14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the first cheese ball I ever made. It is so yummy it will be the only recipe I will ever need. I read the reviews before making it. I read from a lot that the ranch was too much so I only added 1/2 the package & 1/2 the worcestershire sauce. It is DELICIOUS!!! One of my kids can't stand cream cheese & he loves this!! This will be great for holiday parties. Thank You!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texanmom November 22, 2010

I had to make a few adjustments to make this cheese ball turn out correctly. At first I followed the recipe to a 'T' (but only added about 1/2 tablespoon of worcestershire sauce, b/c I felt the entire tablespoon would be too much). Even the 1/2 tablespoon turned out to be too much -- that and the ranch was all we could taste. I ended up having to add another 8 ounces of cream cheese to it, and that really helped. You could actually taste the other flavors. I didn't have any pecans so I ended up using almonds instead, which worked very well. All in all -- the cheese ball was very tasty and my family loved it, but be sure to add extra cream cheese and less worcestershire sauce, b/c it ends up being really overwhelming.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kona K April 05, 2009

Very Good! I used 2 packages of cream cheese and we thought it was just right! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punky Julster November 09, 2006

Perhaps there's a typo in the ingredients, I am certain it needs 16oz of cream cheese, not 8. VERY STRONG flavor, and I usually like salty things - but not this. I added more cream cheese, and used only half as much worcestershire sauce. I ended up adding a couple tbs of mayo and a tsp milk so soften it, so my crackers don't break when I dip into it. (Could use sour cream as well). Added a small handful of cooked bacon too. It became edible, but as-is, I unfortunately feel this recipe is not a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! December 19, 2013

Fanatastic cheese ball, always requested and always gone in a heartbeat. Only variation is I roll it in minced real bacon (Hormel or OM).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clmckinney40 July 07, 2011

I made this for a luncheon I catered and the girls loved it!!! One even said it was the best cheeseball she's ever had. I didn't use as much ranch as the recipe called for as I thought that might be too overpowering. I served with Ritz Social Wheat crackers. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun January 25, 2009

Super easy and delicious! I took it to a family gathering and it was a huge hit! Someone else made a cheese ball as well, I watched people try the other one and go back to the one I brought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Destination December 28, 2008

A little too much ranch taste for us, I would cut it down next time, but fast and easy to do. Makes a lot, I made it into two smaller balls and froze one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 16, 2007

Great cheese ball !! Easy and yummy !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee November 14, 2006

This was great...I made it for a New Year's Eve party and everyone LOVED it...I did add ham pieces to it but other than that, followed the recipe!! I will be making this again!! THANKS!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl65 January 13, 2006
Cheese Ball