Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      Delicious! Loved this beer bread - very moist, and perfect with a steaming bowl of chicken stew on a snowy, icy Sunday. Used dried sage and muenster cheese along with a dark, smoky beer, and the flavor combination was excellent. A word of advice, though; I only had coarse kosher salt, and next time would definitely use regular table salt. This bread in my oven only took 50 minutes to cook, and the smell was just lovely. Thanks for a great recipe, RhondaO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Great recipe! This tastes a lot like the boxed beer bread mixes that cost over $5 each. This is so much less expensive and very good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Wow! This so easy and good. I have been trying different recipes for beer bread and this is definitly the best! My search is over. I didn't have the cheese and sage, so I made it plain. It was great and I can't wait to try it the original way. Thank you! Terri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      I really enjoyed this bread recipes simplicity and quickness. Smelled and tasted very good, although I did modify a little. I used 1 1/2 cup white with 1 cup whole wheat flour, I too feel the baking powder/soda came through a bit too much. Will back those off a bit next time and maybe use different type of sage next time (used powdered this time). Used Bud light beer and added about a tablespoon of real butter to the mix. Yielded a crunchy crust and very moist center. Thanks RhondaO for a great base beer bread recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I made this recipe with a lager and sharp cheddar. It was pretty good. I cut down on the baking soda to 1 tsp. but it still had a baking soda taste. After making another beer bread recipe, I bet you could leave it out entirely. I would also suggest sifting all dry ingredients before adding beer and cheese. I used italian seasoning instead of sage and it was excellent. The beer flavor was mild and most of my family loved it with a smear of margarine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was OK...i didn't have the sage, but, other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just lacking flavor, maybe it just needed spices

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I was looking for a way to use up 1/2 a roll of breakfast sausage I had laying around, so I cooked it up (crumbled) and threw it on in. My boyfriend loves it but says he would use a sharper cheddar next time, and maybe more cheese. Good texture, though and it smells heavenly. I think next time I would also drizzle melted butter on top before baking as I do with the other beer breads I make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      This is a keeper! I used Cheddar and Monterey jack blend. I also mixed a spinach herb seasoning with melted butter and poured on before I baked it.Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      It was good. I used Henry's Private Reserve and sharp cheddar. (That's what I had in the fridge.) I think I might try differnt combinations of beer and cheese. The crust was a bit hard. Other wise it was good, definately worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      This was a big hit in my house. I used ale instead of beer. I found it had a strong baking powder taste but everyone else thought it was amazing. I'll be making it again! Maybe I'll try the whole wheat & white flour combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I used 1 cup of wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups of white flour. I didn't put any dried sage in the recipe because I was afraid my children wouldn't eat it. The bread is wonderful! We all loved it. It rose beautifully and had a nice crunchy outside with a moist, yummy inside. Thanks Rhonda O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      So I decided to make this bread to go with some chowder, but I was out of beer...so I used about 16 oz of milk and instead of white sugar I used brown sugar-it turned out great! Next time I will definetly use beer, but I absolutely loved this. It came out kind of rustic, with a nice thick crust and soft on the inside. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Great bread! Very quick & easy to put together. Nice texture and taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Beer bread can't be beat for flavor and ease and the sage and cheese in this recipe add a wonderful flavor. Fast to throw together for dinner and excellent served hot with butter. Thanks, Rhonda, I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Wow, this was tasty and easy to make. I really liked the combination of the cheese and sage together. I used sucanat (organic sweetner) instead of sugar and it worked well other than that I didn't change a thing. Great recipe, thanks Rhonda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Easy to throw together and so tasty. I used the last little bit of cheddar I had (maybe about 1/4 cup) and the rest mozzarella, which worked out well. I think the sage is the really special thing about this recipe, the flavor goes so well with the beer and cheese. I wasn't sure whether to use the powdered sage or just dried, so I used a little of both. I used an organic Wolaver's oatmeal stout, which is very dark and tasty and was wonderful in this bread. Tender and moist on the inside with a crusty exterior. I do wonder if the baking soda/powder could be knocked down a bit, as I think you could taste them a bit and the quantity is so large... I also want to mention that I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of the white, which also worked great. Thanks for a lovely beer bread- I have to agree with Sherri35: this is better than the boxed mixes and much cheaper and versitile! Delicious hot, but I found it a little too tender to slice... so, I recommend letting it sit til the next day and toast and enjoy with some butter! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      I made this night before last. My family did not like it. Maybe I did something wrong.The bread tasted very bitter, with no cheese flavor at all. I used sharp cheddar cheese, and followed the recipe exactly. It is very easy to make. Maybe I will try again with more cheese, and non alcohol beer?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      Just finished baking this in the oven. The smell was so incredible that I couldn't wait 10 minutes before trying it out and immediately leaving a review. The sage and cheese is what puts this above other beer bread recipes I have tried. I used a mexican blend of shredded cheese, because that was all I had on hand. I think I would prefer an extra sharp cheddar and will definately try it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.0
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    19%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1004.1 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites