107 Reviews

Wow! These are amazing I made 50 biscuits. I am giving some to friends and family. I will definitely be making these again. I added a cup of chopped ham. It really was a great addition. Marg, another great recipe! Thank you so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 February 26, 2011

Wow! I thought I had a great recipe for buscuits...but mine doesn't compare! Thanks for sharing the recipe to these scrumptious morsels. My kids couldn't get enough of them and my DH was very impressed! Note that I changed out the shortening for butter as I'm not a fan of shortening. As well the bake time seemed a bit off, perhaps its my oven but they seemed to have need a bit more time perhaps closer to 15 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MELISSA777 February 22, 2011

Excellent! Light, fluffy and delish, thanks for sharing. Like another reviewer, I also skipped step 6 and baked at 400 for 10 minutes. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueDogLady February 21, 2011

Incredible recipe! I made these and wrapped them around the little morning brakfast sausages and then baked! They were sooo good. Thank you for sharing. This recipe is a definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamlander2009 January 01, 2011

Perfectly delicious! I omitted the sugar, doubled the garlic powder, and used butter instead of shortening. (I did not do step 6.) Baked at 400 for 10 minutes, they were light and fluffy! Yum! And such a quick recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 20, 2010

I wish I could give these 10 stars! They were so good and I hate to admit it, but I ate three! They were super easy to mix up and bake. When the came out of the oven they were soft and light and very moist! I will never buy the packaged mix again! I did not have any cream of tartar so I did as another reviewer suggested and added an extra teaspoon of baking powder and a half teaspoon of baking soda. I read many reviews before I made them and lots of reviewers stated that they should have made a double batch, so I did! Which I am so glad I did!! Now we have extra to eat tonight!! Yum-yum!! Thanks for such an awesome recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacy S. March 09, 2010

These were absolutely delicious!! I used as a topping for a chicken pot pie. Skipped brushing with butter/garlic powder and they were perfect! Next time I use them for that purpose, I think I will bake them on a sheet and just put them on the casserole. Will be doubling and making again soon! And yes, they are better than "Dead Lobster" brand. The last time we ate there, their biscuits were not very good. Marg, thank you so much for the recipe, I'll be making this one often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose December 21, 2014

I was glad to find this recipe that did not use Bisquick, since I never have it on hand. Very good, next time I will double or triple the recipe to freeze and have on hand :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyluvs2cook June 24, 2014

Very delicious! Made these at the last minute for dinner. I usually make one that calls for Bisquick, of which I had none, so I decided to see if I could find a scratch recipe. Yours was the first one to pop up on the search, so I went with it. The only changes were to increase the salt to 1/2 tsp. and the cheese to 1/2 cup. I also added a pinch of dried parsley, crushed between my fingers, to the butter that gets brushed on at the finish--it just looks pretty! They turned out perfect and delicious. Dough consistency was just right, baking time was accurate for the recipe yeild. The only things I might change next time would be to eliminate or reduce the sugar because while it wasn't bad, I could detect a bit of a sweet taste that seemed odd for a savory biscuit and I would increase the amount of the butter that gets brushed on after baking to 3 Tbsp. because it was hardly enough. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. April 29, 2014

Best biscuit recipe I've ever made!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JollyJumper2000 April 09, 2013
Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits