47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've done this for a long time. I agree with another review, it is 1 can rotel w/ 1lb velveta. I'm glad to see that someone put this here. It's amazing how many people haven't heard of it. A couple hints from experience. 1. The lower the melting temperature, the thinner the cheese dip (if too hot, it will get too thick). I suggest a double boiler. 2. I also add a couple tbls or pace picante sace at the beginning (if later it doesn't work right) to make it spicer. 3. reheating it you may want to add a little milk to keep it from being too thick. If you haven't tried this, you're missing out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahull November 16, 2008

This is the national dip of Arkansas, who I read is No 1 in consumption of velveeta cheese. I add 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tbsp chili powder, and about 1/3 cup milk to assist with the creaminess of this cheese dip....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetSmith154 April 03, 2007

I make this too, but I put 2 cans of Rotel and a pound of browned ground beef. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsCook2007 March 09, 2012

Great recipe. I add 1 lb of browned ground beef. Super yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MereReu January 26, 2010

I make this dip all the time for different parties, events, and even pot lucks. This can be done in a microwave if you cube the cheese as well as on the stove top. This also stores well for reheating later! This is definately a repeat recipe in my household!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli October 22, 2007

Did this recipe for Easter for about 28 people. Doubled the recipe and it was gone before I could even get to it! I added a diced jalapeno as well as a little Cayenne pepper. I'm making it again tonight for a dinner party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rob1803478598 April 11, 2015

We do it in the microwave for 5 minutes and it may be thick but we like it that way

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Austin M. January 08, 2015

Add a package of sausage! Trust me and I'm not even a sausage fan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happycow6989 September 26, 2013

We've been making this for years with variations as we get ambitious. Great simple recipe. I typically put it in the microwave to heat a minute at a time stirring in between.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe December 20, 2010

Like many others here, I have also been making this for decades. I heat the Rotel in a saucepan along with 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds, then add the cubes of Velveeta. Just before ready to serve I throw in cubes of cream cheese and stir constantly until they are ALMOST totally blended. (I miss the original Rotel, the one with whole tomatoes! But I just saw on the Rotel website they have a "Chunky" version that isn't currently available in my area - I'll keep looking for it...)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Isacat May 17, 2010
Cheese and Rotel Dip