Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheese and Chive Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese and Chive Scones

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2007

      I'm not a scone person... or I wasn't until now! ;) These were really easy to make (my first time) and turned out delicious. They were even better the next day. Besides making my own self-rising flour (to 1 cup all-purpose flour add 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt), my only change was to add some milk because I wasn't sure what 12 oz of flour was. Oops! But they turned out great anyway... must be a forgiving recipe. Anyway, I made these in a muffin tin and my husband gobbled three of them up right away. Thanks, JoyfulCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Very good! But, I added milk until consistency was wet and similar to drop biscuits and then I skipped the rolling step and just dropped lumps of dough onto a cookie sheet. Baked for approximately 10-12 minutes at 400 degrees. Very easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      These scones are so easy to make and taste wonderful. The cheeses and fresh chives really make these scones extra special in my opinion. Thanks Joy for a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      My husband made these as a "favour-payment" for one of his collegues. He forgot to add additional baking powder as we only had plain flower so his scones didn't rise too much but still they tasted fantastic. He also added a bit of cooked bacon to the mix. We found the recipe to be quite wet so had to add a wee bit more flour to roll out but nothing excessive. Nice recipe - can imagine how much nicer they'd be fluffy instead of like lumps lol! At least he tried! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Made for "I Recoomend Recipe" Tag. I had real issues with these scones mostly because I didn't have a clue how much 12 ounces of flour was - I suspect it's around 3 cups. They were very dense. My family liked them better than I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I made these tonight for a bit of home comfort - it was a wet and miserable night! I have a similar recipe myself - but I have been meaning to try Joy's for a long time - they always look so good! And, they WERE GOOD - I used slightly less milk than stated - I stopped when the mixture was sticky enough! They were tasty and delicious straight from the oven, with butter spread on them! Thanks for a lovely recipe from home Joy! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      These were lovely I could eat them all. Easy to make and very flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Yes these were great scones the family loves them. I didn't have any chives so I used some finely chopped raw red onion, they were just fine like that. I did have to add more than a third of a cup of milk, closer to two-thirds, I just added little by little until I had a workable scone-like dough. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      Wow! I made up a batch of these in a small muffin tray and they were so moist and yummy! The chives were a great addition. I sprinkled with cheese over the top about half way through cooking and grilled a little while to give them a great grilled cheese type appearance. I didn't have self-raising flour so instead used plain flour with 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder, and also couldn't find any fresh chives so instead used 50% dried chives with 50% fresh garlic chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Iam a trifle concerned about the use of Baking Powder.and similar additives to this recipe. I use only buttermilk and SR flour to make Scones. But am constantly looking for the PERFECT solution to the classic Scone Derek Steele Kered@DSL.Pipex.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      These scones are deserving of more than 5* in my opinion. I made them today for our supper and I just asked my DH what would you give those scones out of 5 and he said definitely 5...he'd give them more if he could and so would I. Very easy to put together, excellent instructions. Great texture and flavour. I will make these again. They are now a firm favorite in this house. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese and Chive Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (830 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.5
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    38%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 193.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites