand anymore. It came out beautiful. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Definitely the cheesiest taste of any cheese bread I have ever tried and deserves all the stars it can get! I used my stand mixer and left out any seeds or onions. I did use exactly 3 cups of flour, so could have used my a.b.m. The rope twist shape was fun for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      What everyone else said. This bread is *awesome*. I made it to go with a late Christmas supper, and four people went through almost half a loaf. Wonderful, wonderful stuff. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      This bread is heaven. I have been searching for a cheese bread that replicated one of distant memory--this is it--every bit as good as the memories of childhood. I made this in my stand mixer, allowing the yeast and liquid to proof a bit with a cup of flour, then added the egg and cheese and stirred with the paddle, gradually adding more flour. Then I switched to the dough hook and gave it a good kneading. It was a lovely dough, it rose beautifully and baked into one beautiful small braid and one beautiful loaf. Not only is it great to eat as is but it makes the BEST toast ever! I did skip the seeds and onion as I really wanted the pure cheese flavor. Thank you, Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      I have a stand mixer and I just love to make bread. This bread is just wonderful. It is great served warm with butter. Way to go Carol!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Yahoo! The smell will make you want to dance and the taste, well this Kitten was absolutely wonderful and everyone enjoyed it! I tried different toppings on it too...I really liked a lite veggie cream cheese spread on it. The bread is so light, it makes a great snack or even just tasty in the morning. I need more *'s too, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Where's the button for 10**********?? I want to rate this a 10!!! WOW,Kitten, this is super light and so yummy! I was so tempted to slice right out of the oven as suggested, but photos first. LOL Thanks for posting this wonderful Cheese Bread. BTW, I did everything in the ABM on dough cycle; then shaped, rose, and baked. Light and lovely texture.MMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      As suggested, I served this bread warm from the oven - delicious! I especially liked it because it didn't taste "yeasty". Another winner Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (829 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2059.4
     
    Calories from Fat 430
    20%
    Total Fat 47.7 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 304.6 mg
    101%
    Sodium 3702.2 mg
    154%
    Total Carbohydrate 323.5 g
    107%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 79.5 g
    159%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites