Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cheddar Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      This soup is sooo yummy, and quick and eacy to make. I even made mine a lighter version by using skim milk and using only enough butter to saute the onions and celery instead of the full 2 tbsp. The chicken broth gives the soup a yummy buttery flavour without all the fat. I also emptied the entire batch into my blender at once and didn't have any problems and only needed one pot. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      very easy,very good. I doubled up on quantities - adapts well for gluten free diet < the cheese, bouillion for the broth and the seasonings need to be GF, omitted croutons >as the pot was nice and clean after the potatoes were cooked I took the easy way out by using a potato masher and finishing off with my hand held electric blender right in the same pot.the results were probably not as smooth as the original way but acceptable and this saved on time and washing up!!!! reheats well,great flavour-- a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      This is an excellent, rich and creamy soup! I went all out and used real cream in this. Heavenly! This one is a definite keeper!! Thanks Ginny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Great tasting soup Ginny! Made today for a quick lunch when MIL and cousin coming over. Just felt like eating in rather than going out. Soup fit the bill since it's quite cold outside and I found myself without meat in the freezer (except some bacon). I didn't have celery, but subbed some carrots and used skim milk. Used the immersion blender to blend some of it and left some chunky. Garnished with some cheese and crumbled bacon. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Great soup! I made half a recipe, I had one bowl and DH had the rest. Served with Black Forest Pumpernickel Bread Machine Loaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Potato soup is one of my favorite foods from my childhood. I have tried to make it many times and each recipe was a disappointment. Until I found this one. This is the best potato soup recipies I have found. My husband also loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I thought this was easy to put together and tasted good. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of creole seasoning and blended all but about 1/4 cup of the soup so there was some chunk to it. Really warming on a rainy night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Delicious soup according to my family! Broke my blender, but if there's a meal that's worth breaking a blender over, it's this one. LOL! It wasn't long for this world anyways. I didn't use celery, because my son hates it and eyeballed the onions, but put a little more in than called for, I'm sure. I also used skim milk, because that's all I had and it worked out wonderfully. Next time, I may even sneak and use part skim cheese to make it lighter on their waists. I did save out about 1/4 of the soup and added that to the final pot so that there were some chunks. The family loved the consistency of the mostly blended soup with the chunks, so it was great! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      My new default soup recipe. Subbed in carrots for celery since that's what I had, still tasted wonderful. Used skim milk and three small potatoes (washed but unpeeled, I'm a lazy cook!), consistency was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is a great soup, with a wonderful velvety consistency. The only reason I'm giving it four stars and not five is because it needs something - maybe a dash of Tabasco, a bit of Creole seasoning, or possibly some bacon bits on top. I'll definitely use this recipe again and just add a little something. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Very good soup. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      So it is the middle of summer, and I was craving some potato soup... and I am so glad I chose this recipe!! YUM! If you have one of those hand blenders, just stick that in the pot and blend it all up. I also added some crumbled bacon at the end, because everything tastes better with bacon! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Very good and easy. I left some potato chunks and added salt. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      4 stars because it tastes better the next day. A big plus is that we had all the ingredients on hand. I can see replacing one cup of potatos with a cup of broccoli for more vitamins. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      This recipe was a very good basic recipe. I added a couple cloves of garlic to the onions and celery when I sauteed them. I also left out a lot of the milk. I really like a thicker, almost chowder like texture. I doubled the recipe, and probably cut the milk down to a quarter of what the recipe calls for. I also added a dash of cayenne to the final product. Next time I think I will try leaving some of the potatoes out of the puree to give you something to chew on. The flavor was excellent though, this will definitely go into my list of keepers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Very easy to make using things you already have. I didn't blend the potatoes but instead used a potato masher. It was still wonderful and filling. Good for a cold night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      This was really good and it was the closest to the one my mother made as a child. Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      This soup is very good! I also threw the entire batch into my blender and had no problem with that. I also used less butter and more cayenne. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      I made this for a party and they were scraping the crock pot to get the last taste. I tweaked the recipe and added extra sharp white cheddar until I got the really tangy cheddar cheese taste. The other change I made was adding just enough cayenne pepper to leave your mouth feeling a little "warm". These additions made the soup bite back when you eat it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Very good, creamy and comforting soup. I like texture in my soup, so I used potato masher to make it smooth, but leave a little bit of chunks of potatoes. I garnished it with crumbled turkey bacon. I will be making it all winter long! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (360 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 509.8
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    53%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 18.7 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 91.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1039.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 25.1 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites