Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese and Rotel Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese and Rotel Dip

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2008

      I've done this for a long time. I agree with another review, it is 1 can rotel w/ 1lb velveta. I'm glad to see that someone put this here. It's amazing how many people haven't heard of it. A couple hints from experience. 1. The lower the melting temperature, the thinner the cheese dip (if too hot, it will get too thick). I suggest a double boiler. 2. I also add a couple tbls or pace picante sace at the beginning (if later it doesn't work right) to make it spicer. 3. reheating it you may want to add a little milk to keep it from being too thick. If you haven't tried this, you're missing out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This is the national dip of Arkansas, who I read is No 1 in consumption of velveeta cheese. I add 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tbsp chili powder, and about 1/3 cup milk to assist with the creaminess of this cheese dip....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I make this too, but I put 2 cans of Rotel and a pound of browned ground beef. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Great recipe. I add 1 lb of browned ground beef. Super yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I make this dip all the time for different parties, events, and even pot lucks. This can be done in a microwave if you cube the cheese as well as on the stove top. This also stores well for reheating later! This is definately a repeat recipe in my household!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Add a package of sausage! Trust me and I'm not even a sausage fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      We've been making this for years with variations as we get ambitious. Great simple recipe. I typically put it in the microwave to heat a minute at a time stirring in between.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Like many others here, I have also been making this for decades. I heat the Rotel in a saucepan along with 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds, then add the cubes of Velveeta. Just before ready to serve I throw in cubes of cream cheese and stir constantly until they are ALMOST totally blended. (I miss the original Rotel, the one with whole tomatoes! But I just saw on the Rotel website they have a "Chunky" version that isn't currently available in my area - I'll keep looking for it...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      My son makes a recipe similar to this except that he adds in a can of hormel chile and sometimes uses velveeta mexican cheese in place of regular velveeta. I prefer the regular-either way this dip is very yummy!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I have been making this for sometime, except we use a ratio of 1 lb Velveeta to 1 10 oz can Rotel. This is definitely super yummy, easy, and inexpensive. I would recommend using name brands for this particular recipe for the best flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This was nice. It has very few ingredients to tote along andthe girls loved it. I served this at DD's 13th birthday party at the hotel and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing this easy to put together dip that they all loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This is the recipe I use, cut in half, and add about 2/3 can diced jalepenos. I microwave mine two minutes at a time, stiring in between till its nice and hot! awesome nachos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I add in can of Hormel chili with or without beans too. Yummy either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      We have been making this for years!!! Love it!!! Add a little milk to make it thinner and easier to scoup with a spoon when it cools a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is the classic way to make the dip. I even use a little less cheese because I prefer a thinner consistency and spicier flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This stuff is. Soooo. GOOD. It's always a hit, either as-written or with some browned ground beef added to bulk it up. I usually zap it all together in the microwave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I love this dip! My mom has made it for a long time (sometimes she adds hamburger) and I just made it the other day for a luncheon that I catered and it was a big hit there as well! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Was introduced to this delicious dip when I was a teenager. I love it, crave it, and actually get cranky if I go too long without it (ask my husband). At my house, this is a must-have item for football Sundays and work potlucks. Glad to see it posted here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Old favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I'm giving this five stars just for the fact that it is so easy and quick to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese and Rotel Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (1180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2757.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1776
    64%
    Total Fat 197.3 g
    303%
    Saturated Fat 129.0 g
    645%
    Cholesterol 716.8 mg
    238%
    Sodium 14567.9 mg
    606%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 72.5 g
    290%
    Protein 148.0 g
    296%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes