49 Reviews

I've done this for a long time. I agree with another review, it is 1 can rotel w/ 1lb velveta. I'm glad to see that someone put this here. It's amazing how many people haven't heard of it. A couple hints from experience. 1. The lower the melting temperature, the thinner the cheese dip (if too hot, it will get too thick). I suggest a double boiler. 2. I also add a couple tbls or pace picante sace at the beginning (if later it doesn't work right) to make it spicer. 3. reheating it you may want to add a little milk to keep it from being too thick. If you haven't tried this, you're missing out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahull November 16, 2008

This is the national dip of Arkansas, who I read is No 1 in consumption of velveeta cheese. I add 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tbsp chili powder, and about 1/3 cup milk to assist with the creaminess of this cheese dip....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetSmith154 April 03, 2007

I make this too, but I put 2 cans of Rotel and a pound of browned ground beef. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsCook2007 March 09, 2012

My son makes a recipe similar to this except that he adds in a can of hormel chile and sometimes uses velveeta mexican cheese in place of regular velveeta. I prefer the regular-either way this dip is very yummy!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 March 28, 2010

Great recipe. I add 1 lb of browned ground beef. Super yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MereReu January 26, 2010

I make this dip all the time for different parties, events, and even pot lucks. This can be done in a microwave if you cube the cheese as well as on the stove top. This also stores well for reheating later! This is definately a repeat recipe in my household!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli October 22, 2007

Yum! Fantastic party dip and I loved your reviewer's idea to add 2 Tbsp. picante sauce to add extra flavor and texture! Thanks for posting this classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 May 30, 2016

The Velveeta makes this absolutely disgusting and inedible. Velveeta was never a great cheese-like product but the current version is truly gross. There are many mild, smooth melting cheeses that would all be an improvement. I tried this once and had to throw it all away it was so bad, not even the great Rotel taste could save it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim G. January 13, 2016

Did this recipe for Easter for about 28 people. Doubled the recipe and it was gone before I could even get to it! I added a diced jalapeno as well as a little Cayenne pepper. I'm making it again tonight for a dinner party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rob1803478598 April 11, 2015

We do it in the microwave for 5 minutes and it may be thick but we like it that way

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Austin M. January 08, 2015
Cheese and Rotel Dip