18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Loved this beer bread - very moist, and perfect with a steaming bowl of chicken stew on a snowy, icy Sunday. Used dried sage and muenster cheese along with a dark, smoky beer, and the flavor combination was excellent. A word of advice, though; I only had coarse kosher salt, and next time would definitely use regular table salt. This bread in my oven only took 50 minutes to cook, and the smell was just lovely. Thanks for a great recipe, RhondaO!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette November 17, 2002

Great recipe! This tastes a lot like the boxed beer bread mixes that cost over $5 each. This is so much less expensive and very good too!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 March 05, 2003

Wow! This so easy and good. I have been trying different recipes for beer bread and this is definitly the best! My search is over. I didn't have the cheese and sage, so I made it plain. It was great and I can't wait to try it the original way. Thank you! Terri

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa rose November 25, 2002

I really enjoyed this bread recipes simplicity and quickness. Smelled and tasted very good, although I did modify a little. I used 1 1/2 cup white with 1 cup whole wheat flour, I too feel the baking powder/soda came through a bit too much. Will back those off a bit next time and maybe use different type of sage next time (used powdered this time). Used Bud light beer and added about a tablespoon of real butter to the mix. Yielded a crunchy crust and very moist center. Thanks RhondaO for a great base beer bread recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teclark03 October 06, 2013

I was looking for a way to use up 1/2 a roll of breakfast sausage I had laying around, so I cooked it up (crumbled) and threw it on in. My boyfriend loves it but says he would use a sharper cheddar next time, and maybe more cheese. Good texture, though and it smells heavenly. I think next time I would also drizzle melted butter on top before baking as I do with the other beer breads I make

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reeces Pieces July 27, 2008

This is a keeper! I used Cheddar and Monterey jack blend. I also mixed a spinach herb seasoning with melted butter and poured on before I baked it.Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW February 07, 2008

I made this recipe with a lager and sharp cheddar. It was pretty good. I cut down on the baking soda to 1 tsp. but it still had a baking soda taste. After making another beer bread recipe, I bet you could leave it out entirely. I would also suggest sifting all dry ingredients before adding beer and cheese. I used italian seasoning instead of sage and it was excellent. The beer flavor was mild and most of my family loved it with a smear of margarine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrisaKay July 17, 2007

Just finished baking this in the oven. The smell was so incredible that I couldn't wait 10 minutes before trying it out and immediately leaving a review. The sage and cheese is what puts this above other beer bread recipes I have tried. I used a mexican blend of shredded cheese, because that was all I had on hand. I think I would prefer an extra sharp cheddar and will definately try it next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earlie862 July 01, 2004

This was OK...i didn't have the sage, but, other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just lacking flavor, maybe it just needed spices

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ January 06, 2009

It was good. I used Henry's Private Reserve and sharp cheddar. (That's what I had in the fridge.) I think I might try differnt combinations of beer and cheese. The crust was a bit hard. Other wise it was good, definately worth trying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ProudMamaT December 26, 2007
Cheese Beer Bread